Cavan V Donegal

Replying To Shannonview:  "CONGRATULATIONS CAVAN

This is a little piece I am after creating .
Poor is it however its an effort!!!!

From Blacklion to Virginia
Folks hearts are filled with joy
Glory days of yore they have always in store.
Breffni Park, Croker and New York soil always etch with glory in the Cavan mind.
Now on the green grass of Armagh. they broke the hearts of the lads from the hills
Oh for Cavan folk their hearts were filled with trills
Crossing the border was not permitted.
The underdog fought Donegal and arrived first on the Tír Chonaill Hills summit
Doors locked in the Kilmore
Regrets no screens erected in Belturbet, Lavey and many more.
On TV the game was watched
Cheers and cries
tears in their eyes. they jumped with joy.
All Ireland final day is at Christmas.
Santa will arrive in his usual attire.
Will he wrap a special prezzie for Cavan the Sam Maguire
John Joe Reilly watched from above,
With excitement viewing the team with whom he was in love.
His heart with joy did melt
when his thoughts of his Killeshandra home greet the cup of fame the Anglo celt.
is however its a try!!!"
A noble effort! I enjoyed that.

But I'm not letting you claim John Joe for Killeshandra. He was a Cornafean man, a red through and through (touchy subject) ;)

Cavan_Shambles (Cavan) - Posts: 575 - 23/11/2020 18:23:00    2314179

Growing up my father shared stories with me of his trips to see Cavan win Ulster titles pretty much annually and of how they then went into collective training for the all ireland series and of his great memories of being in Croke Park to witness Cavan win two all irelands and of gathering in a locals House to listen to the commentary on radio of Cavans historic all ireland win in the polo grounds. As a young lad I believed I would witness many of these joyful days.
My first memories of being in Clones was 1976 when Cavan and Derry went to a replay. No joy. Disappointed and gutted as a young lad but surely there would be brighter days ahead. Our day would come. 1983 next strings to mind. Disappointed and gutted. Surely we'll win one in the next year or so . I watched the 1997 final at 7.30 in the morning in San Francisco. At last. Wouldn't it have been great to be back in Cavan living and being part of that momentous occasion. Would have came home for the all ireland semi final but we were expecting our first child in mid August. I made a promise I would be in Croke Park for the final. Alas it was not to be.
Came home in 1999.
2001 was in Clones again when we took on Tyrone. Alas no joy again. Along wait until 2019 but once again no joy.
In 2020 I was diagnosed in March with cancer. Thank God it was early stages and after treatment the prognosis is good. Two good friends who I was honoured to play football along side have recently being diagnosed with serious illnesses. A friend recently remarked to me that " The man above is pulling from our pen now".
At this stage I thought please God let me see Cavan lift the Anglo Celt Cup just once
Yesterday with the exception of my wedding day and the birth of my 3 girls it was without doubt the happiest day of my life. Thank you Cavan.

Joebe (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 23/11/2020 19:31:49    2314224

Replying To Joebe:  "Growing up my father shared stories with me of his trips to see Cavan win Ulster titles pretty much annually and of how they then went into collective training for the all ireland series and of his great memories of being in Croke Park to witness Cavan win two all irelands and of gathering in a locals House to listen to the commentary on radio of Cavans historic all ireland win in the polo grounds. As a young lad I believed I would witness many of these joyful days.
My first memories of being in Clones was 1976 when Cavan and Derry went to a replay. No joy. Disappointed and gutted as a young lad but surely there would be brighter days ahead. Our day would come. 1983 next strings to mind. Disappointed and gutted. Surely we'll win one in the next year or so . I watched the 1997 final at 7.30 in the morning in San Francisco. At last. Wouldn't it have been great to be back in Cavan living and being part of that momentous occasion. Would have came home for the all ireland semi final but we were expecting our first child in mid August. I made a promise I would be in Croke Park for the final. Alas it was not to be.
Came home in 1999.
2001 was in Clones again when we took on Tyrone. Alas no joy again. Along wait until 2019 but once again no joy.
In 2020 I was diagnosed in March with cancer. Thank God it was early stages and after treatment the prognosis is good. Two good friends who I was honoured to play football along side have recently being diagnosed with serious illnesses. A friend recently remarked to me that " The man above is pulling from our pen now".
At this stage I thought please God let me see Cavan lift the Anglo Celt Cup just once
Yesterday with the exception of my wedding day and the birth of my 3 girls it was without doubt the happiest day of my life. Thank you Cavan."
You've picked up where Ray Galligan left off, and reduced me to near tears!

The more you read about what this win means to the people of Cavan, the more and more you appreciate it.

I was in Clones in 97, and knew all about ending the famine that had gone before, but with the successful under 21 team coming through the year previous, I like many assumed we were going to win plenty over the following years.

