Advertisement

Intermediate Football Championship 2017

Winners Group:
-Oranmore-Maree v Glenamaddy - think this may be the game of the round , both will go at it hammer and tongs - Another poster said Oran will be delighted with this draw , not so sure about that. Glen have nothing to lose, and have a few experienced players coming back who missed Athenry match, who will be a huge help to their youngsters. - Have Oran as my dark horses but this could be very tight. Glen win wouldn't be huge shock. -

-An Spidéal v Headford - Spideal Havent seen them play this year but have very good family playing upfront.

-Menlough v Claregalway - Claregalway - Think Claregalway will put jinx behind them , Menlough poor vs Williamstown, but have good midfield and forwards. Claregalway need to deliver this year , hard to be there or thereabouts each year without making breakthrough.

-Oileain Arainn V Dunmore MacHales -Dunmore by a whisker. Dunmore very dangerous full forward line. If Oileain can stop supply in to them , they have a big chance.

Losers Group:
-St Brendans v Clifden - , Whoever loses favourites for relegation, Brendans just about to win ,

-Athenry v Oughterard - Oughterard to win , Athenry too reliant on Crowe, but Flynn back will be a help.

-Williamstown v Ballinasloe - Williamstown, but need to keep their heads and make better decisions upfront.

-Carna-Caisel v Kilkerrin/Clonberne - K/C just and that's if Shane Walsh playing well.

pjbigballfan (Galway) - Posts: 83 - 19/05/2017 10:50:44    1988265

Replying To Not.A.Quelly:  "I know Lee played at full forward for Headford last weekend. He is definitely one of their more senior plyers .....Heard he used to play a deeper role for Ballylanders, any truth in that?"
I seen him play twice for Ballylanders he would start at midfield and move back to help out the backs drift out the field again for kickouts.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 20/05/2017 17:49:10    1988591

How does Galway result effect these fixtures does anyone know?

Also, bringing club games to Pearce stadium is a joke. Unless its two fairly big senior clubs that may draw a big crowd it's the most dreary, unexciting playing atmosphere for players. Bring them to a club ground, better atmosphere and bringing in a few pound for the club.

Gmon (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 23/05/2017 08:45:23    1989681

As a player i always loved playing at pearse, quality pitch and dressing rooms. The crowd is irrevelant, you can barely hear anyone when youre out there anyway!

galwaygael (Galway) - Posts: 61 - 23/05/2017 13:12:06    1989791

Replying To galwaygael:  "As a player i always loved playing at pearse, quality pitch and dressing rooms. The crowd is irrevelant, you can barely hear anyone when youre out there anyway!"
Agree, i think most players would pick playing in pearse or tuam stadium anyday,

Gaagodeo (Galway) - Posts: 52 - 29/05/2017 21:11:22    1991962

Replying To Gaagodeo:  "Agree, i think most players would pick playing in pearse or tuam stadium anyday,"
Tuam yes ... but not Pearse

Gmon (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 30/05/2017 09:09:07    1992034

Pearse over tuam.
1 the changing rooms in tuam are a disgrace
2 players are only allowed on to the pitch 10mins before the game starts
3 teams being made to warm up behind the changing rooms on the mulch is a disgrace

mkeary5 (Galway) - Posts: 27 - 31/05/2017 14:15:30    1992643

Replying To mkeary5:  "Pearse over tuam.
1 the changing rooms in tuam are a disgrace
2 players are only allowed on to the pitch 10mins before the game starts
3 teams being made to warm up behind the changing rooms on the mulch is a disgrace"
Agree ... pure daft not being allowed warm up on the pitch!!

My favourite football pitch to play on is Monivea. Pitch always in top class nick.

Gmon (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 31/05/2017 14:52:07    1992671

Love Tuam but changing facilities are a disgrace and this craic of not allowed out on to the pitch 10 minutes prior to kick off is unfair too on teams.
Pearse Stadium is top class.
Kenny Park is top class in Athenry.

