Cavan V Donegal

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Yeah there would be a few from those teams that played against Donegal, Ciaran Brady, Clarke, Faulkner, Gerry Smith, McGlauglin, Madden
They didn't play Donegal in 2011 during the first of 4 in a row.

Donegal were the last team to beat Cavan u21s, before that 4 in a row, in 2010 Ulster final and ended that run in 2015."
Seanorinnn YOUR BOYS TOOK ONE HELL OF A BEATING

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 22/11/2020 21:47:48    2313506

Unbelievable stuff, what a brilliant performance ! All I ever want to see Cavan do is to fight fight fight to the bitter end , not an inch and they did that so well today. So proud of the team and management

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 22/11/2020 22:59:45    2313560

Well done Cavan. Brilliant heart all the way from Clones right to Armagh today. Great to see and congrats from the Farney county. Must say I'm surprised and disappointed to see a homecoming event organised by Cavan co board in these difficult Covid dominated times.( know it was drive thru but it's causes a gathering and partying after the event) Do we not learn from what happened After the county finals.

FrankAnnyalla (Monaghan) - Posts: 339 - 22/11/2020 23:24:55    2313574

Wow ! Just Wow !. best performance i have ever seen from a Cavan team. from start to finish. Fully deserved. To a man they put their bodies on the line. I completely misjudged them in relation to Donegal. They were fitter, stronger and hungrier. They were also patient when they neesed to be and were not afraid to shoot if it was on. I would say we were slightly lucky v Monaghan and Down but Today absolutely worthy winners and CAVAN ARE ULSTER CHAMPIONS. congratulations to Mickey and all the panel. I cried buckets at the end along with Mickey and Ray... amazing stuff.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 22/11/2020 23:38:56    2313585

Huge congratulations to all Cavan GAA a super result and great day. Let's hope Hyland can have a similar effect on our squad over the years as he had on a lot of the current Cavan squad. Well done again

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 22/11/2020 23:49:27    2313590

Really enjoyed the game earlier and I have to say that both Cavan and Tipp today showed what the GAA is all about and what it means to people all over Ireland. I think a lot of people were starting to become a bit dejected after another Dublin demolition on Saturday night but Cavan and Tipperary changed all that. Mickey Graham has been a breath of fresh air and a revelation for Cavan football and to see the emotion in his interviews following the game, well that was something else.

Cavan, to a man , played their hearts out today and with a different referee would have easily beaten Donegal by 6 or 7 points. There were some shocking decisions that went against Cavan but their sheer determination and will to win ensured they would not be defeated in 2020. No matter what happens from here on in, if Galligan does not receive an All Star then there is something seriously wrong. Gearoid too, is also very deserving of an All Star this year and with a bit of luck a few more might make the cut too. Murphy never laid a glove on the ball today and I wondered if a certain Monaghan man who also has good form against Murphy shared some of his knowledge with his brother, who I understand is a member of the Cavan background team.

Cavan will be completely written off against the almighty Dubs but with lots of big mobile men, plenty of talent and a will to win, who is to say that if Cavan are still in it with 60 minutes on the clock, they won't finish strongly again. It is 2020, so anything could happen! Hopefully a few Cavan fans are allowed in to watch the semi and it takes place in a neutral venue.

Jesus, even us Monaghan folk are cheering for you now, along with the rest of the province and many other counties across the country too. Up Cavan. #CavanareMagic #SaintMickey #NotBadforaDivision3Team

OrielPower (Monaghan) - Posts: 107 - 23/11/2020 01:12:40    2313606

Brilliant. I think thats what the majority of supporters want to see in their teams, regardless of the result, Attitude, effort, desire. Cavan sure had it today. You couldn't fault it. Heartiest of congratulations. It'd make you wish it had to have happened during my 20s and when the pubs were open! Level 5 wont be long coming back after Dec 5th i'd say!! Well done to all involved.

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 23/11/2020 03:11:52    2313616

What a feeling!
Waking up today smiling, what a show those boys put on yday. Im generally a positive cavan fan but couldnt work out a way to a cavan victory yesterday.
Every single one of them went above and beyond themselves, incredible stirring stuff. They just refused to back down, straight into donegal faces from the start. Tackling like demons they had donegal shellshocked.

I could start talking about individual performances but where would you begin, so many motm contenders raising their hand, the wrecking ball thomas galligan, faulkner his usual brillance, gearoid a giant, jason massive, oisin kiernan an inspiration, holla perpetual motion, gunner a warrior, could go on

Thrilling stuff, hats off to graham too who had a great day on the line getting all his calls right.

