"The Clique"

how many of ye have come across this- lads/ladies not continuing on playing for their club after around, say, u16 or minor because they are fed up with the nepotism, favouritism, who ye know type thing? Living in Kildare now & involved in the local club & so many people i talk to say that is the reason they quit. "little johnny's dad is the manager so always gets his game, & he's *****" , "mary's mammy is on the commitee", "you don't get a look-in unless the family are involved in the place", "its all a clique". 1 or 2 lads i know well reckon they were far better than some on the senior team at the minute all throughout underage but this kind of thing put them off. (these people are not all from the 1 club or even county by the way) is it a legitimate reason? does it really happen? surely if they were that good it wouldnt matter who they knew? just wondering what other peoples experiences of this are

mac21 (Leitrim) - Posts: 677 - 07/10/2009 11:38:29    447337

It happens in all sports. Happened to myself ...a long ,long time ago. All i'll say is,and its easier said than done,stick with it and every players chance will come.Walking away is never the answer.

eastgael (Limerick) - Posts: 629 - 07/10/2009 11:52:43    447363

I think the truth is somwhere in the middle. Loads of underage teams are manged by a parent of a player and they are a combination of people who favour their child and those simply want to do their best for the club. Those who complain are not always genuine. It is an easy option to accuse somone if you are not up to scratch. I have experienced a number of young players coming to our club from Ireland with stories about nepotism on the team back home etc only to discover in reality they were spolied brats and nothing to write home about in terms of their ability or committment.
I enjoyed Philip kerr who managed last year's all Ireland feile winners , speech at the Croke Park coaching conference. He refreded to his son being captain of the team and that he was to take any penos or frees near the goal. He was joking of course (I think) . On the other side I have seen managers who have been influenced by their children in team selections. So it is out there...........and don't start me about comm...i.........ttees.

thistle_harps (UK) - Posts: 879 - 07/10/2009 11:59:11    447375

This happens in my club all the time. My brother is a fantastic hurler but since our club is who you know he has had to move to a Limerick club. He now starts every game & is the clubs top scorer in the grade he plays. I had a similar situation myself having to hurl for a neighbouring Limerick club & it has stopped me playing altogether & there are probably a good 7-8 years at top senior level left in me yet. I know of several lads in my club under-age who leave our club cos of the pull.Its the reason why my club never wins anything I suppose!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 07/10/2009 12:00:34    447378

I don't think nepotism is any more prevelant in GAA than any other local sport. Rugby in particular love to appoint a lot of presidents/chairmen and committees as much as the GAA where there is a perception at least that these tend to exert some influence on team selection. It's probably just a bit more evident due to the parochial nature of a lot of GAA clubs, i.e. where dropping one player has the potential to escalate to you losing 5 players when all his brothers/cousins walk off the panel and where the coach could be someone a relative of yours may have had a falling out with, etc. The growing trend of appointing outside managers at senior level has tended to help in this regard though.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 07/10/2009 12:04:03    447384

re wild pundit,if there's 7 or 8 good years left in you,then make the most of it.Because if you love the game you will always regret packing it in so young.Usually just about when your too old to get back into it. No what ifs,get back training with someone in the new year and have no regrets.Managers come and go,players who persist get their chances.

eastgael (Limerick) - Posts: 629 - 07/10/2009 12:16:44    447400

I have seen this happen so often in our local club. So many promising players have walked away because they werent getting enough of a look-in just coz they werent in with the "football clique". The GAA is rampant with this kind of nonsense. Your place on the team depends on what village you happen to be from and who you're friends with

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 07/10/2009 12:24:21    447415

definitely was a clique in my club we had a mix of "town" and "country" lads, saying this didn't stop us being successful, wasn't in teh clique so never got a fair chance I felt, best thing I ever did was tehn move to London, can definitely say far less cliquesh here, you are just happy to have players whoever they are.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 07/10/2009 12:30:43    447424