Jellybaby (Dublin) - Posts: 389 - 31/05/2017 20:04:58    1992806

Would certainly agree about the changing facilities in Tuam, a shame given it is the spiritual home of Galway football. As a former player myself I always preferred playing in Pearse stadium purely for the facilities. In term of playing surfaces I always regretted not being afforded to play football in Kenny Park more than a couple of times but it is primarily a hurling ground to be fair.

NathinButSteel (Galway) - Posts: 115 - 02/06/2017 15:29:31    1993583

Replying To Fr_Tod_Unctious:  "Was in Tuam last Sunday for the triple header. Dunmore looked pretty slick at times. Left two lighting fast forwards inside caused havoc for K/C. I think one was Reddington was in the minor team in '07

K/C very poor side Walsh kick 9 out of their 11 scores. Can't believe they're 5/2 to win it out
Without Walsh they would struggle to stay up"
It would be nice to see Dunmore doing well again as in the past they were one of the top teams in Galway football. Of course they were more a regional team in the past than a club, drawing in players from Glenamaddy, Williamstown and any other place they could get them from. Mountbellew were similar in the past taking in the best players from the surrounding area. To be fair Dunmore provided some of Galways best ever players so I hope they make it back to the senior ranks.

crafty (Galway) - Posts: 271 - 05/06/2017 21:43:18    1995275

Replying To crafty:  "It would be nice to see Dunmore doing well again as in the past they were one of the top teams in Galway football. Of course they were more a regional team in the past than a club, drawing in players from Glenamaddy, Williamstown and any other place they could get them from. Mountbellew were similar in the past taking in the best players from the surrounding area. To be fair Dunmore provided some of Galways best ever players so I hope they make it back to the senior ranks."
A regional team ... similar to Corofin!!!

Gmon (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 06/06/2017 11:58:50    1995492

Replying To Gmon:  "A regional team ... similar to Corofin!!!"
To the best of my knowledge Corofin have never taken players from neighbouring clubs to play with them. If you know of any could you please let me know. Jimmy Duggan did come to play with Corofin from Claremorris years ago but he had very close family ties with Corofin. Corofin have been a phenomenal rural club team since 1991.

crafty (Galway) - Posts: 271 - 06/06/2017 22:24:00    1996087

It would be nice to see Dunmore doing well again as in the past they were one of the top teams in Galway football. Of course they were more a regional team in the past than a club, drawing in players from Glenamaddy, Williamstown and any other place they could get them from. Mountbellew were similar in the past taking in the best players from the surrounding area. To be fair Dunmore provided some of Galways best ever players so I hope they make it back to the senior ranks.

Crafty - actually down through the years Dunmore was a notoriously Towny club - maybe not now. Pulling lads from glenamaddy or Williamstown would be a big No No and would not sit well with them (I think there is just one exception to that). When Dunmore were winning county titles you were from the town or the parish and you most likely went to Jarlaths. If they did pull lads from the surrounding area , they would be a different club then they are today!!!

Howardhunt1 (Galway) - Posts: 83 - 07/06/2017 08:55:45    1996189

I was always under the impression that the historically the only "regional" clubs were clubs in Galway City namely Salthill & Claregalway who were always both infamous for taking on ex county players from other areas to supplement their indigenous players!

NathinButSteel (Galway) - Posts: 115 - 07/06/2017 10:43:53    1996275

Replying To crafty:  "To the best of my knowledge Corofin have never taken players from neighbouring clubs to play with them. If you know of any could you please let me know. Jimmy Duggan did come to play with Corofin from Claremorris years ago but he had very close family ties with Corofin. Corofin have been a phenomenal rural club team since 1991."
They take players from Belclare all the time!!!

