2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

Replying To Viking66:  "Is he better at half back than 4 of Murphy, Bailey, Flood, MOH and Damien Reck?"
No, so he shouldn't be a starter.

I am beginning to think Jack Cullen is our equivalent of when Andy Reid or Wes Hoolahan weren't starting for Ireland- they got better and better the longer they were out of the team

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1530 - 30/01/2022 17:24:33    2397234

Conor Devitt was the biggest positive of the Walsh Cup for me, 1 of the best performers again last night, if he can keep that up during the league he's a good chance of being a championship starter.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 30/01/2022 17:40:22    2397245

What's going to be a success for Wexford this year? I think Wexford will be ok come championship but you would want to see a team coming together half way through the league.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 30/01/2022 19:47:23    2397286

Replying To bloodyban:  "What's going to be a success for Wexford this year? I think Wexford will be ok come championship but you would want to see a team coming together half way through the league."
Our sights won't be set as high as yours with Limerick but in the league finish mid table and get a few 2/3 new faces to establish themselves in the team in time for the championship. There's no reason why we shouldn't be looking at winning Leinster. Don't think we're good enough to go beyond an all Ireland semi.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 30/01/2022 20:03:19    2397293

Replying To wexico15:  "Conor Devitt was the biggest positive of the Walsh Cup for me, 1 of the best performers again last night, if he can keep that up during the league he's a good chance of being a championship starter."
Yes. He did well in the corner and snuffed out Dublin's main line of attack down that wing for most of the first half. Full back did well too until Hayes came on.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4193 - 30/01/2022 20:25:15    2397303

Replying To bloodyban:  "What's going to be a success for Wexford this year? I think Wexford will be ok come championship but you would want to see a team coming together half way through the league."
I think we're in a bit of transition if we're honest. We haven't seen this many players integrated into a team probably since Liam Dunne started. There are a few excellent hurlers their and I wouldn't put it past our U20s winning Leinster this year but we have an awful lot of lads at senior level in there 30s now. Hanlon, Dee, Morris, Fanning, Liam Og, Murphy. You'd imagine a few will go after this year and that's a massive loss. Davy brought us success (arguably with that panel should have won more) but was very slow to integrate new players which in the long run might cost us. I don't see us doing much this year. If we get out of Leinster that's a success in my book. Dublin were highly impressive but they looked close to championship intensity in January which surely they can't keep up till championship but in fairness they've had some good underage teams in the last few years and that has to come through eventually, so maybe they have surpassed us but who knows it's too early to tell. Need to get a style of play because hoof it up to Mc didn't work under Liam Dunne almost a decade ago and hurling now is a different game now then back then.

Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 30/01/2022 20:33:33    2397307

Its Egans 1st year so if it took til the last league game for the team to take shape that would be ok. Realistic goals would be staying up in the league while sorting out the teams shape and tactics and style of play, and then a good go at the Leinster title.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19243 - 31/01/2022 07:59:22    2397349

Very disappointing showing Saturday lads. We threw in the towel which we haven't done for a long time .Devitt and Pepper were only positives for me. We need everyone back Sunday for a big response or we could be in trouble. How are injuries to Oisin and Kevin Foley? Also how far away are Chin and Rory O Connor we need them back asap

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 31/01/2022 09:39:00    2397367

Conceding 4, 53 in two games is terrible, we need to play like davy had us playing we might have a chance then

Lockerroomboy (Wexford) - Posts: 537 - 31/01/2022 09:59:37    2397377

Replying To Afinestick:  "Very disappointing showing Saturday lads. We threw in the towel which we haven't done for a long time .Devitt and Pepper were only positives for me. We need everyone back Sunday for a big response or we could be in trouble. How are injuries to Oisin and Kevin Foley? Also how far away are Chin and Rory O Connor we need them back asap"
I must say I agree. The most worrying thing for me was the poor body language and as you say throwing the towel in. Strange to see considering it's very early in the set up

Northcountyball (Wexford) - Posts: 17 - 31/01/2022 10:34:21    2397385

Replying To Afinestick:  "Very disappointing showing Saturday lads. We threw in the towel which we haven't done for a long time .Devitt and Pepper were only positives for me. We need everyone back Sunday for a big response or we could be in trouble. How are injuries to Oisin and Kevin Foley? Also how far away are Chin and Rory O Connor we need them back asap"
Agree Pepper looked lively and Devitt looked solid. Thought Damien Reck had a good game for his 1st game back and Dunbar, Dwyer and Mcguckin played well also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19243 - 31/01/2022 10:35:52    2397386

Replying To Viking66:  "Agree Pepper looked lively and Devitt looked solid. Thought Damien Reck had a good game for his 1st game back and Dunbar, Dwyer and Mcguckin played well also."
Agree Reck did okay . Dwyer done well too. Thought Dunbar was a bit fumbly on the ball.
What way should we set up against Limerick lads . Huge test . Our backs need more protection or we will leak scores

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 31/01/2022 11:01:21    2397403