That was better than 97, just gutted we couldnt be there

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 23/11/2020 08:58:13    2313632

Still buzzing lads. Could barely sleep last night, after rewatching the match, then the Sunday Game, reading up on all the news and comments everywhere. So proud of the lads, we went out to win that. No one gave us a shot (media has a lot to answer for there) even though we knew better, and we had the intensity and hunger in a 2 horse race. Donegal were blown up to be far more than we've seen from them last 2 years, and our lads knew this. We wanted it more and we took it. I'm so delighted for the lads who have soldiered on the hard road for years, McKiernan, Reilly, McLoughlin, Galligan. They richly deserve their rewards. The others who have retired recently without a title like Mackey can take huge pride too as they brought us to this point too. It's absolutely their title also. I'm just so delighted, was unreal to see the town last night with flags, horns, and fireworks. We'll celebrate but look forward to. I see no reason to fear the next game as we're already in bonus territory. What can hurt by going out to attack them too? Congrats lads.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2383 - 23/11/2020 10:15:14    2313692

Well what can you say after a day like yesterday. To win an Ulster Championship on the back of our best performance of the year so far says a lot about the progression being made by this group. A victory which was based upon an incredible hunger and a belief that it could be achieved no matter what.

Behind in every game at half time we came back against all the odds to win the prize. I was lucky enough to be there in 97 when we beat Derry but yesterday was sweeter.

i am especially delighted for the members of the team who were not part of the under 21 or minor successest. Some of the older members of this grouping have been around a long time without any tangible rewards.

It was a great day for the Ulster Championship which has become a two horse race over the past ten years. I hope that what we achieved yesterday will give hope to other teams in the Provence, they are not too far away. Down, Monaghan and Antrim gave us plenty of problems. Armagh can learn from the manner in which we responded to our beating by Donegal in last years final.

Finally, may this be the last time that the county goes so long without a Provincial success. Winning in 97 was the end of a journey when it should have been the beginning, please God 2020 will be the start of a journey that will see us win our fair share in the years ahead.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 23/11/2020 11:09:00    2313776

Congrats lads. What a victory. Was shouting for ye watching the TV, great stuff.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 23/11/2020 11:48:46    2313828

That was incredible.

When we were relegated from Div 2 I thought it was going to be a very short championship year. Things looked very grim. The resilience, the resolve, the heart, the courage these players have shown to reverse their fortunes in just 6 weeks is truly inspiring.

We have suffered as supporters for decades. There have been so many dark days and not a whole pile to cheer about. It hasn't been easy, particularly for those of us who live and work outside the county. We see people from other counties with their days in the sun, and I always wondered, when would we get ours? Finally, we have pulled it off, and the whole country is looking at us and giving us the recognition we deserve.

It wasn't just winning our 40th title, it was the manner in which we did it that made it so, so sweet. I couldn't have imagined a better way to win a title.

Seven points behind against our nearest and dearest on their home ground. And we dumped them out.
Laboured against Antrim where we played poorly. But still won.
Ten points behind against Down on a miserable wet day. And we beat them.
Played 20 minutes of the final with 14 men against All-Ireland contenders. And won.

What is it about this Cavan team?

It is character. Resolve. Honesty. Grit. Passion. Determination. A never say die attitude. That's all we want to see as supporters, and we've gotten it in spades. I am so, so proud of this team and the management.

Let this be the start of a new golden era for Cavan football.

To the rest of Ulster, I have an announcement to make.

WE HAVE AWOKEN!

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 23/11/2020 12:03:16    2313841

What a win on cloud 9 today finally kingpins of Ulster that win is for the great players who soldiered on through the lean years of cavan football with no medals. The likes of Corr Givney keating Mackey toastie the list is endless we're so proud of the team and management on what was a great day for cavan gaa and the wider gaa community theres hope for every county if they believe.

bart_simpson (Cavan) - Posts: 45 - 23/11/2020 12:49:30    2313889

Yep, I woke up this morning and it wasn't all a dream! I'm still smiling away, and the days ahead can get darker and colder for all I care, there's a warm glow inside that's going to last all winter.

