Diarmuid Connolly - A fine example

I just seen that Connolly lined out for St Vincent hurlers 6 days after the All Ireland win. Must be a great club man.
I do respect him, a formidable opponent and I would love if we had him in our team or the likes. He gets targetted but its because teams know there is a better chance of getting a reaction than pulling the likes of Bernard down. He plays hard and stands up for himself. He plays on the line, like McMenamin, McMahon, Bellew even Keegan. They play hard and gain whatever advantage they can. I think any club or county in Ireland would welcome Connolly with open arms.
They aren't so much into the handbags of Paddy McGrath of Donegal or Ronan McNammee of Tyrone, if you push them they will react.

Elvisahaha (Mayo) - Posts: 36 - 28/09/2015 16:14:24    1793208

Moral of the story. Isn't Diarmuid Connolly great- not being a Nordie and all that.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 28/09/2015 18:20:30    1793280

Serious hurler

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 28/09/2015 19:28:08    1793293

Great footballer on the field, one of the best over the past 4 or 5 years and a true GAA club Dub in hurling for his club as well.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 28/09/2015 20:45:12    1793327

Yep great hurler and footballer, has no interest in media or interviews, just wants to train and play for his club and county.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 28/09/2015 21:17:38    1793339

Fair play to him, very dedicated to his team. I see a few of his teammates didn't line out, even though the matches had been postponed months to accommodate them. Not the players fault, btw, mixture of clubs pulling a fast one and inept rules

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 28/09/2015 21:25:11    1793343

Typical cringing Mayo post "We are not worthy, please score another goal/point against us Diarmuid and have another All Ireland". Embarrassing.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 28/09/2015 21:47:33    1793356

28/09/2015 21:47:33
Ulsterman

Typical cringing Mayo post "We are not worthy, please score another goal/point against us Diarmuid and have another All Ireland". Embarrassing.

Ulsterman would it be embarrasing if it was posted by someone from Kerry Tyrone , why oh why can you not get where someone is from out off your radar , dont answer I think we all know .
Personally any lad from any county playing for club six days later in not chosen code its fair dues , Im not a Vincents man far from it , but theyve obviously instilled good club ethic .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 29/09/2015 08:13:13    1793362

A fine hurler.

Could have really made it if he hadn't gotten distracted.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 29/09/2015 08:39:28    1793368

Totally agree Ulsterman.I see Mayo players have no confidence in their management.What a shower of losers!
By the way I was at that Dublin hurling semi and Connolly made very little impression on the game.Proof again that you just can't expect to perform in hurling unless you are hurling regularly

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 29/09/2015 08:49:12    1793372

Alot of players would be back on senior club duty over the weekend.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 29/09/2015 09:31:49    1793390

Interesting take on it Ulsterman.
I have to say I agree with you. I mean bowing down to another county than your own with every single post is pretty pathetic...

Re Connolly, there are literally 100s of players ahead of him in the pecking order who I would offer to a youngster as a good example...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/09/2015 10:25:21    1793414

waynoI

1793390 Alot of players would be back on senior club duty over the weekend.

Nope there was no football played it was a hurling weekend , hence he lined out for his club in not chosen code , again fair dues could have expected to take a breather but he didn't , he put club first regardless of how he played .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 29/09/2015 11:06:18    1793454

whats the big deal his club were playing he should be playing for them a non story.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 705 - 29/09/2015 11:27:03    1793476

A fine example when he punched a man on the ground also!! Gearoid Hegarty and David Dempsey both played football with their clubs on the Wednesday night after winning the all Ireland u21 hurling with Limerick - its not that uncommon to be fair..

McFan88 (Limerick) - Posts: 447 - 29/09/2015 12:25:14    1793537

Fair play to him.
He was out with the club footballers for their league game on the Thursday evening as well, didn't play due to the hurling but was on the bench and involved in pre-match and half time talks.

Yes he can react to being provoked, but I know very few who haven't.

Super footballer and excellent hurler. Delighted he is a Dub.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 29/09/2015 14:02:10    1793641

Is the other Connolly in Vincents related to diarmuid (Thomas)

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 29/09/2015 15:34:53    1793734

Is the other Connolly in Vincents related to diarmuid (Thomas)

Yes, Thomas is around 23/24 and a very good hurler.
Keith is there as well, he is a couple of years older than Dermo.

GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 29/09/2015 15:58:39    1793755

A fine example alright, but if I tell the truth about what he is a fine example of, it wouldn't have a hope of being posted. lol

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 29/09/2015 16:18:17    1793775

I have to say bryanadams
Your constant anti-dub whinging over the last few months are an embarrassment to our county

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 29/09/2015 16:41:20    1793800