Seanie Johnston sitting on the Kildare bench

The Seanie Johnston transfer is a bit like the mo Johnston transfer of 1989!
If you Kildare lads are looking for a moniker for him, Might I suggest 'Mo' ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 22/06/2012 19:21:20    1200139

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 22/06/2012 19:27:44    1200142

www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sport/football/scottish/the-day-mo-johnston-signed-for-rangers-14397035.html
Different code, same sort o thing!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 22/06/2012 19:35:07    1200146

The gate keeper thats boring...your just boring.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 22/06/2012 19:40:17    1200151

Excellent article in the Times by Darragh O' Se on the SJ issue.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2012/0627/1224318804363.html

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 28/06/2012 08:40:30    1203999

Some joke if he plays hurling for a few minutes on Saturday so he is eligible for Sunday!

Matthew (None) - Posts: 1005 - 28/06/2012 21:56:00    1204638

Rebel.Og

I don't think (in my opinion) it is a good article at all, it walks around the issue, which the article doesn't mention or attempt to explain at all. In fact it lumps this contentious transfer will all transfers - most of which are not contentious. If I read that article without knowing the issues involved I would have thought "poor lad wants to live and work in Cavan but play for Kildare" but I'd still ask the obvious question Why? why Kildare? Did he take a map out close his eyes and stick a pin in it and viola! Kildare? Or is there some other reason?
But that article has not addressed the core issue specific to this case, I have been involved in many transfers and none have been contentious - in my opinion if he explains why he wants to so badly to play for Kildare (as all applicants are required to do) and he can show he lives in Kildare at the time of his application - then there is no problem at all - end of. As for the stuff raised by O'Se about the sacrifices he is having to make etc etc I am not sure I'd be anxious to take out the violins for him - you make your own bed to lie in.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 29/06/2012 08:39:18    1204653

Arock fair play. In all the discussions you have summarised it to its core.
The joke of him playing hurling to qualify is a shame, as a meath man I say let him play on sunday without adding insult to injury. Don't bring the organisation down this line.
We all know what went on hear, and he is going to play for kildare no matter what, every loophole has been exploited to the max. But this is just going to far, let him play on sunday without bringing the farce of him playing hurling. Please.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/06/2012 11:05:52    1204745

It's official now. Seanie is starting for Coill Dubh in the hurling today. Updates live from Clane to follow.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 30/06/2012 14:17:47    1205447

Hurling? Hurling? LOL now its just embarressing.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 30/06/2012 18:12:35    1205678

Who needs father ted when you have the gaa! :-)))

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 30/06/2012 18:16:45    1205682

Really if this is the only way Kildare can win anything they are welcome to whatever they win. Whatever about the merits of the Kildare Senior Hurling Championship, for the competition to be degraded in such a manner as today is disgraceful.

I've great time for Kildare and their supporters but surely all genuine Kildare GAA people must be disgusted with this farce.

Stuckinthepast (Galway) - Posts: 472 - 30/06/2012 18:29:39    1205701

Proud to be a lilly

KingOfJacks (Kildare) - Posts: 361 - 30/06/2012 18:29:52    1205704

"He stayed on the pitch for just over a minute before being substituted wihout having touched the sliothar." - absolutely priceless only in the GAA would standing on a pitch for 60 seconds in a hurling match qualify you for an entirely different game.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 30/06/2012 18:47:06    1205729

He is eligible its done with now. Come on the lilywhites!!!

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 30/06/2012 18:51:34    1205735

Kildare have hit an all time low with this carryon
Kildare may well win tomorrow as far as i am concerned in the past i would have wish them all the best
against anyone bar meath, but this is just sickening carry on
SHAME SHAME SHAME
P.s
If Kildare do beat meath i hope dublin stuff them again, whatever you might say about the dubs you could never call them cheats

atta (Meath) - Posts: 698 - 30/06/2012 19:01:57    1205746

Keep it coming. Loving this.

Nobody likes us and we don't care.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 30/06/2012 19:07:03    1205756

Well done kildare talk about been the laughing stock of the country. There must be serious presure on ye if this is the lenghts you have to go. At least one thing has come out of this when the rest of the country was saying ye were not good enough to win anything ye clearly have had no faith in your own forwards when ye have bring in other counties forwards

Ger.say (Laois) - Posts: 130 - 30/06/2012 19:07:50    1205757

Sedico
If meath were at the same antics i would never bother with them again.
I am looking forward to a good game of football and naturally i hope meath shade it
but if we dont i will accept we are just not good enough and sure we will try again next year.

atta (Meath) - Posts: 698 - 30/06/2012 19:12:38    1205770

Everyone hates us. AND I LOVE IT

KingOfJacks (Kildare) - Posts: 361 - 30/06/2012 19:14:10    1205773