Breakthrough made

November 30, 2007
For the first time in 48 years we have finally put our name in the hat with the big boys in Meath GAA. And what a year we had, as we claimed the Mattie McDonnell Cup and the Division 3A league all within six days of each other. In addition to this our Minor team reclaimed the minor championship for the second year in a row and off the field we are only weeks away from moving into our new complex in Killegland. Things are going from strength to strength for Donaghmore Ashbourne and our season's review is as follows: Adult Football When we take time to sit back and look at the season that has passed it would be fair to say that this year the jigsaw managed to fit together perfectly. This years success was not down to just one item but a number of factors all coming together at the right time. Our success in the Intermediate Championship this year has been the result of a number of years work starting off with the setting up of our Adult Football Committee back in late 2004. The new committee had put in place a business plan to move the club forward with a number of goals along the way. Stage 1 was to consolidate our Intermediate position and avoid previous years where we had to retain our status on the final day. Stage 2 was to win the Intermediate Championship and achieve Senior Football Status. So far so good. Under the guidance of Gerry and Adrian Flanagan the foundation was laid for the team in 2005 and 2006 seasons. Unfortunately when Gerry stepped down last year we had to find a suitable replacement to keep the plan on track. The selection committee met with a number of candidates but when a couple of people met with Andy McEntee we knew he was right man for the job. After a due diligence on both sides Andy agreed to become coach and the rest as they say is history. Our team started back training in January and from day one were focused on the goals ahead. With the Intermediate championship format changed by the County board this year we knew when the draw came out that being in a 5 team group there was little margin for error. The draw saw us in Group C with Carnaross, Cortown, St Ultan's and St Michael's and like any other year there were going to be no easy games. Our first outing of the championship in late April saw our lads make the journey to Pairc Tailteann where North Meath Side Carnaross provided the opposition. Although we only tailed by 0-05 to 0-04 at the break we lost out on a final score line of 1-11 to 0-10 and were very disappointed with the performance as much as the result itself. With one or two members within the club questioning our performance and ability the management used this as a motivational device for the remainder of the season. We knew from this point on that every game was a knock out game with another defeat ending our run. We had a 10 week gap and had to wait until early July for our second game and on this occasion we travelled to Walterstown to play St. Ultan's. In a hard, tough and indeed free littered game there was little free flowing football on show as both sides seemed to nullify each other and bring the game to a battle of attrition. However our lads showed great spirit to record our first victory with a narrow winning margin of 1-07 to 1-06. Our third game of the campaign came in late August when Walterstown was venue again and St. Michael's the opposition. Although we recorded a comprehensive victory over them in the league a week earlier we knew it would be much closer in the championship. As we expected the game was much closer but we did manage to record our second win with a 2-12 to 1-08 final score. With Qualification almost secured we entered our last group game with Cortown knowing that a victory could give us the top position in the group. This game was probably one of our best games in the championship and although the opposition had a chance to get a gaol in the first minute we were in control for the whole game after this scare. We led at the break by 2-03 to 0-02 and as Cortown dropped their heads we continued to dominate to run out 4-10 to 0-04 winners. Our quarter final opposition in Pairc Tailteann at the end of September were old rivals Drumconrath. Although we led comfortably at the break by 1-08 to 0-04 we allowed the opposition back into the game in the second half before we eventually running out winners on a score line of 1-12 to 1-06. A two week break allowed you lads to prepare for a semi final match against Andy McEntee's home team of Nobber. Although Andy was in a difficult position there was a job to be done as the lads prepared for a crucial game. Like the quarter final game our lads lead at the break by 0-07 to 0-05 and had 10 other scoring chances compared