Replying To Afinestick:  "Agree Reck did okay . Dwyer done well too. Thought Dunbar was a bit fumbly on the ball.
What way should we set up against Limerick lads . Huge test . Our backs need more protection or we will leak scores"
Two ways to set up. Play a sweeper or be ready for a peppering. We havent the team or hurlers for 15 on 15.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 960 - 31/01/2022 11:05:18    2397404

Replying To countyman2022:  "Two ways to set up. Play a sweeper or be ready for a peppering. We havent the team or hurlers for 15 on 15."
Agree. And Limerick have a really well evolved system of dropping half forwards back to cover the half backs and vice versa when attacking.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19243 - 31/01/2022 11:35:55    2397419

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Yes. He did well in the corner and snuffed out Dublin's main line of attack down that wing for most of the first half. Full back did well too until Hayes came on."
Think Conor Burke is also developing into a fine player for ye, looks very composed in possession, he was outstanding when ye beat Galway in last years championship.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 31/01/2022 12:22:27    2397437

Replying To wexico15:  "Think Conor Burke is also developing into a fine player for ye, looks very composed in possession, he was outstanding when ye beat Galway in last years championship."
He is. You can see a fair few of them coming on strongly in last year or so. I wouldn't be huge fan of short passing game but if it sharpens lads up under pressure then it's valuable.

How that stands up under the boys in green if you chance to meet them is another thing, as all have found to their cost.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 4193 - 31/01/2022 16:00:06    2397532

Replying To Northcountyball:  "I must say I agree. The most worrying thing for me was the poor body language and as you say throwing the towel in. Strange to see considering it's very early in the set up"
Overall it's been an okay start for him. The performances were decent against Laois, Tipp and Kilkenny. It was a risky appointment, taking on someone with no intercounty experience to replace one of the most high profile coaches in the game. It's too early too make judgement but he really needed to avoid defeats like Dublin to win supporters and players over. Hopefully he'll get a response against Limerick. Not expecting a win but at least a performance.

Finchfurlong996 (Wexford) - Posts: 255 - 31/01/2022 17:22:12    2397560

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "He is. You can see a fair few of them coming on strongly in last year or so. I wouldn't be huge fan of short passing game but if it sharpens lads up under pressure then it's valuable.

How that stands up under the boys in green if you chance to meet them is another thing, as all have found to their cost."
The boys in green play a thoroughly modern short passing game Barney. They have the added benefit of very fast skilful hurlers who are also 6 and a half foot tall. I think your lads are building nicely the last couple of years. I'm not sure it's great to be peaking this early tbh but then again the great Kilkenny teams won plenty of Walsh Cups and this intercounty season is going to be a shorter one than was the case pre covid, what with the Round Robin starting straight after the League. I dont think anyone will be underestimating you this year that's for sure.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19243 - 31/01/2022 18:14:57    2397573

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "He is. You can see a fair few of them coming on strongly in last year or so. I wouldn't be huge fan of short passing game but if it sharpens lads up under pressure then it's valuable.

How that stands up under the boys in green if you chance to meet them is another thing, as all have found to their cost."
The boys in green play a thoroughly modern short passing game Barney. They have the added benefit of very fast skilful hurlers who are also 6 and a half foot tall. I think your lads are building nicely the last couple of years. I'm not sure it's great to be peaking this early tbh but then again the great Kilkenny teams won plenty of Walsh Cups and this intercounty season is going to be a shorter one than was the case pre covid, what with the Round Robin starting straight after the League. I dont think anyone will be underestimating you this year that's for sure.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19243 - 31/01/2022 18:15:22    2397574

Replying To Afinestick:  "Agree Reck did okay . Dwyer done well too. Thought Dunbar was a bit fumbly on the ball.
What way should we set up against Limerick lads . Huge test . Our backs need more protection or we will leak scores"
We need pacy wing forwards and midfielders who will have to travel backwards and forwards and cover alot of ground. And maybe 4 subs for them to bring in around 45 minutes when they tire. Start Dunbar, DOK midfield and Dwyer and Flood wing forward, assuming Oisin Foley is injured, and replace them with Mcguckin, Hearne if fit , Liam og, and Jacko with all 8 to run flat out covering their runners and doubling up on their wing forwards with D Reck and Donohue or MOH wing back. Devitt and Shane Reck cornerback. Will be great experience for the younger lads. When Murphy and Bailey come back and if Cullen gets fit we will have good options to replace the wingbacks after 45 minutes also if we happen to meet Limerick later in the year. Start Pepper and David Dunne corner forwards with instructions to cover back as far as the halfway line. Morris and Kehoe unlikely to be fast enough. Leave Mac inside as he isnt fast enough or interested enough to cover backwards and forwards. Shame Chin and RoC are injured so I suppose centre forward this weekend is going to be a problem. Leftfield suggestion maybe MOH. I dont think a fixed sweeper is the way to go against them as they will score 30 odd points from out the field if the weather is any way ok.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 19243 - 31/01/2022 18:34:05    2397580