John Mullane is taking indefinite break?

First Lar last night, now John Mullane. I wasn't a huge fan of John's initially over an incident in a match years ago but the lad grew on me. Always wore his heart on his sleeve. Was Waterford's best hurler in the final and added a bit of spice to Waterford. A great hurler who put his heart on his sleeve.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 07/02/2012 10:10:29    1107099

Dont worry Pudders, he'll be back. I absolutely love watching him play, always gives his all and never goes hiding no matter how the game is going. Also took his punishment when he was sent off a few years ago (probably costing Waterford their best chance at an All-Ireland victory), unlike all the other cry-babies and whingers who go running to CCCC to get suspensions overturned. Also speaks out on issues like ticket prices, he sees the issues on the ground which the clowns in the suits in Croke Park dont seem to see.
I hope it's not the last we see of him.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 07/02/2012 10:21:17    1107109

Have to say I don't like Mullane very much. Don't like the way he conducts himself on the pitch as in roaring his head off as he does, gets a bit too mouthy and bad tempered for my liking. Has hurt his team with a couple of needless red cards over the years

Nonetheless, there's no questioning what a fantastic hurler he is. I'm as guilty as anyone of writing him off or 'he's past it' these past couple of years but he kept coming back and putting in terrific performances and hitting magival scores, leaving plenty of egg on the faces of naysayers like me. I hope he comes back & proves me wrong once again

If he doesn't though, this must be considered a serious blow for Waterford for 2012 prospects

gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 07/02/2012 10:59:32    1107141

Like Pudders, I wasn't the biggest fan at first. But I think he really learned to discipline himself. Sometimes we write a fella off as a 'hot head.' We almost excuse all of his bad behaviour thereafter. But Mullane is living proof that hotheads can learn discipline - and become even greater hurlers when they do. If I was managing any one of the other well known hot heads, I'd be pointing to Mullane as an example of how a guy can cop on to himself. And I'd be telling them that I expect them to prove themselves as big a man as Mullane is.

I also rmember how he stayed on the pitch after Kilkenny walloped them in 08. I don't blame the other Waterford guys for leaving - but Mullane still stood out as a man that day. He was actually the only Waterford player who tried to make a game of it too. So on both fronts, he can always hold his head high.

John Mullane made me change my mind about him. He's one of only a handful who've done that. So it's safe to say, that for the rest of my life, I'll always remember John Mullane as one of the greatest.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 07/02/2012 13:23:38    1107251

Agree with Culchie, I didn't have a lot of time for him until the 2008 final but he showed the kind of man he is when he stayed on the field and applauded Kilkenny's success. Couldn't of been easy especially when all his other team mates had made a run for the showers. He'll be back no doubt, Waterford won't be half the threat without him.

Footballforever (UK) - Posts: 92 - 07/02/2012 14:07:10    1107281

Colourful character & a brilliant player. Really hope we haven't seen the last of him. 'Twould be a real pity if he never gets to win an All-Ireland with club or county.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4105 - 07/02/2012 14:28:08    1107305

Was on Radio1 sport at 7 2nite he said he hopes to be back before the championship alright.

Sounded very disillusioned with it though talking about the level of commitment involved nowadays ect.. he works for himself as a tradesman and has 2 small kids so cant be easy in the current environment. Didnt sound like him I hope the hunger isnt waining. Also interesting to hear when he said he wasnt one bit surprised to hear Lar retired given the commitment required nowadays

deisebhoy (Waterford) - Posts: 416 - 07/02/2012 20:35:47    1107585

30 is now the retirement age for inter-county hurlers, and even plenty of club hurlers. It cant be easy for the like of Mullane to keep going, as you say a tradesman has it hard enough at present. And to make it worse, you get a barrage of criticism when you dont play well or get beaten. It is a pity that the commitment levels have got to such a level that players can neither have a social life nor a holiday for about 10 months of the year.
I can see why these lads would have had enough.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 07/02/2012 20:53:00    1107596

He'll be back for the Munster Championship.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 07/02/2012 21:27:02    1107631

MesAmis

1107631 He'll be back for the Munster Championship

He's having a Kit Kat

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 07/02/2012 21:35:44    1107639

Hopefully we see him back. Going by reports and posts would it seem john has lost the drive and passion for playing now with the level of expectancy of the game so high...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 07/02/2012 21:39:07    1107643

ITS BEEN CONFIRMED HE IS ONLY TAKING 5-6 WEEKS LEAVE FOR PERSONAL REASONS

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 08/02/2012 09:55:13    1107688

This is shocking, loved watching both hurlers in full flight and hope Lar lights up the summer again with his classy play. John Mullane only taking break so thank god we'll get to see him in action again, the game needs guys like Lar and John..........

StJude (Roscommon) - Posts: 87 - 08/02/2012 16:59:19    1108013