Cavan V Donegal

Absolutely Incredible stuff. I am still in shock, I said during the week that we needed an angry performance and that is exactly what it was. No one gave us a chance, Sean Cavanagh on the Sunday Game last week crossed a line when he said "Dublin will need to fix that for Donegal" Total disregard to Cavan. But also thank you very much because you added fuel to that anger that we saw today. All across that team are ulster under 21 winners and we deserved more respect than that.
Tactically Mickey got it spot on. Donegal were rattled especially in the second half, we just kept tracking their runners that have done so much damage in previous meetings. I actually think we should have won by a lot more to be honest with you.
For the next day all I can say is keep writing us off please.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 22/11/2020 19:11:17    2313197

Congratulations Cavan.
I recall walking up Fermangh Street in 1997 and the sheer joy on the Cavan faces was a sight to behold.
Raising a glass to yous all.
Enjoy

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 357 - 22/11/2020 19:30:17    2313240

Replying To blueskies:  "Absolutely Incredible stuff. I am still in shock, I said during the week that we needed an angry performance and that is exactly what it was. No one gave us a chance, Sean Cavanagh on the Sunday Game last week crossed a line when he said "Dublin will need to fix that for Donegal" Total disregard to Cavan. But also thank you very much because you added fuel to that anger that we saw today. All across that team are ulster under 21 winners and we deserved more respect than that.
Tactically Mickey got it spot on. Donegal were rattled especially in the second half, we just kept tracking their runners that have done so much damage in previous meetings. I actually think we should have won by a lot more to be honest with you.
For the next day all I can say is keep writing us off please."
Congratulations Cavan what a wonderful display of skill, teamwork and courage.
Cavan was unlucky with two dubious black cards and near misses for scores.
The whole country salutes this brilliant display.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 22/11/2020 19:31:09    2313245

Replying To blueskies:  "Absolutely Incredible stuff. I am still in shock, I said during the week that we needed an angry performance and that is exactly what it was. No one gave us a chance, Sean Cavanagh on the Sunday Game last week crossed a line when he said "Dublin will need to fix that for Donegal" Total disregard to Cavan. But also thank you very much because you added fuel to that anger that we saw today. All across that team are ulster under 21 winners and we deserved more respect than that.
For the next day all I can say is keep writing us off please."
Congratulations Cavan, what a performance, the referee did his utmost though to try and stop ye, the 2 black cards, the dangerous elbow to Galligans head, the mark he never gave Cavan even though it was called, the mark he gave Donegal even though there was a push in the back on a Cavan player. It is rare for a referee to get so many decisions wrong against the same team. But Cavan showed great courage and never gave up with terrific defending.
Well done Cavan and best of luck against the Dubs.

Meathball (Meath) - Posts: 140 - 22/11/2020 19:38:24    2313260

Unbelievable stuff, congrats Mickey Graham, you turned doubters into believers.

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 22/11/2020 19:41:14    2313263

Every Cavan Man, Woman and Child stands taller after todays performance. A win built on sheer courage and determination. The referee did his best to torpedo us too but failed. Makes winning all the more sweeter.

Kilnaleck Blue (Cavan) - Posts: 25 - 22/11/2020 19:49:33    2313282

What a brilliant display by a fantastic bunch of players you have done Cavan proud.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 22/11/2020 19:50:49    2313286

Well done Cavan, great result and well deserved.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/11/2020 19:55:43    2313291

Congrats on a famous victory

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 22/11/2020 19:59:22    2313299

i have followed cavan since 1970 and this is the most magnificent performance i have seen from cavan in 50 years. The determination heart spirit and never say die attitude shown by this team in the last 4 games has been unbelievable. I congratulate mickey his management team and every one on the panel for this wonderful achievement. what a boost for the whole county on this dreadful year. Barry Cassidy performance today was an absolute disgrace and the media have turned a blind eye to it. The two black cards were a disgrace as were his decision not to award a mark to #Gearoid or a free to Martin Reilly and a possible black card to Donegal player. 5 major decisions that he got wrong

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 22/11/2020 20:04:40    2313311