to one for Nobber. We also led by 1-09 to 0-06 after 41 minutes but with 10 minutes to go Nobber pulled us back to a single point (1-09 to 1-08) as we could see the finish line and nerves set in a little. However our lads showed great spirit with John Broderick pointing in the first minute of injury time and David finishing the game off with a goal a minute later to seal victory. With a final score line of 2-10 to 1-08 we had secured a place in the intermediate championship for the first time since 1959. And to the final. With the village decked out with Green and White there was great excitement in the Ashbourne area leading up to the game. The day of the final saw a huge support making their way to Navan to support the team on this historic day. With both the Intermediate and Senior finals in Paric Tailteann the Navan ground was buzzing. Our game was the curtain raiser but we had a job to do. We didn't get the best of starts in the game and although not playing too bad we found ourselves 1-04 to 0-01 behind after 14 minutes. The second quarter of the game saw our lads play some great football and had had drawn level with six unanswered points coming up to half time. In injury time an attempt by Eoin Reilly hit the post but David Morgan was quickest to react and coolly slotted the ball into the corner of the net to give us a three point lead. The reception the lads got from our supporters going into the dressing room was absolutely brilliant. Although the second half was well balanced we managed to hold out for our first victory since 1959. Ian Dowd accepted the Mattie Mc Donnell cup on behalf of the team, management and club and gave a great speech where he dedicated the victory to the existing players and to those players before him who tried without success. The home coming and party in Kelly's was something that will be talked about for many a year to come. In the Leinster Intermediate Championship we had a rolloercaster of a game in the first round as we led by 0-10 to 0-01 at half time against Dundalk Gaels but needed a Niall Farrell free 3 minutes into injury time to bring the game to extra time. We did manage to run out winners with a final score line of 1-21 to 2-10. In the quarter final we had an amazing 6-09 to 1-05 win over Wicklow side Stratford in Navan. Although we only led at the break by 1-05 to 1-02 we scored a number of goals in the second half as the opposition ran out of steam. At the time of going to print we are scheduled to play Offaly Champions Edenderry in the semi final. In the Junior B championship it would be fair to say that our inability to covert our possession into scores cost us a number of games in the group stage and ultimately a place in the play off stages. We started off the campaign with a comprehensive 2-15 to 0-06 victory over Na Fianna in Dunshaughlin. Our second game saw our lads travel to Walterstown where Cortown provided the opposition. Although we had plenty of chances we ended up on the wrong side of a 2-06 to 0-10 defeat. In our third game we travelled to Dunsany where we hit the crossbar twice from close range and had handful of wides only to share the points with Trim on a score line of 0-09 to 1-06. Our fourth game in July was originally fixed for Walterstown against Dunshaughlin but at the final hour was switched to Dungany due to an unplayable pitch. This late change of venue did affect our preparation for the match as we had to rush into the game. In addition we were also short a couple of players as the minor final was just days away so some of our regular players did not field. Like the game against Trim we had enough chances to get the victory but unfortunately we were on the wrong side of a 3-09 to 2-11 score line. Going into the final game in Skryne at the end of July, St. Paul's and ourselves needed the victory to have an outside chance of qualifying. Although it was one of our better games in the campaign the game finished level on a score line of 1-08 to 0-11 and as a result neither team qualified. For the first time in our history we entered a third team in the Junior D championship to give football for our ever increasing numbers. This team was a combination of younger players with number of older lads providing the experience. There was a great team spirit in the dressing room and this reflected on the field. As expected the quality of football was not always of top quality but no one could fault the team for commitment. Our first outing saw our lads travel to Dunshaughlin where we shared the spoils with neighbours Ratoath with a score line of 0-08 to 0-08. Our second game saw us travel to Curraha where St. Vincent's of Ardcath were the opposition. We showed great spirit to grid out a 2-13 to 0-11 