There is just nothing better than seeing lads fight for their jersey, and give their all for their county. Pure passion, pride, and determination from the whole panel and management. Cavan means so much to these lads - and you can see it goes beyond football, because they're doing their bit with the Movember campaign for three worthy charities. Let's get them the few quid that would have gone on the match programme or diesel to Clones to help out a bit: https://www.gofundme.com/f/cavan-senior-football-team-movember-fundraiser

TheBlackDeath (Cavan) - Posts: 73 - 23/11/2020 14:53:56    2314030

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "Still buzzing lads. Could barely sleep last night, after rewatching the match, then the Sunday Game, reading up on all the news and comments everywhere. So proud of the lads, we went out to win that. No one gave us a shot (media has a lot to answer for there) even though we knew better, and we had the intensity and hunger in a 2 horse race. Donegal were blown up to be far more than we've seen from them last 2 years, and our lads knew this. We wanted it more and we took it. I'm so delighted for the lads who have soldiered on the hard road for years, McKiernan, Reilly, McLoughlin, Galligan. They richly deserve their rewards. The others who have retired recently without a title like Mackey can take huge pride too as they brought us to this point too. It's absolutely their title also. I'm just so delighted, was unreal to see the town last night with flags, horns, and fireworks. We'll celebrate but look forward to. I see no reason to fear the next game as we're already in bonus territory. What can hurt by going out to attack them too? Congrats lads."
Well didn't sleep much last night just kept playing that game over and over again in my head it just feels like the most beautiful dream i never saw that coming didn't think we had the cuteness or the fight and desire to beat a great team like Donegall but thankfully I was proven wrong. Them Cavan players are heroes no matter what happens next they made Cavan people all over the world so proud because we have had to take a lot of stick over the years and everybody questioning what has happened to Cavan football and getting very little media coverage they were all interested in Tyrone and Donegall well now our name is up in lights and we are so happy. The same media will now be breaking down our door looking for interviews and printing everything Cavan where have they been until now. I have read a few reports of the match and not a word about the black cards given to our players or the mark which wasn't given. The referee was poor he gave no protection to our players what so ever Thomas Galligan was asaulted on several occasions and nothing done about it if that happened on the street you would be arrested. That referee should not be allowed to officiate at senior level it wouldn't happen if it was Dublin or Kerry. Fair play to Mickey hart and Peter Canavan they said as much on the BBC NI. Anyway we won against all odds and a massive thanks to the players who put their bodies on the line for their county over the last 6weeks we are all very grateful for your efforts and the boost you've given us in these troubled times. A very huge amount of thanks to MG and his back room team the co board must give him all the tools he requires to bring this youn team forward and no quibbles about it. We've had some turn over of managers through the years apart from Martin Mc Hugh and Terry Highland the rest did sod all but we have a manager who if you cut him his blood would run blue just watch his emotions in his interview after the game Cavan through and through as a proud Cavan exile you brightened my days for last 6weeks so once again Thank you and you team. Up Cavan.

[email protected] (Cavan) - Posts: 138 - 23/11/2020 16:20:14    2314103

Well done on your deserved victory yesterday. I'm not going to go into the reasons why Donegal were so poor as I feel that would be a disservice to the Cavan performance. Simply put, we were beaten by a better team yesterday and that's it.

It's just a balls for ye that these God damned Covid restrictions are in place. I can remember 2011 when we won Ulster after a long wait and the craic was unbelievable.

Anyway, all the best against the Dubs and congratulations again.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 23/11/2020 16:22:36    2314107

Replying To [email protected]:  "Well didn't sleep much last night just kept playing that game over and over again in my head it just feels like the most beautiful dream i never saw that coming didn't think we had the cuteness or the fight and desire to beat a great team like Donegall but thankfully I was proven wrong. Them Cavan players are heroes no matter what happens next they made Cavan people all over the world so proud because we have had to take a lot of stick over the years and everybody questioning what has happened to Cavan football and getting very little media coverage they were all interested in Tyrone and Donegall well now our name is up in lights and we are so happy. The same media will now be breaking down our door looking for interviews and printing everything Cavan where have they been until now. I have read a few reports of the match and not a word about the black cards given to our players or the mark which wasn't given. The referee was poor he gave no protection to our players what so ever Thomas Galligan was asaulted on several occasions and nothing done about it if that happened on the street you would be arrested. That referee should not be allowed to officiate at senior level it wouldn't happen if it was Dublin or Kerry. Fair play to Mickey hart and Peter Canavan they said as much on the BBC NI. Anyway we won against all odds and a massive thanks to the players who put their bodies on the line for their county over the last 6weeks we are all very grateful for your efforts and the boost you've given us in these troubled times. A very huge amount of thanks to MG and his back room team the co board must give him all the tools he requires to bring this youn team forward and no quibbles about it. We've had some turn over of managers through the years apart from Martin Mc Hugh and Terry Highland the rest did sod all but we have a manager who if you cut him his blood would run blue just watch his emotions in his interview after the game Cavan through and through as a proud Cavan exile you brightened my days for last 6weeks so once again Thank you and you team. Up Cavan."
Mickey's record these past 5 seasons is incredible!

