GAA players on Twitter.

Not sure if this topic has been brought up before, I couldn't find it if there was.

I am a huge fan of Twitter myself. There are quite a few GAA players using it, some more high-profile than others.
What are peoples opinions on Twitter? More specifically opinions on GAA players using it?

Hurling1Guru1 (Galway) - Posts: 244 - 21/05/2012 21:41:28    1177710

21/05/2012 21:41:28
Hurling1Guru1

1177710 Not sure if this topic has been brought up before, I couldn't find it if there was.

I am a huge fan of Twitter myself. There are quite a few GAA players using it, some more high-profile than others.
What are peoples opinions on Twitter? More specifically opinions on GAA players using it?

I use it myself and find its great for either the speed that news can be spread(which can also be a downside) and how it allows stars interact with supporters. Dont see any real problems with any GAA players use it

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 21/05/2012 21:55:04    1177728

Like all other 'social media' it depends on what they are saying. Some high profile sportspeople are very interesting in what they tweet. Others sound like the imbeciles they are - Rooney being a prime example.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 22/05/2012 08:09:35    1177742

This may be of interest to you.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/50-essential-gaa-tweeters-194504.html

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 22/05/2012 12:12:33    1177932

I personally don't like it, all very well if the lads using it are shrewd, but a lot of them are young and immature and can spout out the wrong stuff now and then!

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 22/05/2012 13:44:53    1178050

Not a fan. I think its quite a dangerous tool In fact. Likes of hoganstand, gaa boards, Kildare gaa fans forum, resdubs etc are ok because the offer the user anonymity but Twitter is a paper trail straight back to the user. 99 percent of Twitter users won't compromise themselves in any way but I can just see those one or two individuals who will hang themselves Joey Barton style.....and live to regret it!

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 22/05/2012 14:06:10    1178079

Twits

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 22/05/2012 15:18:21    1178134

There's quite a large number using it.

Did a bit of research and found this: https://twitter.com/?list_id=gaa-players#!/ballsdotie/gaa-players/members

Hurling1Guru1 (Galway) - Posts: 244 - 22/05/2012 18:26:52    1178333

Would,nt be to keen on it. But it is helpfull on keeping up to date all things regarding sport...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 22/05/2012 19:01:43    1178361

it does more harm than good these players having twitter sometimes.
http://hoganstand.com/Tyrone/MessagePage.aspx?PageNumber=1&TopicID=70322 This thread caused a lot of problems, where supporters starting "trawling" through some of the tyrone under 21 players accounts and then blamed some players for the defeat based on the drinking plans the players were gona do after the final, even though the team didnt touch a drink since the new year.

tyronelegend (Tyrone) - Posts: 270 - 23/05/2012 11:52:11    1178685

I see James Stafford and Colm Parkinson having a bit of a spat on twitter there....this is what i mean by twitter been a dangerous medium!!!

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 28/05/2012 16:24:03    1182083

Actually In fairness, im not entirely sure if that is James Stafford as i suspect its someone whos set it a twitter account pretending to be him which is pretty pathetic. Now if that turns out to be the case which i suspect it is (apologies actual James Stafford), and Parkinson has retweeted it, it shows how desperate Parkinson is for any limelight. His days on the box will are numbered.

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 28/05/2012 17:13:33    1182121

He made a right FOOL of himself last night when he was talking about scoring points or goals..whelan and davis just looked at him and laughed! great when des said how many goals did you actually score colm? he will no more be asked back!! :D

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 28/05/2012 17:32:57    1182147

22/05/2012 14:06:10
Kildare30

1178079 Not a fan. I think its quite a dangerous tool In fact. Likes of hoganstand, gaa boards, Kildare gaa fans forum, resdubs etc are ok because the offer the user anonymity but Twitter is a paper trail straight back to the user. 99 percent of Twitter users won't compromise themselves in any way but I can just see those one or two individuals who will hang themselves Joey Barton style.....and live to regret it!

Web forums like here, boards.ie, gaa boards, etc are ok as is twitter. Twitter is fine if used appropriately. I use it as do quite a few of my friends. We use it and theres plenty of banter, craic, light hearted abuse between myself and all my friends.
And these sites do and dont offer anonymity to users. I have never met or released my name on any site yet from whats been posted ive guessed correctly who some posters are and some have guessed who i am

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 28/05/2012 18:13:57    1182209

The wexford lads are good craic on it

meathlad93 (Meath) - Posts: 66 - 28/05/2012 19:22:16    1182257