victory. When we travelled to Ardcath to play Drumree in the middle of June the weather was more like a night in January with torrential rain and thunder and lighting in the distance. On the field there were also a number of flashes as Timmy O'Regan managed a hat trick of goals en route to a 3-06 to 1-07 victory. We travelled twice to Ardcath to play Kilbride and failed to meet the opposition. The first occasion was a result in a communication error in that the game was called off and on the second occasion we were awarded a walkover as they had insufficient players to field a team. Our final game of the group stages saw us make the short trip to Curraha to play Dunsany. Although we trailed at the break by 0-06 to 0-05 Alan Kavanagh came off the bench in the second half and transformed the game with some great passing. We eventually ran out 2-09 to 0-10 winners. Unfortunately we lost out at the quarter final stage on a score line of 1-13 to 1-08 to the hands of Clann na nGael of Athboy. This was a game we could have won if lady luck was on our side. Going into the final stages of the game we were two points up when a strike by Thomas Cotter hit the upright and came back out. Instead of being five points down the opposition went back up the field and found the back of the net to go a point up. The added a couple of late scores to end our championship dreams. On the league front our first team managed to capture the Division 3A league title with a 1-07 to 0-08 victory over St Ultans's six days after the championship final. The team started the campaign with a 1-12 to 1-03 home victory over Na Fianna in early February with a 3-09 to 1-10 away victory over Gael Colmcille a week later. We continued the good run with another hard earned 1-08 to 1-07 away victory over Longwood in March. Our only defeat in the league came in April when we lost out to St. Ultan's by a single point on a score line of 2-10 to 0-15. We got back on track in June when another hard earned victory was obtained way to Nobber. This time the final score was 1-06 to 0-08. With walkovers awarded by Ballivor and Ballinabrackey we were looking good for a place in Division 2. Our game against St Michael's in the Wotton was probably our best in the league to date as we ran out comfortable winners on a score line of 2-14 to 0-04 in early August. Promotion was confirmed in late August when we beat Slane by 0-19 to 1-06. St Mary's also failed to turn up giving us another walkover. With championship games taking centre stage our final did not take place until the end of October. Suffering for the early week celebrations our lads showed great character against St. Ultan's to hold out for a winning margin of 1-07 to 0-08.Eoin Reilly game a great performance on the night. So for the second time in six days Ian Dowd collected a second piece of silverware on behalf of the team. Our send team have also managed to gain promotion form their league and look forward to Division 2B football next season. As we go to print they are still awaiting a date for their league final. We started their season off with a 4-05 to 0-15 away win to Ballinabrackey in March. Having to wait until May for the second game we had an impressive 2-16 to 0-09 win over Na Fianna. In June we travelled to St Ultan's after the Bank Holiday to share the spoils on a score line of 0-11 to 1-08.Our only defeat of the year came at the hand of neighbours when we were on the wrong side of a 0-12 to 0-09 score line in a game we should have won. Unfortunately from a player's point of view we did not have any more football in this competition as were we awarded six walkovers. Hopefully next season in the higher grade we will have more games. Our third team ended up in mid table position following a mixed bag of results throughout the year. We lost narrowly to Longwood by 1-09 to 1-08 in the opening game but recorded our first win over Carnaross when we ended up with a 2-14 to 0-10 winning margin. A good 3-03 to 1-04 away result to neighbours Ratoath was our final victory on the field. We suffered defeats at the hands of Clann na nGael and Walterstown away while Kilbride got the better of us at home. The other teams in the league gave us walkovers but again its games that our players need. At under 21 level our first team made their exit from the competition at the hands of Simonstown Gaels. Our second team have recorded a comprehensive 6-07 to 0-4 victory over Moylagh and had to go to extra time to see off Moynalvey in the quarter final. Hurling Our Adult hurling season could be compared with a sandwich in which Gaeil Colmcille was the bread on both sides of a tasty filling. We travelled away to the Kells side in the fist league game of the season in February and