2016 led Mullinaleachta to their first Longford title in 66 years.
2017 won it a 2nd time.
2018 won it a 3rd time. Won their first ever Leinster title.
2019 took Cavan to our first Ulster final in 17 years.
2020 won us our first Ulster in 23 years.

Phenomenal achievements. What a man!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 23/11/2020 16:34:32    2314120

CONGRATULATIONS CAVAN

This is a little piece I am after creating .
Poor is it however its an effort!!!!

From Blacklion to Virginia
Folks hearts are filled with joy
Glory days of yore they have always in store.
Breffni Park, Croker and New York soil always etch with glory in the Cavan mind.
Now on the green grass of Armagh. they broke the hearts of the lads from the hills
Oh for Cavan folk their hearts were filled with trills
Crossing the border was not permitted.
The underdog fought Donegal and arrived first on the Tír Chonaill Hills summit
Doors locked in the Kilmore
Regrets no screens erected in Belturbet, Lavey and many more.
On TV the game was watched
Cheers and cries
tears in their eyes. they jumped with joy.
All Ireland final day is at Christmas.
Santa will arrive in his usual attire.
Will he wrap a special prezzie for Cavan the Sam Maguire
John Joe Reilly watched from above,
With excitement viewing the team with whom he was in love.
His heart with joy did melt
when his thoughts of his Killeshandra home greet the cup of fame the Anglo celt.
is however its a try!!!

Shannonview (Leitrim) - Posts: 72 - 23/11/2020 17:02:15    2314142

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Well done on your deserved victory yesterday. I'm not going to go into the reasons why Donegal were so poor as I feel that would be a disservice to the Cavan performance. Simply put, we were beaten by a better team yesterday and that's it.

It's just a balls for ye that these God damned Covid restrictions are in place. I can remember 2011 when we won Ulster after a long wait and the craic was unbelievable.

Anyway, all the best against the Dubs and congratulations again."
Yes a better team by far. It's amazing what player's can do when they work together and even spill blood for the cause. Galligan in goal was brilliant he made three fantastic saves that kept Cavan alive. Thomas Galligan finally has shown his potential and boy what talent. He deserved the man of the match award I picked him as man of the match as I expect many followers did. Madden did well also we knew the talent was there. Everyone played their part.

To Micky Graham well done lad you had belief where many felt that we were only making up numbers. To be honest I was one of those that felt Cavan had no chance but hoped they would win for my grandchildren and daughter. Watching my little granddaughters happiness yesterday was something else. Padraig Faulkener is a teacher in her school so she was looking for the Number 3 shirt all through the match. I remember when my other Granddaughter Lauren was 3 when I brought her down to Dunnes Stores car park to welcome the 97 team home.
Enjoy the day all I am well pleased for all involved through these terrible times. Long over due but worth waiting for. I really felt sorry for the supporters who have followed all over the country in all kinds of weather and were deprived of seeing their team live in Armagh over the pandemic.

I spoke with one girl called Amanda from Drumlane jesus she was so happy and also dissapointed BUT when I told her she could go down to Breiffni Park for 9pm she was elated it was like I gave her the world. She would not have known had I not told her. I text as many as I could so they at least had a chance to acknowledge their hero's live.
Nice touch Cavan County Board what you did was well appreciated.
Congratulations one and all enjoy for the moment the.

Great day yesterday also for Tipperary congratulations to you especially on this 100 years anniversary of a sad day in Irish history, another surprise but welcomed and good luck to you. Many of my neighbors are Tipp people so a good day for all. As a Cork man I am disappointed but I take nothing away from the better team they were up for the game and it's a great boost for football in Tipperary as the Cavan victory will be.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 23/11/2020 17:44:54    2314162

Replying To cavanman47:  "Mickey's record these past 5 seasons is incredible!

2016 led Mullinaleachta to their first Longford title in 66 years.
2017 won it a 2nd time.
2018 won it a 3rd time. Won their first ever Leinster title.
2019 took Cavan to our first Ulster final in 17 years.
2020 won us our first Ulster in 23 years.

Phenomenal achievements. What a man!"
That is quite extraordinary when looked at cumulatively.

He's on a roll. Dare I say it, but is he the man to stop the six in a row? There's no better man to do it.

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 23/11/2020 18:20:22    2314176