2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

Replying To Viking66:  "Not running Liam down because only for him wedve gone the way of Offaly but Clare were awful the year after they won the AI and so too were Waterford that year. And most Cork people reckon the team played its worst season of hurling ever in 2015. Clare were good in 2018 were unlucky not to go furthur. 2020 was just a disaster with most of our hurling squad playing championship club football coming into the county hurling championship and in 2021 I still think we left the Kilkenny and Clare games behind us. We still hadnt got over the Kilkenny game and didnt start playing until we were miles behind against Clare. The other 2 years the only games we lost we lost to the 2 AI finalists in 2017 and to the AI winners in 2019."
I do agree about Clare in 2014 but it was really our first big breakthrough which was so important for us.

Clare in 2013 were unbelievably lucky to get past us then only went and won it.

We were ahead when mossy waters went down and play was let go. That was the winning of it in the end and I'm still not over it haha

Then again, it's that Clare team that gives me hope.

I'd the cab win an all Ireland there's absolutely no reason we can't with a rub of the green.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3822 - 22/02/2022 17:37:45    2401963

That's brilliant it's on TG4 deferred coverage. Then the remaining two games are at home vs Cork and Offaly

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 22/02/2022 20:07:21    2401985

Team I'd go for vs Galway

Fanning
Donohue Ryan Hanlon
D Reck P Foley Flood
K Foley D O Keefe
O Foley J O Connor L Og
R O Connor MAC Dwyer

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 22/02/2022 20:14:05    2401987

I'd hope that the following all get a full game either this weekend or against Offaly:

Shane Reck
Kevin Foley
Conor Hearne
Rory Higgins
David Dunne
Oisin Pepper
Corey Dunbar

Also would like an update on

Richie Lawlor
Chin
Ross Banville

LarryOBrother (Wexford) - Posts: 412 - 23/02/2022 11:37:36    2402034

Replying To Yellow:  "That's brilliant it's on TG4 deferred coverage. Then the remaining two games are at home vs Cork and Offaly"
It's live on the TG4 player also which is great

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 23/02/2022 11:47:06    2402039

Replying To Yellow:  "Team I'd go for vs Galway

Fanning
Donohue Ryan Hanlon
D Reck P Foley Flood
K Foley D O Keefe
O Foley J O Connor L Og
R O Connor MAC Dwyer"
I'd agree with this team. With likes of Dunbar McGuckian and Morris to come on and hopefully make an impact . Heard on the hurling podcast Egan saying he is hoping to have Chin back for some game time in March . I expect after the Galway game will be a really tough block of training . There are 3 weeks between Galway and Cork games . You'd expect we should beat Offaly with relative ease even if we experiment .

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 23/02/2022 11:50:57    2402040

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "I'd hope that the following all get a full game either this weekend or against Offaly:

Shane Reck
Kevin Foley
Conor Hearne
Rory Higgins
David Dunne
Oisin Pepper
Corey Dunbar

Richie Lawlor
Chin
Ross Banville"
Ross Banville played for DCU against IT Carlow week before last. Played fairly well too. Richie Lawlor also did ok for them. Not sure if Chin will be back Sunday but apparently hes not far off a return now. Agree it would be great to see the other 6 lads get a start or at least a good run out. Not sure what good it is to a lad coming on for the last 5 or 10 minutes.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16529 - 23/02/2022 13:39:16    2402067

Replying To Afinestick:  "I'd agree with this team. With likes of Dunbar McGuckian and Morris to come on and hopefully make an impact . Heard on the hurling podcast Egan saying he is hoping to have Chin back for some game time in March . I expect after the Galway game will be a really tough block of training . There are 3 weeks between Galway and Cork games . You'd expect we should beat Offaly with relative ease even if we experiment ."
Offaly will have most of their best players back by then. So far this league they have been missing a good few lads apparently. Best not to take them for granted all the same.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16529 - 23/02/2022 13:41:21    2402068

I'd start Mcguckian give Liam og a break. Think more time for Mcguckian and foley will be good. Taught he came into the game in the second half quite well against Clare

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 370 - 23/02/2022 14:01:55    2402077

The hurling podcast had darragh Egan said foley and reck should be available along with Bailey. He said chin won't be for this weekend but wants game time in match and is training. Shaun Murphy going for surgery on thursday

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 370 - 23/02/2022 15:27:43    2402091

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "The hurling podcast had darragh Egan said foley and reck should be available along with Bailey. He said chin won't be for this weekend but wants game time in match and is training. Shaun Murphy going for surgery on thursday"
It was a very good interview, comes across as an interesting and very decent fella.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 23/02/2022 15:43:14    2402095

Replying To LarryOBrother:  "I'd hope that the following all get a full game either this weekend or against Offaly:

Shane Reck
Kevin Foley
Conor Hearne
Rory Higgins
David Dunne
Oisin Pepper
Corey Dunbar

Richie Lawlor
Chin
Ross Banville"
Some of the subs haven't got much game time and with two wins in the bag he can now build for the championship with giving more time to the lads above. Neither do we want to show a full hand against Galway when they are our first game up in the championship. I don't think they will either.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 2025 - 23/02/2022 16:18:07    2402105

Fanning
Donoghue
Ryan
D.Reck
Matthew
Paudie
Conal
Kevin Foley
Dee
Liam Óg
Jack O'Connor
Charlie McGuckin
Mick Dwyer
Mac
Rory O'Connor

Up (Wexford) - Posts: 21 - 26/02/2022 10:26:30    2402435

Wexford are flying so far. Great to see it! Great supporters and I love mixing the odd time we do play. You have a good lad in Darragh Egan. He did a training session for our intermediate Camogie team 3 years ago. He was light years ahead of what we were used to. We won the intermediate that year and are senior since. He was an utmost gentleman and wouldn't except any gift for the session.

