Club finals thread

Cross v. Garrycastle is on TG4 from 4.45. My morning paper had the racing on at that time and I was disappointed but checked the website and the football is on - the schedules given to the papers were done up before the replay was scheduled, perhaps.

doiregael2 (Derry) - Posts: 337 - 31/03/2012 15:43:30    1140565

Just seen there now game is been televised tg4. All the best to both teams but would like to see garrycastle win it nothing against cross a great side...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 31/03/2012 16:07:37    1140579

Garrycastle were behaving well before the game I see... trying to soften up the wrong men.

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 31/03/2012 17:09:37    1140617

This was posted as a new thread but as the subject matter is similar it has been incorporated here.

Aindreas
Wexford

31/03/2012
17:35

refs

its so annoying is the ref in crossmaglen [ who doing fine job] playing dif. rules opposed to what we seen refs playing in the recent league which was a farse

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 31/03/2012 17:38:51    1140631

What are you on about aindreas?

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 31/03/2012 17:58:00    1140648

Good start to the second half from Garrycastle but Cross have done enough in the opening half hour to win the game. Oisin McConville outstanding also Hanratty surely has to get Man of the Match.

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 31/03/2012 18:04:56    1140653

The greatest club team of all time.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 31/03/2012 20:03:26    1140712

Congratulations to Crossmaglen Rangers on a great win !!
Hard luck Garrycastle, home you come again !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 31/03/2012 20:24:49    1140738

shouldn't sour what was a decent victory but the shouting of "up garrycastle" and "s**k my c**k" by garrycastle fans during the minutes silence for a dead Armagh gael was sickening and very disturbing. This also happened in Croke Park by the same fans. Another of garrycastles fans ran on to the field with his trousers down and bared all in front of men, women and children (this was at half time during the display of skills by young children), he was chased around the field and put back in the stand were he again came on to the field 5 minutes later, he was again caught and still not ejected from the ground. The other incident was a group of 13 to 14 year old garrycastle children bought a cross rangers hat in the shop behind the terrace at half time and proceeded to burn it. The GAA really needs to train stewards to deal properly with these incidents as they are harming the friendly family atmosphere that we all hold dear.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 31/03/2012 20:38:37    1140762

Aye Tom, it'll be interesting to see if it makes liveline next week!
Disgraceful behaviour

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 31/03/2012 20:44:04    1140773

Tom 1916

I was at the game today - great day for armagh 2 all-irelands in the one day,
I didn't here the comments during the minute' silence, but the incidents in the pre- match photograph and the end of the parade when Aaron Kernan was struck was dissappointing.
As regards the 'fool' who ran around the field twice and exposing himself was either on something or a 'fool' - he was an embarrasement to Garycastle and the gaa.
We can blame the voluntary stewards but the real one to blame are the guards for their failure to arrest someone who committed a criminal act....

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1671 - 31/03/2012 21:51:51    1140873

Congrats to Cross. Awesome club. They've single handedly taken club football to a whole new level in recent years. Will be the team to beat for a few more years.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 01/04/2012 10:13:43    1140911

Great day for us yesterday - the boys make us very proud with their commitment, performance and behaviour. Probably not fair to highlight only one or two but Aaron Kernan was immense and James morgan showed what a fine defender he is.

I posted regarding the behaviour of some of the Garrycastle fans after the first game and unfortunately as stated above there was more of this yesterday - surely the stewards should be preventing clowns like that fella getting anywhere near the ground let alone the pitch - they discredit the whole GAA with their antics.

crossranger (Armagh) - Posts: 96 - 01/04/2012 14:38:10    1141074

Great show from Cross, you never get a second chance at them. They played some top quality controlled football and, unlike the Armagh county side, got quick direct ball to their forwards. If Armagh had played like this and used McConville, McDonnell and Clarke better they would have more than one All Ireland. As for the on and off field antics of Garrycastle and some of their fans as they say up here.....take a redner you clampits; you were put in your box yesterday well and good and let's hope you stay there for a while. I look forward to the GAA and Southern media holding a feeding frenzy this week on Garrycastle's behaviour over the two games.......is that two moons in the sky? Once again well done Cross!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 01/04/2012 21:23:45    1141494

Guys i didnt get to see the match as i was playing myself. What were all the incidents you speak off, not heard anything about them

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 01/04/2012 21:53:31    1141547

Was at the Schools semi final yesterday at Newbridge watching MY Local collage holy trinity Cookstown Reach the final , missed the club final but welll done CROSS class act just like our own Collage Ulster Abú!.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 01/04/2012 21:57:55    1141559

frank,

I have read that there were some stuff that went on before and during the game from Garrycastle players while a few of their fans were at their antics in the stands while one in particular exposed himself on the pitch at half time in front of women and children; I hope to see the GAA now investigate!

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 01/04/2012 21:59:58    1141564

Lads you were lucky Cross supporters didnt indulge in the same antics or the free state meeja would have had a field day; well done Cross only one way to put an end to that nonsense and thats on the score-board.

bigtomsbreeks (Down) - Posts: 130 - 02/04/2012 10:20:21    1141614

I take it this is the first time there has been an Ulster double then?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 02/04/2012 10:45:54    1141634

Congrats to Cross - delighted they showed up Garycastle - Remember a dodgy free at the end gifted them that match. I think they were hoping for "their lucky" Wexford referee to be the man in the middle to win the ai.

roast (Kildare) - Posts: 143 - 02/04/2012 10:54:26    1141640