Intermediate Football Championship 2017

Replying To Jellybaby:  "
Replying To Gmon:  "[quote=crafty:  "[quote=Howardhunt1:  "It would be nice to see Dunmore doing well again as in the past they were one of the top teams in Galway football. Of course they were more a regional team in the past than a club, drawing in players from Glenamaddy, Williamstown and any other place they could get them from. Mountbellew were similar in the past taking in the best players from the surrounding area. To be fair Dunmore provided some of Galways best ever players so I hope they make it back to the senior ranks.

Crafty - actually down through the years Dunmore was a notoriously Towny club - maybe not now. Pulling lads from glenamaddy or Williamstown would be a big No No and would not sit well with them (I think there is just one exception to that). When Dunmore were winning county titles you were from the town or the parish and you most likely went to Jarlaths. If they did pull lads from the surrounding area , they would be a different club then they are today!!!"
Bosco McDermot from Williamstown and the Geraghtys from Glenamaddy all played with Dunmore. A little Geography lesson for you Gmon Belclare and Corofin are the one parish and played together for years with very little success."
I was insinuating that they should be two clubs with the amount of footballers they have!!

Fair play to them tho they put in more work than the majority of clubs in Galway hence their success."]Who cares... Intermediate championship forum, set up a new forum for a geography lesson lads"]Why would you care eitherway you jackeen!!

Gmon (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 09/06/2017 17:01:37    1997378

In fairness, if Galway draw or, heaven forbid, get beat on Sunday we may as well chat about geography on here, as it could be a while before we see any IC action....

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 528 - 09/06/2017 17:01:50    1997379

Will games get played this weekend in order to get a round of fixtures taken care of ?

TheCuteFox (Galway) - Posts: 15 - 12/06/2017 10:10:55    1998303

Replying To TheCuteFox:  "Will games get played this weekend in order to get a round of fixtures taken care of ?"
no reason not to play championship this weekend. 13 day rule wont be in effect.

mkeary5 (Galway) - Posts: 27 - 12/06/2017 10:35:03    1998321

looks like all senior and intermediate games are off for this weekend.
No longer on Galway website.
I hope I'm wrong. Total farce if they are called off.

Pookie_Monster (Galway) - Posts: 32 - 12/06/2017 10:54:31    1998336

fixtures are normally released on Tuesday. would be madness to call of club championship. although its also madness that some clubs will be out of challenging for championship honors in mid june, but that is a separate issue altogether haha

mkeary5 (Galway) - Posts: 27 - 12/06/2017 12:43:32    1998419

championship fixtures confirmed for weekend.

mkeary5 (Galway) - Posts: 27 - 13/06/2017 10:51:48    1998940

championship Club Predictions

Senior Football Championship 5 15 PM Kenny Park ST JAMES GAA --- --- Caherlistrane TBC
Intermediate Football Championship 5 15 PM Tuam Stadium Glenamaddy --- --- ORANMORE-MAREE Noel Dempsey
Senior Football Championship 5 30 PM Pearse Stadium Cortoon Shamrocks --- --- KILLANNIN Gearoid O Conamha
Intermediate Football Championship 5 30 PM Clonbur ST BRENDANS --- --- Clifden Pádraig Mac Donncha
Senior Football Championship 7 00 PM Clonbur AN CHEATHRUA RUA --- --- Kilconly TBC
Senior Football Championship 7 00 PM Tuam Stadium Mountbellew/Moylough --- --- ANNAGHDOWN Martin Flaherty
Senior Football Championship 7 00 PM Kenny Park TUAM STARS--- --- Salthill-Knocknacarra Tommy Faherty (S)
Senior Football Championship 7 15 PM Pearse Stadium COROFIN --- --- Moycullen Muiris Mac Gearailt

Intermediate Football Championship 12 30 PM Moycullen OUGHTERARD --- --- Athenry Máirtín Ó Gríofa
Intermediate Football Championship 2 00 PM Moycullen Cárna-Caiseal --- --- KILKERRIN-CLONBERNE Austin O Connell
Intermediate Football Championship 3 00 PM Annaghdown Oileáin Árann --- --- DUNMORE-MCHALES Gerald Anthony Lohan
Intermediate Football Championship 3 30 PM Tuam Stadium WILLIAMSTOWN --- --- Ballinasloe GAA Padraic Kelly
Intermediate Football Championship 5 15 PM Corofin AN SPIDEAL --- --- Headford Gerry Daly
Intermediate Football Championship 5 15 PM Tuam Stadium CLAREGALWAY --- --- Menlough Ger Cahill
Senior Football Championship 5 30 PM Pearse Stadium Barna GAA --- --- MICHEAL BREATHNACH TBC
Senior Football Championship 7 00 PM Tuam Stadium Milltown --- --- CALTRA Frank Kinneen
Senior Football Championship 7 00 PM Corofin Killererin --- --- ST MICHAELS Shane Hehir
Senior Football Championship 7 15 PM Pearse Stadium Naomh Anna, Leitir Móir --- --- MONIVEA ABBEY James Molloy

Gmon (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 13/06/2017 13:06:56    1999028

Its great to get a round of fixtures played...and crowds should be up after the weekend. The interest in galways teams is already on the way up this year and lets keep it going

squares_edge (Galway) - Posts: 680 - 13/06/2017 14:46:32    1999122

Replying To squares_edge:  "Its great to get a round of fixtures played...and crowds should be up after the weekend. The interest in galways teams is already on the way up this year and lets keep it going"
Games on Sunday with the hurlers playing in Portlaois. County Board never cease to amaze me.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 625 - 13/06/2017 17:55:52    1999244

Oranmore
Ballygar
Athenry
K/C
Dunmore
Williamstown
Spideal
Menlough

All the above to be victorious.