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 26/02/2022 10:46:11    2402440

Replying To Up:  "Fanning
Donoghue
Ryan
D.Reck
Matthew
Paudie
Conal
Kevin Foley
Dee
Liam Óg
Jack O'Connor
Charlie McGuckin
Mick Dwyer
Mac
Rory O'Connor"
Strong team named but would've liked to see shane reck (needs games) at corner back instead of donohoe and Oisin foley at wing forward instead of Liam og. Half forward line remains the most problematic line for me due to the lack of ball winners there. Chin will obviously make a huge difference when he comes back.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 26/02/2022 11:14:03    2402447

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Strong team named but would've liked to see shane reck (needs games) at corner back instead of donohoe and Oisin foley at wing forward instead of Liam og. Half forward line remains the most problematic line for me due to the lack of ball winners there. Chin will obviously make a huge difference when he comes back."
Yeah I'd agree, Galway look strong on paper too considering Canning and Harte just retired and Concannon is injured, possibly Niland too.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 26/02/2022 13:05:42    2402469

Replying To Seeking_silver:  "Wexford are flying so far. Great to see it! Great supporters and I love mixing the odd time we do play. You have a good lad in Darragh Egan. He did a training session for our intermediate Camogie team 3 years ago. He was light years ahead of what we were used to. We won the intermediate that year and are senior since. He was an utmost gentleman and wouldn't except any gift for the session."
That's a great story fair play to him.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16529 - 26/02/2022 14:26:58    2402479

Amazing start to Egan's tenure. I genuinely thought we mightn't win any of our first three games, but to have a 100% record is outstanding. Going to Salthill with Ryan and Mac unable to start, and in the continued absence of Chin, and to win comfortably is the most encouraging result yet. I know they were missing Whelan, Concannon and Niland, but they are our bogey team and Salthill is one of the toughest venues to play in.

I am starting to think Rory is the best Wexford hurler of my lifetime. What a player, it's vital he keeps fit. Two Recks are must-starts for me going forward, and we suddenly look solid back there even without a designated, die-in-the-wool sweeper system. Pepper has had some start to his intercounty career and we must commend the job that has been done at underage level with more talented young lads coming through now than we have had in a generation. Having Cleary on the management ticket is a good move as he has an encyclopedic knowledge of what's coming through, their strengths and weaknesses etc.

McGuickan is our Bonner Maher- he mightn't score much but he does the simple things well. If his job is to win ball and enable our sharp-shooters, that's all we can ask for. Dwyer had come on leap and bounds too.

I felt Galway dominated the middle third in the second half, and we conceded far too many frees that may be punished later in the year. I think Paudie hasn't reached the levels he is capable of yet from a defensive point of view, but Matt has made himself undroppable after question marks were raised about him pre-season. Always great to get one over a Kilkenny man as well.

Exciting times ahead hopefully. I don't want to get ahead of myself but.....we are going to win the whole thing aren't we!

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1500 - 27/02/2022 15:42:48    2402710

Great to get a win with so many fringe players starting or finishing the game. The young lads showed plenty of pace and tenacity closing down and didn't allow the Galway lads too much time on the ball. Pepper looked electric when he came on took his goal and point well. Great prospect and hes only 18. ROC, MOH, the 2 Recks and Conall Flood were all excellent and DOK seems to be playing himself back into form. Noone had a bad game and it was great to see Conor Hearne looking alot sharper than the last day when he came on. Regular championship starters Chin, Ryan, Mac, Morris, Bailey and Murphy didnt feature at all although I think Murphy will miss the season. Tbh after the first 3 games theres no reason we cant win the League.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16529 - 27/02/2022 15:53:20    2402718

Replying To Viking66:  "Great to get a win with so many fringe players starting or finishing the game. The young lads showed plenty of pace and tenacity closing down and didn't allow the Galway lads too much time on the ball. Pepper looked electric when he came on took his goal and point well. Great prospect and hes only 18. ROC, MOH, the 2 Recks and Conall Flood were all excellent and DOK seems to be playing himself back into form. Noone had a bad game and it was great to see Conor Hearne looking alot sharper than the last day when he came on. Regular championship starters Chin, Ryan, Mac, Morris, Bailey and Murphy didnt feature at all although I think Murphy will miss the season. Tbh after the first 3 games theres no reason we cant win the League."
The biggest positive ( win aside) I get so far is that Egan has created the largest panel we've had for years and competition for places as a result. Look at Matt ohanlon. He's like a new player this year. Would've dreaded going to salthill without chin, ryan and Mac so fair dues to players and management. Rory O'Connor's point scoring from play is a joy to see

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 27/02/2022 16:27:32    2402739