100+ things culchies love!

they call their ma mam or mum and i have often heard some of them call her "mother".they all say santa aswell where as a dub calls him santy.

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 24/03/2009 21:46:21    238678

finglas full ba

238678 they call their ma mam or mum and i have often heard some of them call her "mother".they all say santa aswell where as a dub calls him santy.

Jaze, your meeting a better class of Culchie. Mum, i ask ya??

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 24/03/2009 22:12:43    238711

Shushing up and giving you a wild stare when you and your mates walk into one of THEIR bars. Then a look of fear OR contempt when they hear your Northern accent. This applies south of Dundalk and Sligo only. "Jeez boy they're only in the place and they think they own it" is a favourite.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 24/03/2009 22:27:14    238735

great post bad monkey but some of the points only apply to certain areas i know up my way we don't say boy and like at the end of every sentence

DL (Donegal) - Posts: 210 - 25/03/2009 01:23:50    238892

Frightening the ulster boys when they come into the pub

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 25/03/2009 10:48:11    238991

238991 Frightening the ulster boys when they come into the pub

Wow. This will surely be a contender for "wittiest reposte of the year" in the 2009 Hoganstand Awards. I know you were so dissappointed you didn't feature in 2008.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 25/03/2009 11:03:21    239004

Maybe I'm putting this on the wrong thread but would another culchie love thing be to shout for the non-Dub in other sports?
I noticed in Mayo on Saturday that nearly every one of the locals was shouting for Cordoba instead of Dunne.
Was this just an anti-Dub or anti-Dunne thing or does Cordoba have a big fan base in Mayo??

holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 25/03/2009 11:56:22    239043

finglas full ba

238678 they call their ma mam or mum and i have often heard some of them call her "mother".they all say santa aswell where as a dub calls him santy.

Also, we don't finish most of our sentences with "in anyways" :)

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 25/03/2009 12:28:52    239073

holymoly

239043 Maybe I'm putting this on the wrong thread but would another culchie love thing be to shout for the non-Dub in other sports?
I noticed in Mayo on Saturday that nearly every one of the locals was shouting for Cordoba instead of Dunne.
Was this just an anti-Dub or anti-Dunne thing or does Cordoba have a big fan base in Mayo??

Not sure, I never understood the anti-Dunne thing myself. I mean every boxer should be cocky to a certain extent and he's a nice fighter and was a good pundit during the olympics imo. A lot people just begrudge everybody. I've a lot mates who hate Dunne, hate the rugby team, hate the soccer team, hate robbie keane etc. I just avoid them when watching sport cos they ruin the spectacle with constant negatives!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 25/03/2009 13:12:50    239112

Why thank you breffni. And there you are again, in my shadow, like danny devitto in twins... But you see, I shun all imaginary award ceremonies so I dont think i'l be up for it this year. But please, keep me informed on who arrived with who, and of course the best dressed etc etc. I know ye cavan boys will be trying to squeeze into ur communion outfits for it... If you read Ulstermans post you might get the joke but nevermind... Dont worry about getting skinned again, you are taking on the master after all...

On the topic of mayo lads supporting cordoba, id say its more anti dunne than anti dublin... Dont forget up to that fight he had been very average, scraping by ageing last minute replacements and alsorans, but he talked like he had done something... Hence the dislike... Hopefully he can now defend his belt against some well known opposition and prove the doubters wrong...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 25/03/2009 13:47:49    239152

bad.monkey
County: USA

237995 Here you go realgaa

Thanks bad monkey. I put a variation on our club gossip column, sheeps eye. www.tirconaill.org

It has a special Donegal slant to it. The county were tapping your foot off tyres was invented.

realgaa (UK) - Posts: 128 - 25/03/2009 13:52:54    239159

239152 Why thank you breffni. And there you are again, in my shadow, like danny devitto in twins... But you see, I shun all imaginary award ceremonies so I dont think i'l be up for it this year. But please, keep me informed on who arrived with who, and of course the best dressed etc etc. I know ye cavan boys will be trying to squeeze into ur communion outfits for it... If you read Ulstermans post you might get the joke but nevermind... Dont worry about getting skinned again, you are taking on the master after all...

I had read Ulstermans post actually, your reply was a typically juvenile response akin to "I know you are but what am i?" L.A.M.E.

Also self-praise is no praise, your posts are becoming more and more like snufs, ie referencing yourself and announcing yourself as winner of some argument.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 25/03/2009 14:21:40    239194

beatin leitrim sligo galway and mayo :D:D:D

DavyK (Roscommon) - Posts: 2 - 25/03/2009 14:39:42    239207

No breffni, it was a joke, in the spirit of the thread and all that... I think Ulstermans post was the only serious one up to that, then of course you came along, jumping on the bandwagon of an ulster poster for a change...

You have driven me to resorting to snufs line of posting, the only difference being I do it on light hearted threads...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 25/03/2009 15:04:37    239234

Breff,

Even when Im not on a thread you have to mention me!!.

You just cant leave me alone can you?

You cant get enough of me?

My mother better not end up on 'Six-One' News coming out of the Four Courts seeking 'Justice for Snuffy' after a wave of tip-offs from HS posters have the Guards from 'Crimecall' around to your house to investigate the dissappearance of Snufalufagus!!!

I still dont know if your a freak or a fan?!.......Stop stalking people!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 25/03/2009 15:29:14    239264

SNUFF. Thats the funniest post ive read in ages.LOL

stranded (UK) - Posts: 408 - 25/03/2009 16:10:09    239326

Got 50% which is about right for me. Im a country man from a very culchie part of the country but Im not a complete gombeen like so its fairly accurate!

spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 25/03/2009 16:29:29    239355

rather be a cultchie rather than a townie!! as they say the rural clubs put the most heart into there clubs and parish!!

dj27legend (Down) - Posts: 641 - 25/03/2009 17:59:44    239463

DL

238892 great post bad monkey but some of the points only apply to certain areas i know up my way we don't say boy and like at the end of every sentence

Very true.. got me the first time a played with a few donegal lads

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 25/03/2009 18:20:36    239490

holymoly

239043 Maybe I'm putting this on the wrong thread but would another culchie love thing be to shout for the non-Dub in other sports?

His mother is from manulla

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 25/03/2009 18:23:09    239491