suffered a 3-09 to 0-02 point defeat. However we managed to regroup and had a great season with some fine performances until we met them again in the Championship semi final where they ended our interested in the competition. In the league we got our first win of the season with a 0-10 to 0-04 victory over Kilmessan and this was followed up with a well deserved away win in Longwood when we recorded a good 2-07 to 1-08 victory. Our best league performance was a 2-18 to 0-09 victory over Wolfe Tones and left us in a good position for qualification going into the final game with Boardsmill. Unfortunately things didn't go our way and a narrow defeat t ended our interest in the competition. In the Intermediate championship we had a very impressive run in the group stages and recorded seven wins out of seven. Our first game saw our lads defeat Dunderry on a score line of 1-14 to 3-03 and in the second game we managed to reverse our first league game defeat with a 2-08 to 2-06 victory over Gael Colmcille. The lads continued their good run of form with a 2-12 to 0-07 victory over Wolfe Tones and a 3-10 to 3-07 over Longwood. A 1-12 to 0-07 over Kilskyre ensured a semi final spot with one game remaining. Our final game saw our lads have an impressive 3-15 to 0-04 victory over a weakened Clann na nGael team from Athboy and we looked as favourites to lift the Intermediate title at this point. However this result was a costly one for the team as County player Colm O Mealoid sustained what was initially thought to be a minor injury to his hand but when the injury did not seem to be improving it was later discovered to be a fractured bone. When the team entered the semi final game Colm was still out through injury. Our opponents in the semi final were Gaeil Colmcille and with both sides recording victories against each other it was expected that there would be little between the teams. We did have the advantage of having won all the group stages but the loss of Colm O Mealoid was going to be a factor. Unfortunately we had one of those nights that every player, manager and supporter fears. With a final spot at stake our lads lost out to Gael Colmcille on a final score of 1- 09 to 0-06. It was a game that was disappointing on a number of fronts. While the disappointment of not making the final (and possibly moving up a grade to senior) is one thing the fact that the lads did not play anywhere near their full potential was more disappointing. In summary it was just one of those nights when nothing went our way. The fact that we only scored two points from play over the entire 66 minutes of play tells its own story. A penalty miss and eight wides didn't help the cause either nor did it help when our first touch deserted us on the night. The full back line to their credit did play well but in too many other areas we came out second best. Taking the positives from the game we kept working to the very end but our luck never changed. With over 15 subs hopefully the lads can regroup and go one step further next year. At junior level the team recorded their first win of the competition when the recorded a 1-03 to 1-02 win over Drumree in Dunsany and were awarded a walk over against Wolfe Tones. Unfortunately defeats at the hands of Kildalkey and Boardmillsended our hopes of qualification to the knock out stages. Congratulations go to Colm O'Mealoid who represented the club on the Meath Senior team in the Christy Ring Cup this year. Colm came on as a sub against Westmeath and then started at midfield against Mayo where he produced a great performance. As a result of his performances with Meath Colm was also selected on the Ireland Under 21 Shinty team but did not travel due to injury. At the time of going to print our Under 21 team have obtained two walkovers in the competition to date with Dunderry and St Martin's failing to field teams. At juvenile hurling we continue to field teams at all age levels with the exception of Minor levels where were are suffering from the new age rule. Our under 8 team continue to train every Friday night and have competed in a number of blitzes in Meath and Louth. Our under 11 team which is made up of mainly 9 and 10 year olds managed to qualify for the semi final of the C championship where they lost out to Wolfe Tones. Our Donaghmore Ashbourne Under 10s were the only team to bring a hurling trophy to the club this year. At the Annual Ground Hurling tournament hosted by St Martins in Drumree we went through our 3 matches unbeaten and without conceding a score. In the 4 team tournament we started with a 2 goals to no score win over Ratoath with goals from Peader Farrell and Patrick Roche. Next up were Curraha and after a titanic struggle we won on a score line on 1 