We need pacy wing forwards and midfielders who will have to travel backwards and forwards and cover alot of ground. And maybe 4 subs for them to bring in around 45 minutes when they tire. Start Dunbar, DOK midfield and Dwyer and Flood wing forward, assuming Oisin Foley is injured, and replace them with Mcguckin, Hearne if fit , Liam og, and Jacko with all 8 to run flat out covering their runners and doubling up on their wing forwards with D Reck and Donohue or MOH wing back. Devitt and Shane Reck cornerback. Will be great experience for the younger lads. When Murphy and Bailey come back and if Cullen gets fit we will have good options to replace the wingbacks after 45 minutes also if we happen to meet Limerick later in the year. Start Pepper and David Dunne corner forwards with instructions to cover back as far as the halfway line. Morris and Kehoe unlikely to be fast enough. Leave Mac inside as he isnt fast enough or interested enough to cover backwards and forwards. Shame Chin and RoC are injured so I suppose centre forward this weekend is going to be a problem. Leftfield suggestion maybe MOH. I dont think a fixed sweeper is the way to go against them as they will score 30 odd points from out the field if the weather is any way ok.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16483 - 31/01/2022 18:34:59 2397581 Link 0 |
The result is not what ye wanted or needed but better now than later. Keeping your beatings under double digits is always the thing I harp on. Maybe that is unrealistic now when a team gets a run on you with so many scores in games. I should probable alter that to under 12 points. Again against Limerick ye are going to continue in test mode and hopefully do yereself's justice.
Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 3119 - 31/01/2022 19:47:34 2397597 Link 0 |
Well I don't know enough about Egan to comment on him really. He deserves half the league before criticism I think. I think a Leinster title is well within the capacity if this Wexford squad but no further id say this year. bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 31/01/2022 20:09:05 2397601 Link 0 |
Agree 100% about having personnel of a same level in each position to swap out when those who started empty the tank but not weaken the team. 5,7, 10 and 12 should be all similar more or less and able to cover either line when required. beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1498 - 31/01/2022 21:58:53 2397613 Link 0 |
Think you are right. A little bit of the Tipp " we are the best" mentality would do wonders 4 us: )
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16483 - 31/01/2022 22:01:47 2397615 Link 0 |
liam sheedy must have fforgot to tell them that they were the best at halftime in last years munster final. from 10 up to 7 down .....a 17 point turn around in 25 minutes. if limerick go to wexford park with a strong team and all guns blazing next sunday and give wexford a bit of a trimming egan will start to come under a lot of pressure to find a few results as a trip to ennis is next which isnt an easy place to win.
munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1143 - 01/02/2022 07:17:45 2397617 Link 0 |
The poor workrate against Dublin disappointed me as much as the final score last Saturday. It's a given that Limerick will bring that in spades at the weekend regardless of what team they put out. Kiely won't accept anything less and the competition for places there drives performance much like the great Kilkenny team. I am expecting a big performance from us but a Limerick win. Chin and Rory O'Connor will be massive losses. Think Oisin pepper is one for the future. He's still only 18 and coming up against the likes of sean Finn at the moment is a big ask. I'm not sure if the u20 lads will get too much game time in the league. Think the focus for them will be u20 Leinster championship where on paper we should have a good team HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 01/02/2022 09:05:11 2397625 Link 0 |
What team should we go with presuming Chin and RO'C are out . Also Oisin and Kevin Foley doubts . Think we'll have to play maybe not a sweeper but someone like Dee dropping back around half back line from Midfield . Let Dunbar do most of the running in midfield . Agree with previous poster we need pace in forwards unfortunately Morris has lost a yard of pace.
Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 01/02/2022 09:54:55 2397632 Link 0 |
I've a feeling this game might be a lot closer than people expect..there is no noise coming from the limerick camp which is great..I think maybe a lot of panelist will get a chance in games..I really don't know what team will start on Sunday..I'm expecting Wexford to come with all guns blazing and for this to be a very interesting start for both teams..I'd say limerick will have 5 or 6 points to spare.. CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2565 - 01/02/2022 10:16:13 2397636 Link 0 |
Maybe: Fanning S.Reck/Donohoe Ryan Devitt Flood P.Foley D.Reck Dee (dropping back as you said) Dunbar Hearne (dropping back into midfield when Dee covers deeper) McGovern McGuckin Dwyer McDonald Pepper (deserves a start despite his age) That's just off the top of my head, factoring in Chin and ROC out and the two Foley's being doubts. We really do look lacking in aerial ability in the half-forward line with the two main men missing. I don't know the status of McGovern, but have him starting there ahead of Jacko, who may well start actually. They may go for the experience of Morris over Pepper, and I suppose Cian Byrne could be in with a shout too. But I don't see too many of the really young lads all starting at the same time. beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1498 - 01/02/2022 10:48:01 2397645 Link 0 |
Think that's the point your fellow Limerick poster was meaning though. Despite that deep down the Tipp people will think they will win the next one. Even though they wont!!! Hard to know what we will see in the Park on Sunday. Egan hasnt shown any sort of hand tactically in the Walsh Cup. He gave as many lads as possible a decent run out with as many minutes as possible as he now has to trim a 50 odd man panel down to 32 for the League. I didn't think a trimming off Limerick will put him under any pressure, even if its followed up by a defeat in Ennis. Once there are signs he has a plan and a team structure is starting to appear I'd be happy enough. By the last couple of League games with the Round Robin starting straight away afterwards I'd like to see the team taking shape and getting a couple of positive results, even if they are just eked out by a point. I dont ever belittle the League but at the end of the day the Championship is what's important down here. Historically that's always been the case. We havent won a League since 1973.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16483 - 01/02/2022 11:42:56 2397658 Link 0 |
I think Mcguckin looked good Cian Byrne too. Higgins was lively also. If a lad is good enough he is old enough Beano.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16483 - 01/02/2022 11:45:56 2397661 Link 0 |
I'd be thinking along those lines as well. The injuries have really decimated the forwards options and I don't know where we're going to get the scores from to make it competitive. I'd put jacko centre forward purely out of necessity for some physicality there
HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 01/02/2022 11:47:07 2397662 Link 0 |
Good because tommy Dunne would not work well for wexford the man . I really think Adrian Fenlon is the right man to bring in .Fenlon has being through all the ups and downs and knows more about wexford hurling than anybody.Definetely give him a shot.
Wexpurebred (Wexford) - Posts: 205 - 01/02/2022 11:59:37 2397669 Link 0 |
And I assume MOH will feature somewhere, maybe as a man-marker of Hegarty, which someone mooted last week.
beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1498 - 01/02/2022 12:10:11 2397671 Link 0 |
I would not reward any of the regulars who very very poor vs Dublin. Let them earn their way back and I would pick on form alone. I feel Dwyer while lively has not shown enough for me to be a starter yet. I really feel that Morris, Mc Govern, Dee O Keefe and Hanlon must be dropped due to form shown the last day - Im not saying they are not good players but I think part of the problem with Davy is that he didnt pick on form but reputation and this needs to change. Drop them now and there will be plenty of games in the season for them to win their places back Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 589 - 01/02/2022 12:20:03 2397673 Link 0 |
And did well with Rapps
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16483 - 01/02/2022 13:14:04 2397692 Link 0 |
Just seen an announcement that Harry kehoe has retired from inter county scene after 13 years. That's a savage commitment he's given to the county's cause the obvious highlight being the goal he scored v Clare in '14 HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 554 - 01/02/2022 13:20:58 2397695 Link 0 |
They were cutting the squad and they have let Harry do the decent thing instead of the media showing he was dropped. He deserves that respect. A real passionate Wexford hurler. Gave his all for 13 years, professionalism to the highest degree. Enjoy your well earned retirement Harry. Past hurler (None) - Posts: 970 - 01/02/2022 13:35:09 2397703 Link 0 |
Like the look of this team. Starting Cian Byrne And Pepper would be a big call but if you're good enough you are old enough . Also well done to Harry Kehoe 13 years he gave huge service to his county
Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 01/02/2022 13:49:00 2397708 Link 0 |