Its Dunbar's 7th year on the panel, its actually Casey's 4th although his chances have been limited, we're not suggesting playing a bunch of u22 or u23 players or anything of the sort.
bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 10/03/2022 13:59:56 2404779 Link 0 |
Also the team I selected had 10 players who have started championship games for Wexford and add in Flood who on current form is a shoe in to start this year, other 4 players are Devitt, Hearne, Casey and Higgins.
bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 10/03/2022 14:04:24 2404780 Link 0 |
In the interview after the Offaly game he said he was looking to having the following weekend free of games as it gave them a chance to do some daylight hurling training and have a AvB. The problem is if we got to the final it does not give much of a gap to get things right before the championship. I cannot see him not using different players in the Cork game or even in the Semi. Unfortunately for him once that semi is coming up the will start to feel the level of expectation rise in the county, if they lose and he doesn't play his top 15 a lot of people won't be happy. Don't know the answer really - perhaps get rid of the semis and just go top two final.
zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 2025 - 10/03/2022 15:16:08 2404795 Link 0 |
I think Dunbar is a great hurler who has really bulked up this year. He was 1 of our best 3 or 4 players in our last championship match. I'd say he might well be a starter if we meet Cork later in the year in a Championship game. If we dont give Higgins and Casey a start in this game we wont have any other game with nothing riding on it to give them a start. It is really the last game this year I'd like to see any experimenting in. Yes the round Robin games against Westmeath and Laois might allow for rotating in some of the other starters from the panel but I think it would be foolish to experiment in them.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16539 - 10/03/2022 15:24:16 2404797 Link 0 |
Up or down he wont be able to play his top 15 every game for 5 or 6 weekends out of 7. And if any supporters think he should they will see just how poorly some of those top 15 lads are performing after 3 or 4 consecutive weekends.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16539 - 10/03/2022 15:27:08 2404798 Link 0 |
You got it spot on. Darragh Egan doesn't need to worry himself about blockandhook being so concerned about people paying 15 euro in to see a team with 9-10 1st team players. Cork are most likely going to do the same by all accounts according to JJ Doyle. I would rather be paying 25 euro in to a Leinster final than worrying about this weekend. StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1897 - 10/03/2022 18:32:10 2404837 Link 0 |
Lads, where do you get your information re Chin's knee? My cousin is a physio and told me that unless Chin is having the bottom half of his leg amputated, there is no injury which takes a year or two to recover from any more. Back in the 80's/90's maybe but it is unlikely in the extreme to be that bad, especially if he even training at present. StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1897 - 10/03/2022 18:39:02 2404839 Link 0 |
Until he returns to action rumours will continue to circulate about the extent of the injury. Hopefully Sunday week they'll be put to bed once and for all
HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 11/03/2022 11:06:23 2404883 Link 0 |
Wouldn't be the 1st time this happened, I remember a regular starter missed the 4 club games in April 2019 with injury and I was told he was defiantly out of championship games v Dublin and Galway in the May following, he played the full 70 mins in both. I was told in 2020 a regular starter was dropped for off the field reasons, I can't remember the last time this player hasn't started a championship game.
bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 11/03/2022 12:14:56 2404904 Link 0 |
Hopefully he will be grand. Loads of top sportsmen have managed bad knees and still performed to an elite high level. They have to mind training loads etc but can still be in top form for matches. Another Wexford resident Paul McGrath springs to mind.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16539 - 11/03/2022 12:42:53 2404915 Link 0 |
There has been a lot mentioned about Waterford and limerick,how strong the squads are..I think there is a huge opportunity for Wexford this year..it looks like there are 4 or 5 new fellas getting a chance and ready to step up..would ye be worried about chin having no game time at all yet??ways think when he goes well so do Wexford.. CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2571 - 11/03/2022 13:45:50 2404928 Link 0 |
Hes an important player for sure. Hes been training the last while so hopefully it's just a case they are minding him. At the end of the day I'd sooner see him miss the Cork game if it meant he was up to full speed for the semi final. The most important game for him to be firing on all cylinders is the Galway game though.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16539 - 11/03/2022 14:03:48 2404930 Link 0 |
Chin usually needs a few games to get his hurling up to speed but hopefully it'll happen quicker for him this year. Other than that we have a panel of 23 or 24 lad that i would consider good enough for inter county hurling which is not somewhere we've been to often recently. A full forward line of Chin, Conor Mac and Rory O'Connor would be an interesting tactic for a game or two I think
LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 14/03/2022 10:12:47 2405320 Link 0 |
Couple of other counties have a similar scenario with an important player too, Jamie Barron hasn't played a minute for Waterford yet this year while rumours are TJ Reid has/will be getting a groin operation, don't know how long it will keep him sidelined, he was playing through it during the club campaign.
bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 14/03/2022 11:37:51 2405351 Link 0 |
It worked well in the 2nd half against Clare last year.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16539 - 14/03/2022 20:49:11 2405467 Link 0 |
Team I'm hoping for vs Cork Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 15/03/2022 17:04:00 2405595 Link 0 |
With the possible additions of S Reck, Liam og, Dunbar, Dwyer and Bailey that's not far off our likely starting championship team against Galway. I think Bailey has to start against Cork. He needs the minutes on the pitch.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16539 - 16/03/2022 11:12:59 2405673 Link 0 |
that's 12-13 of a championship team which I think with our schedule ahead wouldn't make much sense, also not sure how much of the the u20s will be involved in the remainder of the league given they play a knockout game on April 9.
bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 16/03/2022 12:04:49 2405689 Link 0 |
Heard from a good source that Bailey is out injured for the year. Think it might be a cruciate ligament again. If it is, that'd be his third time with that injury. He's awfully unfortunate, to say the least.
Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2970 - 16/03/2022 12:47:38 2405701 Link 0 |
Hoping for a good performance tomorrow win lose or draw. The team and the bench both look good Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 19/03/2022 12:18:24 2405808 Link 0 |