point to no score, a free pointed by Shane Rea. And so it was off to the final match against the hosts St. Martins and we emerged on the right side of a 3 goals to no score result with goals from Luke Andrews, Kenny Crowley and Patrick Roche. We then made our way to the hall for the presentation and goodie bags for the children and tea or coffee and cakes and biscuits for the adults. The shield was then presented to Donaghmore Ashbourne captain Luke Andrews and medals for all the players. This was our first time winning this trophy having finished runners-up in 2004 and considering 11 of the panel are underage again next year we look forward to going back to defend our title. We also fielded teams in the under 12, 13 and 14 age groups with the Under 12 team, competing in the A championship. Like our under 11 team we competed well considering that a number of the players have a year or two more at this age group. Well done to Sam Benville and Mmartin Quinn who represented the club on the Meath under 13 team. In addition congratulations go to Harry Randle and Ken Mc Kenna who are selectors on this team. Our under 16 team game some fine performances and competed well in their competition but were very unlucky to lose out in a number of very close games. The highlight of their year was their performance against Rathmoylon where David Carey gave a wonderful display of hurling skills scoring 1-10 from midfield. Juvenile Football At juvenile level the club had another terrific year as we recorded many victories on the pitch with the Minor team retaining the Championship title as the highlight of the year. However just as important for the future of the club is the huge numbers of young people from our Acorns (under-5) to Minors who train and play football each week and compete at all age levels. After making the break through in 2006 to lift the Delaney Cup for the first time since 1977 Donaghmore Ashbourne were keen to retain the Minor Championship trophy this year. Having 9 of last year's panel eligible for this years competition and being unbeaten in the group stages of the competition they entered the final as favourites. With Colm Menton in charge, the team were not allowed to take St Cianan's for granted and preparation for the final was second to none. It was a great team performance by Donaghmore Ashbourne with David Morgan and John Broderick outstanding. Fionnáin Mulvihill, Andrew Tormey and Ciaran Ellis also made notable contributions but credit goes to all those in the squad. Unlike the 2006 final when we snatched victory in injury time this year we had a very comfortable winning margin as we ran out 1-13 to 1-05 winners. Captain Eric Callaghan accepted the Delaney Cup on behalf of the team, mentors and club. The final team included D. Marcello, J.P. Casserly, F Mulvihill, S. Curran; I O'Donnell, D. Morgan, C. Ellis; E. Callaghan, A. Tormey, F. Smith, J. Broderick, S. Dervan; B. Snowe, S. Kavanagh, G. Kennedy.Subs Used: C Field for Kennedy, R Hanway for Snowe, B. Menton for Kavanagh.Subs: E. Caffery, S. Robinson, C. Maguire, S. O'Sullivan, D. Mc Shane, D. O'Sullivan, D. Lawlor, I. Kavanagh. The Management team included Colm Menton, Gerry Delaney and Aidan McCarthy with Eithne Tormey always in support in the background Congratulations to David Morgan, Stephen Dervan, Eric Callaghan, and John Broderick who represented the club on the Meath Minor panel Although on played in early March this year our Under 17 team completed a clean sweep of titles when they added the Under-17 League title to the Under-16 and Minor Championships already won in 2006. This victory underlined the underage strength of the club and augers very well for the future. The victory came at the expense of old rivals St.Peter's of Dunboyne on a final scoreline of 3-09 to 2-07 when the final was played in Dunsany. The fact that Donaghmore- Ashbourne turned a six-point deficit into a winning margin of five points, speaks volumes for the strength of character and spirit of the team. From goalkeeper to corner forward, this was a superb team display by Donaghmore Ashbourne. Furthermore the quality of the players who didn't make it onto the pitch is an indication of just how strong this Donaghmore Ashbourne team was.Using this is as a foundation it was a great starting point for the Minor Championship we retained later in the year. The team in the final included Darren Marcello; Daryl Lawlor, Sean Curran, J.P Casserley; Ciaran Ellis, Iarlaith O'Donnell, Bryan Menton; David Morgan, Eric Callaghan(capt); Ross Hanway, Andrew Tormey, Stephen Dervan; Cian Maguire, John Broderick, Brian Snow. Subs: Gavin Kennedy, Fionán Ó Maoilmhichíl, Stephen Kavanagh, Eoin Caffrey, Ian Kavanagh, Shane O'Sullivan, Cathal