Championship so far!

Champchip so far very disappointing .I taught Tryone Derry would b close hard game.derry was very poor and lack leaders all over d field.I didn't watch hurling from all reports very poor to.I think gaa have a lot answer for.we might not see a good game to Allireland semifinal!

geardlines (Monaghan) - Posts: 139 - 23/05/2016 14:12:37    1857742

It will kick in on June 12th with Louth taking on Meath.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 23/05/2016 14:22:48    1857746

Replying To OLLIE:  "It will kick in on June 12th with Louth taking on Meath."
It will "kick off" you mean OLLIE (:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/05/2016 14:32:40    1857757

Replying To cuederocket:  "It will "kick off" you mean OLLIE (:"
Cued bring it on. I am looking forward to it.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 23/05/2016 16:20:40    1857824

Yeah well silly season is here alright

Same old crap every year :)

Going to get a lot worse...

I'm finding the winter months on HS are a lot more productive these days

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/05/2016 16:39:35    1857844

Been poor so far. Still early days though. Munster Hurling and Ulster football will throw up a few good games.

Connacht could have 2 good games and Munster final will still be Cork v Kerry.

Leinster hurling final could be good.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 23/05/2016 16:48:28    1857850

Of course it has been bad so far...but it usually is. Will only heat up in July/August. When there was no back door the edge and excitment was there in nearly every game but not anymore. That said I don't think anyone want's a return to loose one game and you are out scenario.
Every team should be playing a min of four games in the summer.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 23/05/2016 17:26:07    1857871

Hasn't even begun, when did you ever see a classic in the first couple of rounds? A rarity for sure!

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 23/05/2016 18:18:19    1857886

Sit back and relax its still only shadow boxing...the championship wont start until the August bank Holiday.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 23/05/2016 18:22:14    1857891

Poor? We've had three free flowing, high scoring games in Leinster so far .
Roscommon were given the fright of their lives by New York. Tyrone showed their teeth yesterday . There is plenty to look forward to . There are none so blind as those who don't wish to see. As usual the negative moaners are out in force.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 23/05/2016 19:24:47    1857915

Replying To KerryKillers:  "Hasn't even begun, when did you ever see a classic in the first couple of rounds? A rarity for sure!"
I seem to remember Dublin v Meath in 1991 was decent (:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/05/2016 19:39:15    1857925

Replying To Greengrass:  "Poor? We've had three free flowing, high scoring games in Leinster so far .
Roscommon were given the fright of their lives by New York. Tyrone showed their teeth yesterday . There is plenty to look forward to . There are none so blind as those who don't wish to see. As usual the negative moaners are out in force."
The championship is total crap until August. I am a negative moaner. Fine.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 23/05/2016 21:54:35    1857979

Replying To bennybunny:  "The championship is total crap until August. I am a negative moaner. Fine."
Agreed. No-one is eliminated until late July. Who cares about the provincials ?

meath67 (Meath) - Posts: 71 - 24/05/2016 08:13:16    1857984

Ah sure tis grand. Wait until the dubs give out their first pasting of the year next Saturday, Jaysus there will be uproar.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/05/2016 08:52:06    1857991

Replying To bennybunny:  "The championship is total crap until August. I am a negative moaner. Fine."
No it's not . If you don't like what you see benny then don't bother with it . Leave the rest if us to enjoy the matches .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 24/05/2016 12:13:19    1858072

Replying To meath67:  "Agreed. No-one is eliminated until late July. Who cares about the provincials ?"
Silly comment . By late July the last twelve is decided . The provincials matter because to most counties it's their only chance of success. Ask the people of Monaghan what they mean.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 24/05/2016 12:23:10    1858081

Replying To cuederocket:  "I seem to remember Dublin v Meath in 1991 was decent (:"
Very thought crossed my mind as I was posting, hence I said it was a rarity :)

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 24/05/2016 13:12:12    1858099

Replying To Greengrass:  "No it's not . If you don't like what you see benny then don't bother with it . Leave the rest if us to enjoy the matches ."
But the Championship is crap till August. Predictable drumming's on a weekly basis. If its not a drumming then your looking at 2 teams with not a hope in hell of winning anything - like Westmeath and Offaly in a couple of weeks, although that might be a drumming!. If this was the secondary competition in the GAA calendar then fine (like the FA CUp in England) but this is the competition which teams train like professionals to compete in and you might only get a couple of matches.

The only reason is gets good in August is because teams of a similar level meet.

There's only one or max two good games on every weekend. The league is far more interesting. Good games every weekend. Its a feast of competitive matches - even division 3 football was great this year and I had great interest in it till the final kick. Now its the Championship I have no interest as my County have no chance of winning Leinster. If I was the manager I'd tell all the young lads to head to the states for the summer and enjoy themselves and come back next year fresh and we give the league a right good go.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 24/05/2016 14:29:39    1858139

there was a time not so very long ago when no one seen first round games or quarter finals or semi-finals in the provinces. you seen your own county play and that was it. all these live televised games are a rather new phenonomen. even the "highlights" can be a chore to watch unless your own county is involved. maybe there is too much live football on telly.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 24/05/2016 14:54:46    1858146

Replying To s goldrick:  "there was a time not so very long ago when no one seen first round games or quarter finals or semi-finals in the provinces. you seen your own county play and that was it. all these live televised games are a rather new phenonomen. even the "highlights" can be a chore to watch unless your own county is involved. maybe there is too much live football on telly."
s goldrick - What TV is doing to the Championship is the same as me getting up on stage to sing a song. I cant sing so it would expose that. Now that there's more coverage of the Championship on TV everyone can see just how bad it really is.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 24/05/2016 17:13:07    1858203