Team news: Kingdom bid to bring Richie McElligott Cup home for first time

September 08, 2017

The Richie McElligott Cup named in honour of the late great Kerry stalwart Richie McElligott.

Kerry will bid to bring home a cup named in honour of one of their own when they face Wicklow in tomorrow's All-Ireland U21HC B final at Semple Stadium.

The winners' of the second-tier All-Ireland U21 hurling competition receive the Richie McElligott Cup, which is named in honour of the late great Kerry stalwart Richie McElligott of the Lixnaw club.

The Richie McElligott Cup was first presented in 2015 when Wicklow claimed their maiden All-Ireland U21 hurling title while top winners Kerry's most recent success in the competition came in 2013.

Meanwhile, Kingdom manager Ian Brick has named his team for the meeting with the Garden County and there are two changes in personnel, as Brandon Barrett and Jack Goulding return in place of Ronan Donovan and Liam Mullins.

Kerry (All-Ireland U21HC B final v Wicklow): Stephen Murphy; Stevie O'Sullivan, Daragh Shanahan, Billy Lyons; Eoin Ross, Jason Diggins, John Buckley; Barry O'Sullivan, Tomas O'Connor; Brandon Barrett, Michael O'Leary, Jordan Brick; Maurice O'Connor, Shane Conway, Jack Goulding.

Subs: Robert Silles, Adrian O'Mahony, Ronan Donovan, Liam Mullins, Robert Collins, Jack Lenihan, Daniel O'Carroll, Darragh Ryan, Joe Diggins.

Most Read Stories