Is Now The Time For Brian Cody To Step Down?

Replying To bricktop:  "If he does stay he really needs to evolve his tactics, especially forward play as he has been found wanting in games they've had to chase in the second half.

In the AI and with Tipp having a spare man in Barratt, Kilkenny rained high ball upon high ball down in a congested area and made heros out of Barry Heffernan and the Mahers.

Wanna get passed a Maher, you need to run them, everyone knows that.

If anything the Leinster final was worse when the lead was very much within reach by picking off points, but panic seemed to set in which is very uncharacteristic of Kilkenny teams of yore.

Rode their luck getting to the final, but probably a good year for Kilkenny. Some new blood have shown their up to the required standard and more lads blooded with their better years ahead of them."
No shortage of Hurling talent in that county.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 27/08/2019 17:05:36    2229866

Replying To mooncat:  "Cody will be allowed all the time he wants,he will decide wheter he goes or stays,no pressure from County Board"
How it should be.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 28/08/2019 12:36:45    2230092

Replying To StoreysTash:  "How it should be."
Why?
All too often a great coach staying on and on can cause major issues when they finally do step down as it is so hard to get out of shadow of such a good coach.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3495 - 28/08/2019 21:07:56    2230259

Replying To KillingFields:  "Why?
All too often a great coach staying on and on can cause major issues when they finally do step down as it is so hard to get out of shadow of such a good coach."
As a Wexford man Id be delighted if they sacked Cody! No seriously though if I was on the Kilkenny Board Id have reservations about the readiness of Carey, Shefflin or Brennan to take over. Who knows, Mick Fennelly might prove himself to be the man.....

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11730 - 28/08/2019 21:18:40    2230263

Replying To Viking66:  "As a Wexford man Id be delighted if they sacked Cody! No seriously though if I was on the Kilkenny Board Id have reservations about the readiness of Carey, Shefflin or Brennan to take over. Who knows, Mick Fennelly might prove himself to be the man....."
Carey has proved himself with Carlow IT and Kilkenny U20's , Brennans proved himself to a large degree with Laois, Mick Fennelly is going down to Christy Ring, that's a big gulf in class.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 29/08/2019 09:01:23    2230329

Replying To Bon:  "Carey has proved himself with Carlow IT and Kilkenny U20's , Brennans proved himself to a large degree with Laois, Mick Fennelly is going down to Christy Ring, that's a big gulf in class."
Well all them guys played under Cody and spent a lot of time around him so I'd imagine they wouldn't change much if anything of how training and selecting, etc was done.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 29/08/2019 18:19:44    2230503

Replying To Viking66:  "As a Wexford man Id be delighted if they sacked Cody! No seriously though if I was on the Kilkenny Board Id have reservations about the readiness of Carey, Shefflin or Brennan to take over. Who knows, Mick Fennelly might prove himself to be the man....."
Was Cody everyone's ideal man for the job when he was appointed ? I don't think so.
There are no certainty's when you are filling shoes like that and a relatively inexperienced replacement coming in.
Nobody will know for sure until afterwards.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 29/08/2019 18:35:56    2230508

Replying To Bon:  "Carey has proved himself with Carlow IT and Kilkenny U20's , Brennans proved himself to a large degree with Laois, Mick Fennelly is going down to Christy Ring, that's a big gulf in class."
Carey had good hurlers in both jobs. And Laois have by far the most senior clubs of any county in the Joe Mac. Although fair play to Brennan for getting them all playing for the county. If Fennelly does well in Offaly that would be some achievement! I still think Id prefer Cody to stay if I was a Kilkenny man though.....

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11730 - 29/08/2019 19:31:59    2230517

Replying To KillingFields:  "Why?
All too often a great coach staying on and on can cause major issues when they finally do step down as it is so hard to get out of shadow of such a good coach."
I think it should be that Cody should be left to decide himself when he goes,after what he has done its his decision,I think he will know when its time to go,as for major issues when he goes I dont know what they might be,a new manager will do his best,he will get the backing of the county board and the players,it might take a year or two to get to where KK might be serious contenders but then we will always be up there with the best,no county including KK can be contenders every year no matter who the manager is,thats my opinion anyway,now the championship is over I must say I met many great people from all the counties we played this year,of course there were some whom we had a few words with during matches but always at the end we shook hands and wished each other the best of luck,I have already congratulated Tipp,they were the best team in the final,I know when I say hurling is the best game football men will disagree with me but again its my opinion,to all posters here I hop your club does well in their local championship and maybe I might meet some of the people this yeat again next year,on a final note the man next to me at the final with his 9 year old son flew from London on Sun morning and flew back after the game,he wasnt from either KK or Tipp,just loves Gaelic games,his parents are Irish and he is involved with the GAA in London.

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 533 - 29/08/2019 21:31:10    2230531

Very disrespectful. Coady will go when the time is right

kerryforsam19 (Kerry) - Posts: 95 - 30/08/2019 07:00:31    2230571

Replying To kerryforsam19:  "Very disrespectful. Coady will go when the time is right"
It's just a thread with opinions. You're right though Cody will go when it's time.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 30/08/2019 09:50:14    2230605

Replying To Viking66:  "Carey had good hurlers in both jobs. And Laois have by far the most senior clubs of any county in the Joe Mac. Although fair play to Brennan for getting them all playing for the county. If Fennelly does well in Offaly that would be some achievement! I still think Id prefer Cody to stay if I was a Kilkenny man though....."
Offaly is a bit of a poison chalice. Hopefully Fennelly will be able to call on the top Hurlers in Offaly to come on board, that would be half the battle I'd imagine. You'd imagine if players/county board rowed in behind him they should win the Christy Ring and go back up, its all down to mindset.
I think he could do a good job there if everybody buys into it.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 30/08/2019 11:18:54    2230639

Replying To Bon:  "Offaly is a bit of a poison chalice. Hopefully Fennelly will be able to call on the top Hurlers in Offaly to come on board, that would be half the battle I'd imagine. You'd imagine if players/county board rowed in behind him they should win the Christy Ring and go back up, its all down to mindset.
I think he could do a good job there if everybody buys into it."
You'd imagine the only way is UP for Offaly so Fennelly should do ok there. He should at least bring some renewed interest to the county.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 30/08/2019 21:40:33    2230831