GAA - Video Game

Just want to get peoples thoughts on the prospect of a new GAA computer game?

Given the fact that it will be on next gen consoles do people look forward to it or do some reckon it will be a bad idea?

Reading articles:

[url=]http://www.siliconrepublic.com/digital-life/item/37409-gaa-to-make-return-to/

[url=]https://www.sundayworld.com/top-stories/northern-ireland/gaa-playstation-game-in-the-works

dicey12 (Dublin) - Posts: 13 - 17/07/2014 12:31:13    1620567

Hope it's better than the last one!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 17/07/2014 12:52:36    1620581

Heard that Darren Hughes and Mattie Donnelly were doing a bit of motion capture work for it. It'll be interesting to see how it turns out.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 17/07/2014 13:03:06    1620592

Bring it on

royalpainter (Meath) - Posts: 874 - 17/07/2014 13:05:41    1620594

Oh, I see that was already mentioned in the links there! Carry on.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 17/07/2014 13:20:55    1620604

Wouldn't happen. There's not enough interest in the sport for a developer to spend the kind of money it takes to make an anyway high standard game. Simply wouldnt sell enough games to get the return from the investmemt. Can still dream though, would be brilliant to have a proper one unlike the last one that was released.

RadleyParkLily (Kildare) - Posts: 36 - 17/07/2014 13:29:03    1620610

It will be better than the last one. The fact that gaming has come so far since the release of the last one i expect this to be a very good game. MIght be a few issues with the first releases but if they can make it successful and release annual or 2 yearly games with improvements each time it could be huge in 10 years

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 17/07/2014 13:29:36    1620611

Fair play to McCann for trying this. Not sure how it'll go for him but I admire him for taking a risk. I'm not a gamer but have FIFA 14 and a few other sports apps on my tablet. I also a have a terrible hurling freetakers game! If he had an Android app version I'd check the trial version then buy it if it was any use.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7324 - 17/07/2014 13:47:32    1620621

Yeah the other one was garbage = 0/10

Probably one of the worst sports games that I've played

The only way is up from that rubbish

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 17/07/2014 13:52:53    1620625

agreed,

the last one was terrible.
the technology is there to provide graphics and gameplay similar to the Madden games. There's even a few decent Aussie Rules games i think.

Player names, even if fictional, is a must also.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5009 - 17/07/2014 14:03:44    1620634

I dont think getting players names is that important just yet, given the fact it will be developed on the next gen consoles i reckon it will be built better and it should be more fluid to play than the previous games. If they can get the basics to work to a high degree and then start getting the realistic features i.e. player names and

dicey12 (Dublin) - Posts: 13 - 23/07/2014 16:13:49    1624864

I don't think getting players names is that important just yet, given the fact it will be developed on the next gen consoles i reckon it will be built better and it should be more fluid to play than the previous games. If they can get the basics to work to a high degree and then start getting the realistic features i.e. player names and likeliness in further game releases. I think it will have the same affect that the FIFA franchise has with soccer. After playing the game you want to go outside and play it for real. I think this will encourage young people to get more involved in the sport.

dicey12 (Dublin) - Posts: 13 - 23/07/2014 16:14:00    1624865

If the rights to this game are given to a company that actually looks to make a bit of a project out of it instead of just doing it as a once off thing it could be very good.

The technology involved has come on a long way since the last game was made, motion capture, facial design etc. and the talent and skill is definitely in the country to make it work.

Whether or not it's financially viable is another matter though. The likes of EA would have the resources to make the game as realistic as possible, but they probably wouldn't put as much time or effort into it as they would their other sports games as there's very little room for profit due to the small market.

In contrast to that there's plenty of top quality independent games design companies in Ireland who would probably love to be able to take on a project as big as this. The problem though would be how much money they'd be able to put into it and what sort of resources they'd have available to actually make it, the chap behind it said himself that he approached Konami before about using their software which would have been a massive help.

There was another Irish company that brought out a hurling management game a few years ago, Bainisteoir I think it was called, no idea what it was like but it obviously didn't hit the same heights that the likes of Championship Manager did.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 24/07/2014 12:21:54    1625235

Remember the last one, and I quote, "And there goes the half-time whistle. The players make their way to their dressing room for a lovely cup of tea and a banana."

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 24/07/2014 12:42:44    1625258

To be honest,if they are doing it,they have to do correctly... That includes player names etc etc.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 24/07/2014 13:11:58    1625276

Let's forget all previous attempts and at least try the new one before giving some constructive criticism. This thread is a bit like the doom and gloom merchants panning the Sky Sports GAA coverage which, while it ain't perfect, is a lot better than many predicted.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7324 - 24/07/2014 13:16:52    1625282

The last one was like something youd see on nintendo 95, woeful it was./

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 24/07/2014 13:46:28    1625310

24/07/2014 12:42:44
Brolly
County: Monaghan

Remember the last one, and I quote, "And there goes the half-time whistle. The players make their way to tyir dressing room for a lovely cup of tea and a banana."

Yep exact

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/07/2014 14:10:56    1625334

Lads I thought considering it was a first attempt and the size of the budget the last one was great. . .

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2623 - 24/07/2014 15:38:53    1625416

"handpass to no one in particular"

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1550 - 24/07/2014 15:56:56    1625426