U21 HC B round-up: Meath and Wicklow set up final fling

August 22, 2015

Meath's Fergal Flattery is under pressure from Mayo keeper Davog Freyne and Shane Geraghty during the All Ireland U21 B hurling championship semi final at Lomans Park Trim.

Meath and Wicklow will contest this year's All-Ireland U21 HC 'B' final in Semple Stadium on Saturday, September 12th.

The Royals hit Mayo for three goals in a 10 minute spell to book their place in the final with a 4-12 to 1-11 victory.

Played in Trim, the hosts trailed by 0-5 to 0-6 at the halfway stage but Philip O'Brien's charges seized the initiative thanks to green flags from Gavin McGowan, Fergal Flattery and Sean Doyle between the 32nd and 42nd minutes.

Sean Regan pulled a goal back for the Brian Finn managed Mayo but that proved to be as good as it got and their cause wasn't helped by the first-half dismissal of David Kenny who picked up two yellow cards.

A fourth Meath goal courtesy of team captain James Andrews rubbed salt into Mayo's wounds.

Wicklow, meanwhile, scored a 1-14 to 0-11 penultimate stage victory over Roscommon in Athleague.

The Garden County took a 0-7 to 0-4 lead into the break and netted the game's only goal after the break.

A red card shown to Chris Duignan in the 49th minute compounded the Rossies' woes.

In what is a big boost for the promotion of the small ball code in both the Royal County and the Garden County, the final will be televised live on TG4 in three weeks time.

Meath - C Bird; D Conneely, L Rickard, C McGrath; C O'Shea, S McGrath, E Ryan; L Martyn (0-1), S Kelly; G McGowan (1-3), J Regan (0-3f), P Potterton; J Wall, F Flattery (1-2), J Andrews (1-1). Subs: S Doyle (1-1) for J Wall, S Quigley (0-1) for P Potterton, L Swayne for L Martyn, C O'Rourke for C McGrath, C Sheerin for C O'Shea.

Mayo - D Freyne; A Henry, S Geraghty, C Murray; J Judge, C Finn, M Flannery; A O Suilleabhean (0-2), D Kenny; Z O'Toole, F Boland (0-4, 2f), J Gallagher (0-1); C Scahill (0-2), S Regan (1-2, 0-2f), S Nugent. Subs: D Muldoon for M Flannery, S Kenny for S Nugent, S Coughlan for J Judge, R Byrne for Z O'Toole, S Healy for J Gallagher.

Referee - C Cunning.


Wicklow - R Fitzgerald; S O'Callaghan, J Doyle, E Byrne; L Maloney, G Weir (0-7, 4f), A Kavanagh; D Masterson, J Byrne; D Henderson, A Byrne, P Doran (0-3); D Staunton, P Doyle (0-1), C O'Byrne (1-2). Subs: M Lennon for J Byrne, J Cranley (0-1) for A Kavanagh.

Roscommon - K Kellehan; K Crehan, L Kilcline, J Martin; B Fallon, C Dolan (0-4f), W Boyle (0-1); L Feehily, C Duignan (0-1); G Egan (0-1f), M Beirne (0-1), J Henry; G Downey (0-1), A Finnerty, C Kenny. Subs: D Keaveney for A Finnerty, D Glynn (0-2f) for J Henry, P Dolan for M Beirne, P Joyce for G Egan.

Referee - J Clarke.

Most Read Stories