Gmon (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 07/06/2017 12:08:20    1996364

Replying To Howardhunt1:  "It would be nice to see Dunmore doing well again as in the past they were one of the top teams in Galway football. Of course they were more a regional team in the past than a club, drawing in players from Glenamaddy, Williamstown and any other place they could get them from. Mountbellew were similar in the past taking in the best players from the surrounding area. To be fair Dunmore provided some of Galways best ever players so I hope they make it back to the senior ranks.

Crafty - actually down through the years Dunmore was a notoriously Towny club - maybe not now. Pulling lads from glenamaddy or Williamstown would be a big No No and would not sit well with them (I think there is just one exception to that). When Dunmore were winning county titles you were from the town or the parish and you most likely went to Jarlaths. If they did pull lads from the surrounding area , they would be a different club then they are today!!!"
Bosco McDermot from Williamstown and the Geraghtys from Glenamaddy all played with Dunmore. A little Geography lesson for you Gmon Belclare and Corofin are the one parish and played together for years with very little success.

crafty (Galway) - Posts: 271 - 07/06/2017 22:33:09    1996708

Replying To crafty:  "
Replying To Howardhunt1:  "It would be nice to see Dunmore doing well again as in the past they were one of the top teams in Galway football. Of course they were more a regional team in the past than a club, drawing in players from Glenamaddy, Williamstown and any other place they could get them from. Mountbellew were similar in the past taking in the best players from the surrounding area. To be fair Dunmore provided some of Galways best ever players so I hope they make it back to the senior ranks.

Crafty - actually down through the years Dunmore was a notoriously Towny club - maybe not now. Pulling lads from glenamaddy or Williamstown would be a big No No and would not sit well with them (I think there is just one exception to that). When Dunmore were winning county titles you were from the town or the parish and you most likely went to Jarlaths. If they did pull lads from the surrounding area , they would be a different club then they are today!!!"
Bosco McDermot from Williamstown and the Geraghtys from Glenamaddy all played with Dunmore. A little Geography lesson for you Gmon Belclare and Corofin are the one parish and played together for years with very little success."
I was insinuating that they should be two clubs with the amount of footballers they have!!

Fair play to them tho they put in more work than the majority of clubs in Galway hence their success.

Gmon (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 08/06/2017 12:09:37    1996867

Replying To Gmon:  "
Replying To crafty:  "[quote=Howardhunt1:  "It would be nice to see Dunmore doing well again as in the past they were one of the top teams in Galway football. Of course they were more a regional team in the past than a club, drawing in players from Glenamaddy, Williamstown and any other place they could get them from. Mountbellew were similar in the past taking in the best players from the surrounding area. To be fair Dunmore provided some of Galways best ever players so I hope they make it back to the senior ranks.

Bosco McDermot from Williamstown and the Geraghtys from Glenamaddy all played with Dunmore. A little Geography lesson for you Gmon Belclare and Corofin are the one parish and played together for years with very little success."
I was insinuating that they should be two clubs with the amount of footballers they have!!

Fair play to them tho they put in more work than the majority of clubs in Galway hence their success."]Who cares... Intermediate championship forum, set up a new forum for a geography lesson lads

Jellybaby (Dublin) - Posts: 389 - 08/06/2017 19:19:22    1997073

Replying To Jellybaby:  "
Replying To Gmon:  "[quote=crafty:  "[quote=Howardhunt1:  "It would be nice to see Dunmore doing well again as in the past they were one of the top teams in Galway football. Of course they were more a regional team in the past than a club, drawing in players from Glenamaddy, Williamstown and any other place they could get them from. Mountbellew were similar in the past taking in the best players from the surrounding area. To be fair Dunmore provided some of Galways best ever players so I hope they make it back to the senior ranks.

Fair play to them tho they put in more work than the majority of clubs in Galway hence their success."]Who cares... Intermediate championship forum, set up a new forum for a geography lesson lads"]agreed jellybaby

mkeary5 (Galway) - Posts: 27 - 09/06/2017 10:25:35    1997220