Holmes & Connelly Resign

Well I suppose it was inevitable but the lads have resigned.http://www.mayogaa.com/news/366628/Statement_Re_Mayo_Senior_Football_Team They had little choice really after last night meeting.

Who will take on the job next then?

How about A Stephen Rochford 1 & James Horan 2 partnership?

Might work...

At least this hasn't dragged on hopefully we can move on now & get things back on track in Mayo.

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 02/10/2015 21:10:34    1795325

Hadn't commented on this topic on any other threads as don't know the in's and outs of what was going on but have to say fair play to the two guys, seem to have acted in a very dignified manner and in the best interests of Mayo football. Good servants as players, can't of been easy for them but best thing to do all round at this stage.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 02/10/2015 21:54:00    1795343

Fair dues to the lads stepping down without dragging it out don't know the reasons behind the mutiny but surely this has added more pressure than needed for next year on the team

mrsme (USA) - Posts: 172 - 02/10/2015 22:02:41    1795346

Well, I suppose they had to resign

But ultimately the players and management have to share the burden of failure together

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 03/10/2015 08:04:36    1795347

Have not commented on this previously as firstly it is an internal issue and secondly I am more conerned about us rather than with them. Now that their mgt were forced to walk and this phase is concluded the pressure on their players to justify their actions will be immense and their cycle of development is not on their side. I have heard some comments from a few of their fans ranging from galacticos to resource deficits etc so it will indeed be interesting to see if there is any further fall out. The timing though is on their side as if this happened early year the year would be written off. I just hope it wakes some of our officials up to put better resourcing in place to ensure our talented u21s from 2011 and 2013 get the best to compete with those counties wo have invested huge resources into conditioning and player welfare. It is becoming more and more of a resource game so you are not at the races by going a traditional route.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 03/10/2015 08:57:05    1795352

This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

centerfield
Mayo

02/10/2015
21:23

Mayo Management Resigned

http://www.mayogaa.com/news/366628/Statement_Re_Mayo_Senior_Football_Team

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 03/10/2015 09:03:45    1795353

This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is the same it has been incorporated here.

riverboys
Mayo

02/10/2015
21:35

mayo next manager

Noel Connelly and Pat Holmes have resigned and according to RTE News there are 2 names in the running for the job James Horan and Stephen Rochford. I for 1 don't agree with James Horan in the mix, he brought Mayo as far as he could over 4 years but was short in tactics in the major games over those 4 years, both Donegal in 2012 and Dublin in 2013 were beatable but he hadn't the know how to beat them on those 2 days, in 2014 v Kerry Mayo had them on the ropes in both games but again lacked the final push, he had his time and now it's up to somebody else to complete the job, maybe further down the road in a few years time James Horan could return but at the moment No. Rochford won an All Ireland club title as a player and last year as a manager he may be the best bet, what about former Dublin player Paul Curran, he is currently at club level in Roscommon, not too many names standing out

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 03/10/2015 09:05:31    1795355

It certainly is going to be interesting to see who comes in as new manager.
Unless its someone top drawer I think this will only deteriorate further.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 03/10/2015 09:17:37    1795356

The best of luck to Noel and Pat. They stepped down with a lot of dignity and class. I'm not convinced yet that we're in a better place now without them at the helm.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 03/10/2015 10:11:49    1795369

We'll give McStay and McHale back to Mayo after we win the All-Ireland with them.Holmes and Connelly departed with dignity and can hold their heads high.I doubt this episode will help Mayo next year.They who wield the dagger never wear the crown.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 03/10/2015 11:06:11    1795381

Looking forward to "Rock on Rochford" by Mike Denver hitting the Mid-Wesht airwaves in August 2016 before the rest of us are forced to hear it in September...

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 03/10/2015 11:06:14    1795382

From reading various reports and comments it would appear there was trouble brewing as far back as the league. What a pity it couldn't haven't been dealt with then rather than let it fester. Where was the communication! I guess this is the best outcome under the circumstances but I just cannot see Mayo do any better with this panel of players in the future.

westisthebest (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 03/10/2015 11:27:52    1795390

Anyone know why exactly the players were aggrieved?

To be honest, I thought Mayo's managers were tactically naive against the Dubs the second time out, 4 points up in the second half, do a Donegal on it and shut up shop.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 03/10/2015 11:35:28    1795394

Well that's that for Noel and Pat. I know one of them personally and I know how much they love the GAA and Mayo so this was a difficult decision and week for them and their families. But as heave's go this one was rather dignified if you compare if to Cork/Limerick ones of the past. There is no right way to do it. The question is now who in next in line? I have to admit our players have put themselves under enormous pressure next season. I know they are dedicated and honest and want nothing more than to win an All Ireland. It is a game of inches. I hope for their sake and the sanity of an entire county it works out.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 03/10/2015 12:18:14    1795411

Did they have objective issues about tactics, training etc? Or was it personal spite? Nobody knows. Could they not have aired their issues behind the scenes? It's one thing publicly getting rid of managers, but did the players offer any alternative? This will be a distraction, it'll take some time to get resolved and only an eejit would take on the role now.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 03/10/2015 14:57:53    1795454

Players should be ashamed of themselves.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 03/10/2015 15:09:26    1795460

Pressure is now on the Mayo players shoulders, if they fail to perform well their actions will be seen as a disaster, if they win Sam next year it will be seen as a great move but remember McStay was favourite to get job last year and some players didn't want his 1 of his selectors so Connelly and Holmes got the job now they want to remove these 2, it seems players don't know what they want. Time will tell

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 03/10/2015 15:22:20    1795463

Essmac - I could not agree with you that it is only an idiot that would take on the role of manager of the Mayo team. This is a dream position for any football manager. A team that has come so close to winning the All-Ireland over the last four years, probably the second best team in the country in each of those four years. This team is very dedicated and talented and have an enormous desire to win an All-Ireland. The new manager will be managing a panel of players that has experience, dedication, talent and motivation. So this new manager needs to bring them the extra couple of steps, perhaps introduce a couple of new players, change tactics and Mayo could have All-Ireland glory next year. Mayo have to be favourites to reach next years All-Ireland final, as they most likely will avoid playing either Dublin or Kerry until the final. I would contend that the position of managing Mayo is a dream position, as he will live in the memory of so many, should he manage them to the promised land of winning that elusive All-Ireland.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 03/10/2015 17:01:22    1795483

waynoI

Players should be ashamed of themselves.

Not really.

If they feel the managers are not up to it they have every right to air their grievances.No point in the players wasting their time with managers they don't feel are good enough.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 03/10/2015 17:20:24    1795488

These Mayo players better win the all Ireland now that the cause of this years failure are gone, hey!

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 05/10/2015 09:29:55    1795801