Countless near misses, and hopeless hammerings later and we are finally back there!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 23/11/2020 20:08:01    2314253

Never seen such a collective performance from a cavan team. To a man they stood up and performed. It wasn't just the guts and determination, it was down to skill, bravery and endeavour.
Every player contributed.
Conor Smith hands were like glue. Though he didn't score every ball stuck to him and he got a great assist for a point. Great performance from a young man in an ulster final.
James Smith another colossal performance. Strode through for the opening point. Missed a goal chance. No matter. Dusted himself off, took on donegal for strength and walloped over a storming point.
That's just to name two. To a man they stood up and played the game of their lives when it really mattered.

kanu (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 23/11/2020 23:03:32    2314400

Conor Smith has some record played his first championship game for Cavan in an Ulster final and thank god he ends up with a winners medal that will take some beating.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 23/11/2020 23:20:48    2314406

Replying To RHF:  "Seanorinnn YOUR BOYS TOOK ONE HELL OF A BEATING"
Listen RHF read my post before you start that rubish again. Jesus is there no end to your stupidity. I was as proud of Cavan winning like most on here Yesterday Sunday. Enjoy your win the weekend I am regardless of where I am from.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 24/11/2020 01:40:57    2314433

Replying To Joebe:  "Growing up my father shared stories with me of his trips to see Cavan win Ulster titles pretty much annually and of how they then went into collective training for the all ireland series and of his great memories of being in Croke Park to witness Cavan win two all irelands and of gathering in a locals House to listen to the commentary on radio of Cavans historic all ireland win in the polo grounds. As a young lad I believed I would witness many of these joyful days.
Came home in 1999.
Yesterday with the exception of my wedding day and the birth of my 3 girls it was without doubt the happiest day of my life. Thank you Cavan."
Brilliant post, fantastic stuff. I just think back to the wonder and excitement in 1997 when i was only 10, i remember every detail of that day vividly. Great now that there is another generation of kiddies who will have been watching those scenes unfold on sunday and they wont forget it for many years.

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 24/11/2020 10:05:38    2314493

Replying To The Quiet Man:  "Listen RHF read my post before you start that rubish again. Jesus is there no end to your stupidity. I was as proud of Cavan winning like most on here Yesterday Sunday. Enjoy your win the weekend I am regardless of where I am from."
Replying To RHF: "Seanorinnn YOUR BOYS TOOK ONE HELL OF A BEATING"
Listen RHF read my post before you start that rubish again. Jesus is there no end to your stupidity. I was as proud of Cavan winning like most on here Yesterday Sunday. Enjoy your win the weekend I am regardless of where I am from.
The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4564 - 24/11/2020 01:40:57

Aw settle down i was only giving you a rub after your comments after we were relegated its nothing personal.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 24/11/2020 10:23:43    2314508

leaviing the football aside I was an extremely proud an emotional Cavan man watching the boys doing their interviews especially the ones done for bbc. The honesty emotion passion and humility shown by all of the boys was a joy to behold it was as heart warming as the performance itself.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 24/11/2020 13:19:39    2314650

Belated congratulations to Cavan on a famous win. Mickey Graham and his players deserve great credit for the way they play the game. I would love to see the Cavan - Dublin game played in Breffni Park. which is probably the best stadium in Ulster.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 24/11/2020 16:04:09    2314766

Has to be said the ref was shocking. 2 incorrect black cards which is bad enough. Add in the McKiernan mark, Martin Reilly non free, elbow on Galligan.,couple of very debatable frees on front of the donegal management.. That is a truly awful display of officiating

kanu (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 24/11/2020 17:38:15    2314823

Replying To kanu:  "Has to be said the ref was shocking. 2 incorrect black cards which is bad enough. Add in the McKiernan mark, Martin Reilly non free, elbow on Galligan.,couple of very debatable frees on front of the donegal management.. That is a truly awful display of officiating"
Really really bad decisions by the ref against one team, gaa really need to look into this. Everyone needs fair play , need on a tv official like in rugby.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 24/11/2020 18:17:11    2314852

Hard to pick a man of the match as they were all brilliant for the entire 75/80 minutes.... Donegal paid a heavy price for taking their eye of the ball and thinking too far ahead... The one thing that really epitomised the change in approach of this Cavan team was our match clinching goal... how many teams one point up entering injury time (Dublin included) would have launched a free from the middle of the pitch into the opponent's square... no way... it would be kicked back into defence to eat up time... The Cavan team under previous managers would have kicked it backwards even if they were 2/3 pts down... It was wonderful to see such a positive approach after years of negative sterile stuff... Well done to each and everyone involved as it has given every Cavan person all over the world a huge life during these uncertain times...