TheCuteFox (Galway) - Posts: 15 - 14/06/2017 14:47:24    1999609

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "Games on Sunday with the hurlers playing in Portlaois. County Board never cease to amaze me."
yes i hadnt allowed for that the clash should have surely could have been avoided

squares_edge (Galway) - Posts: 680 - 14/06/2017 17:18:45    1999671

Glenamaddy
St Brendans
Athenry
Kilkerrin/Clonberne
Dunmore
Williamstown
An Spideal
Claregalway after extra time

mkeary5 (Galway) - Posts: 27 - 15/06/2017 09:55:55    1999841

Really exciting round of action in the intermediate champ. Here's how the bookmakers see things as we approach the weekend.

Oranmore 4/9 - Glenamaddy 9/4
St.Brendans 2/5 - Clifden 3/1
Oughterard 10/11 - Athenry 11/10
Cárna 7/2 - K/C 1/3
Aran 7/4 - Dunmore 1/2
Williamstown 5/4 - Ballinasloe 5/6
Spideal 9/4 - Headford 1/2
Claregalway 2/5 - Menlough 5/2

There's definitely some money to be made looking at the above. Oranmore represent real value even at 4/9 imo.

NathinButSteel (Galway) - Posts: 115 - 15/06/2017 11:10:46    1999875

Replying To NathinButSteel:  "Really exciting round of action in the intermediate champ. Here's how the bookmakers see things as we approach the weekend.

Cárna 7/2 - K/C 1/3
Aran 7/4 - Dunmore 1/2

There's definitely some money to be made looking at the above. Oranmore represent real value even at 4/9 imo."
Williamstown, Spideal a good double at just over 7/1

Gmon (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 15/06/2017 11:55:11    1999894

Replying To NathinButSteel:  "Really exciting round of action in the intermediate champ. Here's how the bookmakers see things as we approach the weekend.

Cárna 7/2 - K/C 1/3
Aran 7/4 - Dunmore 1/2

There's definitely some money to be made looking at the above. Oranmore represent real value even at 4/9 imo."
You made those odds up yourself I assume?

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1321 - 15/06/2017 12:34:56    1999905

Cárna 7/2 - K/C 1/3
Aran 7/4 - Dunmore 1/2

Were these odds plucked straight from thin air ? Looks that way.

There really are some good games on offer.

I stand by what I said months ago stating that Oranmore will be have say and while they may not win the competition, they very well may take a big scalp before their championship run comes to an end. A nice double header in Moycullen on Sunday morning. Athenry and K/C will get their hands raised in victory. Well provided K/C get a firm referee - they will win. Carna known for their cynical tactics but that is a conversation for another day.

TheCuteFox (Galway) - Posts: 15 - 15/06/2017 13:25:36    1999927

Replying To galwayman2:  "You made those odds up yourself I assume?"
Ha! Where in God's name did you get those odds, Bull365? Spiddal 9/4 even though they hammered Brendan's in the first round and beat Headford in the league already? And even as poor as Clifden are, I can't imagine them being 3/1 against Brendan's.

GalwayFancyDans (Galway) - Posts: 75 - 15/06/2017 13:33:09    1999930

Replying To GalwayFancyDans:  "Ha! Where in God's name did you get those odds, Bull365? Spiddal 9/4 even though they hammered Brendan's in the first round and beat Headford in the league already? And even as poor as Clifden are, I can't imagine them being 3/1 against Brendan's."
Not to say your opinion isn't a valid one but the prices on Clifden and An Spideal have actually drifted since my local bookmaker put the odds up on the board this morning. The money line never lies!! Money follows money.

NathinButSteel (Galway) - Posts: 115 - 15/06/2017 14:36:57    1999963

Replying To NathinButSteel:  "Not to say your opinion isn't a valid one but the prices on Clifden and An Spideal have actually drifted since my local bookmaker put the odds up on the board this morning. The money line never lies!! Money follows money."
Grand, I just think some of those odds are nuts. I'd agree with the favourites in most but the odds themselves seem extreme. Even Carna at 7/2, they're limited alright but well able to stop another team from playing and I don't mean that particularly cynically. If they stop Shane Walsh, K/C look just as limited judging by the bits I saw if them last year.

But sure I'm no bookmaker!

GalwayFancyDans (Galway) - Posts: 75 - 15/06/2017 15:23:42    1999985