Gerry Reilly Cup: Big weekend in prospect

July 07, 2017

A big weekend in the Gerry Reilly U-16 FT with 4 great games in prospect.

This evening Meath take on Louth. Louth will be all out to respond to their Minors making the Leinster Final on Sunday week, while Meath will be all out to keep a 100% record in the tournament.

Tomorrow (Saturday) Laois take on Longford. Laois were impressive with their win over Louth, while Longford will be all out to recover from their loss to Meath.

2 cracking games on Sunday see Westmeath take on Wicklow in the afternoon and Dublin playing Monaghan in the evening.
Both Monaghan and Dublin are unbeaten and this should be an enthralling contest

Gerry Reilly U-16 FT Round 2 Fixtures

Friday, 7 July
Gr.A: Louth v Meath @ 7.30 pm

Saturday, 8 July
Gr.A: Laois v Longford @ 2.00 pm

Sunday, 9 July
Gr.B: Westmeath v Wicklow @ 3.30 pm
GrB: Dublin v Monaghan @ 7.00 pm

ALL games in Millbrook and Oldcastle

Finals: W/e 29/30 July (Cup, Plate & Shield Finals)

The tournament to be run on a 'round robin' basis, each team plays each other in their group.  2 points for a win, 1 point for a draw 

Group positions based on score difference in the event of teams on same points

Top teams in each group qualify for the Gerry Reilly Cup Final

Second team in each group qualify for the Gerry Reilly Plate Final

Third team in each group qualify for the Gerry Reilly Shield Final

This tournament commemorates Gerry Reilly who died tragically in December '87 at 16 years of age, and he had already proved to be a great footballer with huge potential to go on to great heights in the game. 

Winners of the Gerry Reilly Cup to date:

Westmeath        1990, 1992, 1994, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2010, 2011

Meath               1989, 1991, 1995, 1996, 2002, 2003, 2007

Cavan               1997, 2004, 2006, 2014, 2015, 2016

Dublin               1993, 1998, 2008 (U-17 Blitz), 2012, 2013

Winners of the Gerry Reilly Plate to date:

Meath                2013, 2015, 2016

Wicklow             2014

Winners of the Gerry Reilly Shield to date:

Westmeath        2013

Meath                2014

Monaghan         2015

Louth                2016


Most Read Stories