We had about 17 or 18 lads togging all season for u12. Last sat for the final we had 23 togged. And every parent thought their child deserved to play.Thankfully everyone got a game,there was no limit on substitutions and we had 23 happy children. Not easy though.

eastgael (Limerick) - Posts: 629 - 07/10/2009 12:34:15    447429

Thanks eastgael for the heads up.I have given it sum thought but I reckon I wont even get a look in come 2010!!!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 07/10/2009 13:21:57    447493

think i'll be taking eastgaels advice too! early 20's & regret giving up already

mac21 (Leitrim) - Posts: 677 - 07/10/2009 14:25:13    447580

I feel for you
I played for our team every year from 1997-2006 and by most peoples account I was the best and most talented player. I had a few injuries in 2007 and a bit of a loss of form and did'nt feature as much. We have had a new manager for the last 2 years and he has surrounded himself with a "clique" and I have'nt got a look in. the horrible thing is that I would probably get a game for almost any other team - many of the better but I don't want to play for anyone else. so I know how you feel.

madasbutter (Mayo) - Posts: 872 - 07/10/2009 14:45:13    447605

I play with a club in Westmeath and my Da is a selector with the team and i NEVER (well seldom) get a game, i'm no Bernard Brogan but i can play a bit! when i do be out home visiting sometimes, if im annoyed or just want an arguement i bring it up with him! He reckons that if i get playing in front of other lads people might think thats its favourtism on his part! i am getting screwed from the other side! Just to think, only for that i could have lead WH to Sam glory by now. I think i'll just stick to the more administrative end of things from now on!

EndaMN (Westmeath) - Posts: 187 - 07/10/2009 15:34:50    447643

Thats why I'm glad there is very few people on our ladies team. We call girls to play who havn't played in over a year if we are stuck. You are 75% always guarenteed to play with my club

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 07/10/2009 16:12:29    447688

madasbutter

447605 I feel for you
I played for our team every year from 1997-2006 and by most peoples account I was the best and most talented player. I had a few injuries in 2007 and a bit of a loss of form and did'nt feature as much. We have had a new manager for the last 2 years and he has surrounded himself with a "clique" and I have'nt got a look in. the horrible thing is that I would probably get a game for almost any other team - many of the better but I don't want to play for anyone else. so I know how you feel.

Get your hair cut, stop taking too much time on the ball and for god's sake there's nothing wrong with using your instep!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12118 - 07/10/2009 16:17:01    447699

Breffni39

Get your hair cut, stop taking too much time on the ball and for god's sake there's nothing wrong with using your instep!

Haha........well spotted

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 07/10/2009 16:36:12    447721

Most of these people probaly aren't good enough or are not commited to the club in the first place............get over it

Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 07/10/2009 16:53:09    447761

07/10/2009 16:53:09
Cranky360

447761 Most of these people probaly aren't good enough or are not commited to the club in the first place............get over it

Most peope do feel im good enough in fact the bank gave me an award once upon a time and Im happy to make the commitment

madasbutter (Mayo) - Posts: 872 - 07/10/2009 17:26:58    447819

madasbutter

447819 07/10/2009 16:53:09
Cranky360

447761 Most of these people probaly aren't good enough or are not commited to the club in the first place............get over it

Most peope do feel im good enough in fact the bank gave me an award once upon a time and Im happy to make the commitment

Then keep working at it Madasbutter, with commitment you will get there

Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 07/10/2009 21:17:09    448046

My club last year joint up with another at U21 level, I had some serious rows with a selector from the other club over his son. He felt his son was good enough to start, He wasn't, he had let himself go a bit as he was away in college. I think the sons father called me everything under the son, he had another couple of lads who were also in the same clique but didn't make the team. He's son thought I had something against him but it was never the case. One night after training I had the team watching video's of a previous game to show mistakes made, one of the players kept shouting everytime his son appeared on the screen "look at the beeched Whale". Don't think it's fair on players when it happens.

JFK (Wexford) - Posts: 590 - 08/10/2009 14:17:51    448632