Connacht club SFC: Corofin outlast holders

November 13, 2016

Corofin's Jason Leonard holds off Shane Irwin of Castlebar Mitchels.
©INPHO/James Crombie.

Corofin (Galway) 0-17
Castlebar Mitchels (Mayo) 0-14

(After extra-time)

Revenge was sweet for Corofin as they bettered Castlebar Mitchels after extra-time at Elvery's MacHale Park to set up a Connacht club SFC final showdown with St. Brigid's on November 27.

The Mayo champions famously unseated their Galway counterparts as provincial and All-Ireland champions in last year's Connacht final, but Corofin avenged that defeat as Castlebar's recent hectic schedule of games took its toll in the additional 20 minutes. The final in Carrick-on-Shannon will be a repeat of the 2011 decider which Brigid's won by a point.

With the wing behind them, Corofin led by 0-6 to 0-4 at half-time thanks to points from Kieran Molloy, Michael Farragher, Gary Sice, Ian Burke and Jason Leonard. Sice pushed them further in front within two minutes of the restart before the green and golds went 20 minutes without scoring.

Castlebar points from Cian Costello and Neil Douglas reduced the gap before two more points from the latter edged the holders in front. Galway hurling star Daithi Burke brought Corofin back onto level terms before Ronan Steede put them back in front.

However, a late point from sub David Stenson made it 0-11 each at the end of normal time.

Two Ian Burke points and another from Leonard had the fresher visitors 0-14 to 0-12 up at the end of the first period of extra-time. And Corofin made victory safe with further scores from Farragher, Michael Lundy and Sice in the second period. 

Corofin - B Power; C McGrath, K Fitzgerald, L Silke; K Molloy (0-1), C Silke, M Lundy (0-1); D Burke (0-1), R Steede (0-1); G Sice (0-3f), D Wall, C Cunningham; I Burke (0-4), M Farragher (0-2), J Leonard (0-4, 2f). Subs: Ciaran Brady for R Steede, Colin Brady for Ciaran Brady, B O'Donovan for Colin Brady, R Steede for D Wall, A Burke for C Cunningham, Colin Brady for B O'Donovan, G Higgins for C McGrath.

Castlebar Mitchels - R Byrne; G McDonagh, D Newcombe, R O'Malley; S Irwin, E O'Reilly, P Durcan (0-1); A Walsh, B Moran; C Costello (0-1), F Durcan, J Durcan; N Lydon, N Douglas (0-10, 8f, 1'45), S Hopkins. Subs: J Maughan for S Irwin, D Kirby for N Lydon, D Stenson (0-2) for F Durcan, D Joyce for J Durcan, C Kyne for S Hopkins, R Burke for E O'Reilly.

Referee - P Neilan.

Most Read Stories