Field, Daniel McShane, Faolán Smyth, Sean Robinson, Graham Nugent Our Under 16 team competed in Division 1 of the league with Ratoath, Skryne, O'Mahony's, Simonstown Gaels, Na Fianna, St. Martin's and St Vincent's/Curraha. Although we competed well in the group we did not manage to qualify for the final to retain our title. Also congratulations to Bryan Menton, Gavin Kennedy and Steven Kavanagh on being part of the Meath team which won the prestigious Gerry Reilly U-16 Tournament - the first time Meath have won this tournament since 2003. At Under 14 level we managed to field two teams this year in the competition. The first team competed in Division 1 with Ratoath, Trim, Walterstown Simonstown, St Peter and Paul's and St. Martin's. Although we recorded victories over Trim and St Peter and Paul's and a draw with Simsonstown we lost out on a semi final spot when Simonstown got the better of our lads in a playoff game. In the championship we met Simonstown for the third time this year and lost out by a single score. At Reserve level our lads competed well and but failed to make the final while in the reserve championship we overcame O'Mahony's in the first round but it was Simonstown who got the better of us at semi final stage after the first encounter ended up in a draw. Well done to Cormac Fagan, Gareth Derry, Niall Brady, Shane Melia and David Murtagh who represented the club at county level. Congratulations also to Brendan O Connor who was selector on the County Under 14 panel. They recorded success when they won the Tuft Cup in Louth earlier in the year. Our under 13 team played in Division 1 of the Feile competition and while they managed to qualify for the semi final they lost out to eventual winner St. Peter and Paul's of Dunboyne. Well done to Sam Benville, Conor Carton, Harry English and Ryan Thorpe who represented the club at the Meath School of Excellence. Like our under 14 squad our Under 12s managed to field two teams in the competition this year. The first team playing in Division 1 with O'Mahony's, Ratoath , Simonstown, St . Peter and Paul's St. Martin's and Trim managed to go through the group stages unbeaten and ended up with a semi final spot with St. Martin's Our lads mangled a comprehensive 0-16 to 1-06 victory to book a place in the final. The County final was held in Seneschalstown on in what was one of the hottest days of the year with O'Mahony's providing the opposition. Our lads started the better team and were leading 0-5 to 0-4 at half time. The loss of full back Cian O'Rourke to injury just before half timewas a bad blow to the Donaghmore sidebut they kept plugging away and only two points separated the sides at the finish. Final score was Donaghmore Ashbourne 2-7, O'Mahonys 1-12. The same team also qualified for the fair play league final and again were unfortunate to lose out in the final. The under 12 reserve team also qualified for the final of their competition and like the first team they were unlucky to lose out to Trim in the final. Our Under 9 team competed in the Joey Mooney Shield which was hosted by Erin's Isle our lads went to fly the Meath flag playing against a number of Dublin teams. The competition was run as a 12 a side competition and our lads performed brilliantly with every player giving 100%. We managed to win all 5 games to capture the title. Well done to all involved In addition to the teams mentioned above we have teams training and working very hard at all age groups from our Acorns right up to Minor level. To cater for the younger age groups our Super Summer league which is run over a number of weeks in May and June is the highlight of the year. These leagues have been ongoing for over ten years in varied forms and cater for over 200 children aged 4 to 10. The leagues provide an opportunity for children to become involved in football and also raise the profile of the club in the area. The event culminates in grand final day and this year the rain held off long enough for the children who came to the Wotton to enjoy a morning of activities. The day opened with a gala parade of all the children who then watched an exhibition of hurling by some of the younger club members. Each team played a final game and took part in some skills and fun activities before the medal presentation. As well as receiving their medals and refreshments the children were delighted to be each presented with a hurly. The presentations were made by our local club celebrities - Eoin Reilly (Meath Minor), Aonghus Mulvihill (Meath Hurler), Caitríona O'Shaughnessy (Meath Minors and Ladies) and Alan Kavanagh (You're a Star). Many thanks are due to the mentors who gave of their time over the five weeks of the leagues, to the young referees, to the children