Qualifier Ticket prices #Greedy GAA

So if I make the round trip from fermanagh to Wexford costing me €50 in fuel alone I'll have to pay €20 for my ticket and whats worse, kids will NOT be free. I know the GAA have been doing a lot to shed the GRAB ALL ASSOCIATION image but its a hard sell when you look at qualifier ticket prices. If we were lucky enought to make it to the last 8 again that alot of miles and alot of money for tickets. Come on GAA do the decent thing for qualifier ticket prices. I want to get to as many matches with the kids as possible but it feels like a GAA shake down

AnBuachaillGlas (Fermanagh) - Posts: 287 - 20/06/2016 12:33:54    1869527

http://hoganstand.com/Forum/MessagePage.aspx?PageNumber=1&TopicID=94327

hello buachaill -i did post on this previously - in fairness the gaa generally get it right with prices (was comparing to rugby) and very much so when it comes to kids e.g. i paid €10 for me and 2 kids for limk v clare NHL. €15 for lot of us for under 21s final. -great value,

However for qualifier i feel €10 for adults and let kids go free. Also think €30 is steep for adults for Provincial championship

I was however told by another poster --To be perfectly honest your posts on this matter are very self entitled and whinging. All kids will be charged into any schools game

separately wexford is a nice spot - if you are doing an overnight take a trip to hook head lighthouse, going to go to belfast for our game v antrim - enjoy the trip

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 20/06/2016 13:04:23    1869566

Ah jaysus lads ye're very slow to spend!

As the old Cavan saying goes; "Live a little!" ;)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 20/06/2016 13:32:33    1869596

Replying To AnBuachaillGlas:  "So if I make the round trip from fermanagh to Wexford costing me €50 in fuel alone I'll have to pay €20 for my ticket and whats worse, kids will NOT be free. I know the GAA have been doing a lot to shed the GRAB ALL ASSOCIATION image but its a hard sell when you look at qualifier ticket prices. If we were lucky enought to make it to the last 8 again that alot of miles and alot of money for tickets. Come on GAA do the decent thing for qualifier ticket prices. I want to get to as many matches with the kids as possible but it feels like a GAA shake down"
How many kids are you bringing with you?

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 20/06/2016 13:52:13    1869615

Replying To CroiGorm:  "How many kids are you bringing with you?"
just 5 of me kids are going, the rest have to stay home to milk the cattle

AnBuachaillGlas (Fermanagh) - Posts: 287 - 20/06/2016 14:03:24    1869630

Replying To janesboro:  "http://hoganstand.com/Forum/MessagePage.aspx?PageNumber=1&TopicID=94327

hello buachaill -i did post on this previously - in fairness the gaa generally get it right with prices (was comparing to rugby) and very much so when it comes to kids e.g. i paid €10 for me and 2 kids for limk v clare NHL. €15 for lot of us for under 21s final. -great value,

However for qualifier i feel €10 for adults and let kids go free. Also think €30 is steep for adults for Provincial championship

I was however told by another poster --To be perfectly honest your posts on this matter are very self entitled and whinging. All kids will be charged into any schools game

separately wexford is a nice spot - if you are doing an overnight take a trip to hook head lighthouse, going to go to belfast for our game v antrim - enjoy the trip"
overnight ? Im trying to save money

AnBuachaillGlas (Fermanagh) - Posts: 287 - 20/06/2016 14:03:55    1869631

overnight ? Im trying to save money
AnBuachaillGlas (Fermanagh) - Posts:166 - 20/06/2016 14:03:55

cant ye sleep in the car!!!! just kidding, seriously kids 16 and under should be free-need to encourage people to bring their kids and get them interested in the game

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 20/06/2016 14:09:46    1869639

Replying To AnBuachaillGlas:  "just 5 of me kids are going, the rest have to stay home to milk the cattle"
Genuine question which I had planned on following up on once you answered but no time for smartarse answers.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 20/06/2016 14:11:59    1869640

Hope the hashtag takes off, get yourself trending on hoganstand.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 20/06/2016 14:14:47    1869644

Can we compare these prices to the Pro12 and the LOI??? Then we may get some perspective.

This Grab All rubbish annoys me when you start to make a comparison to other sports, and the money gets ploughed straight back into the game.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 20/06/2016 14:17:32    1869653

witnof - last season munster pro 12 game was €20 for terrace and €7 for kids terrace, champions cup terrace last season was €30- for next season a season ticket holder can bring 2 kids in free to all home pro 12 games bar leinster, to be fair the GAA generally get it right with the prices, in limerick senior club rugby AIL is usually €10 , club championship hurling is €8 (sometime with double header), kids always free,
I usually take in the 2 games (e.g. yesterday saw both senior and inter games) so good value to be fair -few other price examples on the thread i referred to above

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 20/06/2016 14:56:17    1869695

20E doesn't sound all that expensive to me really and 50E sounds like quite a conservative estimate for fuel. Ask yourself, in terms of the distance you're travelling, what other sort of day out could you get for that?

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 20/06/2016 15:06:37    1869701

Another reason why a 6 day turnaround is harsh.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 20/06/2016 15:18:07    1869710

Replying To witnof:  "Can we compare these prices to the Pro12 and the LOI??? Then we may get some perspective.

This Grab All rubbish annoys me when you start to make a comparison to other sports, and the money gets ploughed straight back into the game."
Straight back in to the game in Dublin.

Just messing by the way before this becomes another one of those threads.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4225 - 20/06/2016 15:35:10    1869722

Offaly v London on Saturday @€20. I will stick to Eastenders for a view of London instead.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 20/06/2016 16:19:16    1869765

Will bring the kids to the Qualifier in Newry on Saturday. Once I scan season ticket, have never had to pay for the kids

Burnsey (Down) - Posts: 561 - 20/06/2016 17:23:21    1869807

€20 for a Hill 16 ticket for next Sunday's double header Leinster semi-finals in Croke Park is some value as opposed to €20 for a qualifier game.

Wouldn't it be better to add €5 to the Hill 16 prices and reduce the qualifier prices by the same ?

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 20/06/2016 17:45:34    1869821

For an amateur sport where the players are not
paid the GAA is very obsessed with money. Like
it doesnt need the half of what it coins in. But it
run more like a business than a sport these days
so fans are not of concern. It will never change so
not worth worrying about.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1617 - 20/06/2016 18:14:44    1869834

Replying To Burnsey:  "Will bring the kids to the Qualifier in Newry on Saturday. Once I scan season ticket, have never had to pay for the kids"
You will this weekend. I had to in Portlaoise.

These southern boys must get too well paid if they reckon €20 is good value to watch Armagh v Laois! Charging for kids is wrong IMO.

Armaghball (Armagh) - Posts: 96 - 20/06/2016 18:48:21    1869849

LOI tickets tend to be €15 for regular league games. Maybe €10 for early round Cup games against lower league teams.

Bohs are €15 for adults, €10 for students/OAPs and €5 for kids.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 20/06/2016 21:44:28    1869933