Congratulations on a magnificent performance best in fifty years that i have seen from a cavan team. The heart determination drive and never say die spirit shown by the entire team was exceptional especially after the disappointment of last year. Congratulations to Mickey and his management team and to each and every player on the panel. i thought the referee was a disgrace he got 5 major decisions wrong the 2 cavan black cards the non black card to donegal player for foul on galligan not awarding mark to #Gearoid and not awarding free to martin reilly when he was fouled twice while in possession.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 22/11/2020 20:27:19    2313360

Congrats Cavan from a Monaghan man. you truly deserved it today and i wish you all the best in the AI semi.

muckla (UK) - Posts: 365 - 22/11/2020 21:00:45    2313421

Well done Cavan better team win. No complaints. Enjoy

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2401 - 22/11/2020 21:02:45    2313424

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "Congratulations on a magnificent performance best in fifty years that i have seen from a cavan team. The heart determination drive and never say die spirit shown by the entire team was exceptional especially after the disappointment of last year. Congratulations to Mickey and his management team and to each and every player on the panel. i thought the referee was a disgrace he got 5 major decisions wrong the 2 cavan black cards the non black card to donegal player for foul on galligan not awarding mark to #Gearoid and not awarding free to martin reilly when he was fouled twice while in possession."
The refereeing was a total disgrace. The black cards were ludicrous. The abuse thomas Galligan was doled out was frightening. The County Board should report him for failing to protect the physical health of at least two of our players. Declankillann

declankillann (Dublin) - Posts: 83 - 22/11/2020 21:07:23    2313429

Replying To breffnibluewhite:  "Congratulations on a magnificent performance best in fifty years that i have seen from a cavan team. The heart determination drive and never say die spirit shown by the entire team was exceptional especially after the disappointment of last year. Congratulations to Mickey and his management team and to each and every player on the panel. i thought the referee was a disgrace he got 5 major decisions wrong the 2 cavan black cards the non black card to donegal player for foul on galligan not awarding mark to #Gearoid and not awarding free to martin reilly when he was fouled twice while in possession."
Somebody please take me down from the clouds on second thoughts this feels so good I want to stay there. What a performance everyone a hero and fully deserved especially against 16men when you include the referee but you kept your head and got your rewards so huge congratulations to Mickey and his back room team unbelievable a very happy Cavan exile. Come on the blues.

[email protected] (Cavan) - Posts: 138 - 22/11/2020 21:08:26    2313431

What a performance by the team. Can't believe it. Galligan is a warrior.

grizlly (Cavan) - Posts: 9 - 22/11/2020 21:13:20    2313443

Replying To blueman1903:  "What a brilliant display by a fantastic bunch of players you have done Cavan proud."
Brilliant , brilliant stuff , Delighted Cavan won that match, pure hunger ,and will to win, just great ,not that i have anything against Donegal ,i dont , This should serve a reminder to those who want to do away with Provincal C ships , and interduce tiered C ships , This is what some of our top pundits want, ex players i might add,t that would do away with days like today ,When you see men like Mickey Graham over come with emotion, such a humble man and one of your own, Ray Galligan who give the best interview i ever saw from a sportsman anywhere ,speaking about Cavan football and the pride he has in it, the people from his own parish who lost the battle with covid, he left nothing out, If that Cavan display dosent inspire our boys over here in Down nothing will, Not to leave Tipp out, a mammoth display from them ,A first Munster since 1935, Im not a lover of the back door ,never was, You just cant beat knockout football, if your not at your best your gone, Good luck against the mighty Dubs, you just never know

germac (Down) - Posts: 534 - 22/11/2020 21:21:55    2313469

Nearly drunk already...and still shakin after that..

While self belief was massive today we also seemed to have a huge spring in our step. I don't know what they done after 6 weeks on the road , but whatever technique they employed during the week worked...

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 22/11/2020 21:23:57    2313472

Fantastic performance and achievement. Well done Mickey Graham Dermot Mc Cabe and all the lads great to see heart and guts. Have no fear of the Dubs, they are mighty and so are Cavan.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 22/11/2020 21:45:35    2313503

Fantastic performance and achievement. Well done Mickey Graham Dermot Mc Cabe and all the lads great to see heart and guts. Have no fear of the Dubs, they are mighty and so are Cavan.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 22/11/2020 21:45:48    2313504