for their enthusiasm and to the parents for their support. Ladies Football Our Adult Ladies team have competed well in all their competitions this year and although their championship campaign they are still in with a shout of the league and Feis Cup as these competitions are still to be completed. Playing in Division 1 of the league they opened their account on St. Patrick's Day with a win over Boardsmill and this was followed with another victory over Simonstown before the break up for the championship. When they played Enfield side Na Fianna both sides shared the spoils but with games still to go they did are still on track for a Semi final spot. In the Feis Cup the girls started with two good victories over Wolfe Tones and Dunsany and like the league campaign they are looking good for a quarter final spot with Na Fianna the probable opposition. In only their second season in the senior championship, they once again qualified for the knock-out stages of the competition. In doing so they also ensured the retention of their senior status for 2008. In what was an exceptionally tough group, qualification rested on securing victory against a Boardsmill side that was also in contention for a play-off place. With no neutral ground available the Senior team had to make the trip to Boardsmill for this winner takes all encounter. But the quality of football and the strength of character of this young team meant that they were more than capable of nullifying Boardsmills home advantage. In what was a very robust encounter the team dug deep to win by the narrowest of margins on a score line of 0-13 to 1-9. The margin perhaps should have been greater as two goals were disallowed for Donaghmore Ashbourne during the course of the match. However, at the end of the day the victory was all the sweeter for that. Unfortunately their journey came to an end as they met a good St Ultan's team in the Quarter final. However the experience this young team is getting will be helpful as they hope to go further next year. Well done to the senior management team of Tom O'Shaughnessy, Geraldine Moran, Martin Mannering and Ray Lawton for their hard work throughout the championship campaign. Although Tom O Shaughnessy stepped down from his position after the championship, Tom in his committed manner to the team was not going to leave the girls on their own and found a suitable replacement in Mark Power. Mark has been involved in Ladies under teams for a couple of years and has a vast knowledge of Gaelic Games. Word from the camp is that he is an excellent replacement so we all look forward to the remainder of this season and 2008 with confidence. At Minor level its difficult to give a review of the 2007 season the competition only started in late October following the 2006 final only being played a week or so earlier. Donaghmore Ashbourne were drawn in a group with Oldcastle, Ratoath, Royal Gaels, Seneschalstown and Dunboyne. With only one game fixed to date we made the long journey to North Meath and the opposite end of the County where Oldcastle were the hosts. As expected it was going to be a tough game but our girls gave everything they had and emerged victorious with a final score line of Donaghmore Ashbourne 4-10 to Oldcastle's 3-05. This was a fantastic victory for our girls as it was Oldcastle's fist home defeat at nay underage level for over two years. This victory together with more hard work the team are confident that they can regain the title they lost out on last year an make it a Minor Double for the boys and girls for 2007. At Under 16 level Donaghmore Ashbourne were drawn in a group with Oldcastle, Ratoath, Royal Gaels and Dunboyne. With this year's panel of 20 players a spilt down the middle of under 16s and girls eligible for next years under 16 competition we knew our physical size maybe a factor. However what our girls lacked in physical presence they certainly made up for in hard work and commitment. Our first outing saw the team lose narrowly to a very strong Oldcastle team. Although they were disappointed at the opening day result they recorded two comprehensive victories over Dunboyne and Royal Gaels but lost out on a narrow score line to neighbours Ratoath in the last game. Good Luck to Ray Lawton and his selectors. With the two victories enough to ensure a semi final spot we were drawn to play Oldcastle again and like the first round game they were too strong and qualified for the final which they eventually won to claim the county title. Congratulations go to Aoife O Rourke and Hayley Lawton who represented the club on the Meath Under 16 team. Well done to ray Lawton and his selectors with their work on this team. At Under 14 level Donaghmore Ashbourne c

Most Read Stories