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1927 - 24/11/2020 18:18:01    2314853

Replying To kanu:  "Has to be said the ref was shocking. 2 incorrect black cards which is bad enough. Add in the McKiernan mark, Martin Reilly non free, elbow on Galligan.,couple of very debatable frees on front of the donegal management.. That is a truly awful display of officiating"
Forgot to mention the ref... You are spot on Kanu he was terrible.. at least the lads on BBC highlighted his poor decisions against Cavan but the snowflakes on RTE had to follow their scripts and make sure not to say anything negative about the referees performance... This is the sort of value you get for your €160 tv license...!!!!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1927 - 24/11/2020 18:25:11    2314858

Hard to pick a man of the match as they were all brilliant for the entire 75/80 minutes.... Donegal paid a heavy price for taking their eye of the ball and thinking too far ahead... The one thing that really epitomised the change in approach of this Cavan team was our match clinching goal... how many teams one point up entering injury time (Dublin included) would have launched a free from the middle of the pitch into the opponent's square... no way... it would be kicked back into defence to eat up time... The Cavan team under previous managers would have kicked it backwards even if they were 2/3 pts down... It was wonderful to see such a positive approach after years of negative sterile stuff... Well done to each and everyone involved as it has given every Cavan person all over the world a huge life during these uncertain times...

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 1927 - 24/11/2020 18:25:48    2314859

Replying To tireoghainabu:  "Belated congratulations to Cavan on a famous win. Mickey Graham and his players deserve great credit for the way they play the game. I would love to see the Cavan - Dublin game played in Breffni Park. which is probably the best stadium in Ulster."
Best surface too, which is more important. Going into December not many top qualitiy County pitches, the likes of Navan, Mullingar, Clones,possible venues for this game have no Floodlights .

They could bring it to Tullamore, U21 Semi was there in 2014.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 24/11/2020 18:36:44    2314869

Mickey was 100 percent correct again before the match the bigger teams get all the big calls. if we happen to put it up to Dublin we will get shafted again just like the under 21 match a few years ago. It was very important that RTE highlighted the brutal performance of Barry Cassidy on the sunday game but no chance of that with Cavanagh on the panel so he got away with it. No hint of any type of criticism from any one in rte so he may now be in line to get the all ireland final. where as on bbc Mc conville called it two in correct black cards and he felt the foul on galligan merited a red card. Cavanagh tried to create controversy the week before over the ref not disallowing cavans goal against down. Nicholas Walsh should not have taken his toys of him in 2004.

breffnibluewhite (Cavan) - Posts: 454 - 24/11/2020 18:39:42    2314871

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "Forgot to mention the ref... You are spot on Kanu he was terrible.. at least the lads on BBC highlighted his poor decisions against Cavan but the snowflakes on RTE had to follow their scripts and make sure not to say anything negative about the referees performance... This is the sort of value you get for your €160 tv license...!!!!"
Spot on. Don't know how it wasn't highlighted. Sometimes in the heat of the moment you might feel aggrieved but he was so obviously bad. He seemed to have pre conceived decisions. Anything late was a black card. Gave gunner the black based on reputation. He was unsighted for the Galligan incident but was adamant in his decision. He reffed us against armagh this year and he was the same, blatantly against cavan.

kanu (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 24/11/2020 18:57:17    2314884

Replying To kanu:  "Spot on. Don't know how it wasn't highlighted. Sometimes in the heat of the moment you might feel aggrieved but he was so obviously bad. He seemed to have pre conceived decisions. Anything late was a black card. Gave gunner the black based on reputation. He was unsighted for the Galligan incident but was adamant in his decision. He reffed us against armagh this year and he was the same, blatantly against cavan."
l have reported the ref to Croke Park - dont expect to get anywhere but it is on the record. the ref has a duty of care to protect the health and wellbeing of players. He seriously failed Thomas Galligan.
Declankillann

declankillann (Dublin) - Posts: 83 - 24/11/2020 19:43:51    2314917

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "A noble effort! I enjoyed that.

But I'm not letting you claim John Joe for Killeshandra. He was a Cornafean man, a red through and through (touchy subject) ;)"
Ah I sense a touch of parish rivalry. My own club covers a large area. My club is a Leitrim club from a parish that incorporate 3 counties and 2 province's. Leitrim, Sligo and Donegal.(Connaught and Ulster)
Weird geographical location!!!
Touch of county and club rivalry locally.
Not such what's the story up in your parish, Are them two clubs parishes apart or in the one parish?

Are Cornafean and Killeshandra good buddies?
I know a team that were called Cornafean played basketball years ago

Shannonview (Leitrim) - Posts: 72 - 24/11/2020 19:48:34    2314920