Outside opinions of Limerick City

What are peoples opinions of Limerick City here?
Have you been? Did you enjoy it? Would you return?
Did u find it dangerous? Intimidating? Cold?
What are peoples opinions?

Mikeynora (Limerick) - Posts: 888 - 01/09/2010 13:33:59    762380

Too be honest I've never been. The city's reputation isn't the best and it has put me off to a certain extent.

caughtredhanded (Tyrone) - Posts: 602 - 01/09/2010 13:44:05    762394

I've been several times, for Connacht/Galway matches. Have stayed over most times and had good craic with the locals. Nothing dodgy about the city centre. Always had a good time there

abhainn (Galway) - Posts: 1000 - 01/09/2010 13:56:41    762423

i have been to limerick loads of times , in the city centre over sarsfields bridge it is a nice city , i think they are a few in the city making hard for the rest of the natives of limerick in general i believe the place to be safe , there is a large shopping mall on the quays which is good , they are very good restuarants and cafes pubs and shops of good quality of the side streets , i know limerick very well places like galbally , caherconlish little towns and villages along the way to the city , my wifes family are tipp , but they are very close to limerick itself , so all in all it is very unfair to the limerick people for the city to be protrayed in this fashion , i have never had a problem in limerick , people should see it for themselves .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 01/09/2010 14:06:25    762435

Have worked alot in Limerick city over the past few years, currently down here at the moment. Have never felt unsafe or intimidated in the city centre at all and have always enjoyed a good nights craic in Flannerys, Nancys and Clohessys. I think the people are very friendly indeed and maybe they put in more of an effort with outsiders because of the bad press the city receives. I would definitely recommend it to friends for a weekend away and have done.

irlande (Fermanagh) - Posts: 535 - 01/09/2010 14:10:00    762441

I am from armagh county and have worked in limerick for past 3 years working with some of the most vulnerable kids in the city (ie from all corners). i have found if ye treatthem with a bit of respect it is sound and they are respectful back. if ye p**s them off they will let ye know. unfortunately they dont have this at home in theirlocal areas whichj makes it difficult for them. limerick is a beautiful place and is not what tv programmes aim to make it look like..... there is a lot of regeneration and commmunity groups working to help improve it..... dont be fooled by biased media coverage... so endeth the lesson!!!!

Chester1970 (Armagh) - Posts: 509 - 01/09/2010 14:11:19    762443

Have been in Limerick several times for hurling matches and stayed over. Always found it a good city for the pubs and shopping.

MARNELL (Westmeath) - Posts: 728 - 01/09/2010 14:23:28    762466

I was there for the feile in 1995. had great craic. Drove trough it last year for a spin when I was working in Shannon

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 01/09/2010 14:35:54    762485

ta32

Where in Tipp if it's near Limerick? Newport or somewhere?

I live pretty near Limerick and go there quite often. Mostly I find Limerick people to be great, but there is something cold and souless about the city. It can be good on a night out but other times it's just dull and it can be rough as we all know. I think the city has huge potential. It has a great location on the Shannon, the people are great. It just needs investment in the city centre to vitalise the place and bring it up on par with Cork and Galway.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 01/09/2010 14:51:34    762498

roundball.
lisvernanne pretty near right beside the glenn of aherlow u know it ?

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 01/09/2010 14:58:11    762510

Limerick is a great spot to go out, I have never seen trouble their. The ladies are very friendly their and a good buzz all round. People that havent been should go their for a weekend. Well worth it.

rebeltrev (Cork) - Posts: 344 - 01/09/2010 15:02:42    762514

Time to give it a visit then, I'll put my preconceptions in the bin.

caughtredhanded (Tyrone) - Posts: 602 - 01/09/2010 15:12:17    762531

I've only been to Limerick on a few occasions but it always struck me as a nice town. A lot of bad press but as I come from an area that gets the same bad press I don't really take any notice of it.

Limerick has its problems I'm sure but then again all towns/cities do.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 01/09/2010 15:18:02    762537

Grey wet concrete

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 01/09/2010 15:22:14    762551

Only there for Dub hurling matches so didn't see much of it. Limerick people always friendly and anywhere we ever went for food or drink were grand. Sink estates in any city don't reflect the good parts.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 01/09/2010 15:30:25    762565

Limerick was one of the best place's id been to, the people i found very nice too. I was at a hurling match in tipp last year when we played limerick in the 1/4 finals and the the lads we met were great too. Id always go back to limerick orthurles if limerick were playing ;)

dizzydub (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 01/09/2010 15:37:53    762582

Stayed in the city and enjoyed it indeed .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 01/09/2010 15:49:22    762604

Stab City - thats the first thing that comes to mind when Limerick is mentioned, rightly or wrongly.
Limerick IT was one of my choices for 3rd level education.

I might take a trip down and experience it 1st hand rather than rely on 2nd hand stories.

bosch (Derry) - Posts: 873 - 01/09/2010 15:58:19    762620

No different to any other town/city in the country.
Every town has it's scumbag element, it just so happens that Limerick has a particularly vicious scumbag element.
There are parts of Limerick where you feel less safe than in others, just as is the case in any big town/city.
Don't go looking for agro and the odds are you won't find it (obviously unprovoked attacks can happen, but I've never seen anything to indicate Limerick is any owrse for anywhere else in this regard)

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 01/09/2010 15:59:17    762621

ta32

762510 roundball.
lisvernanne pretty near right beside the glenn of aherlow u know it ?

I know that general area alright although it's a good spin away from me, I'm about 20-25 mins out of Limerick in the other direction on the river Shannon.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 01/09/2010 18:17:47    762817