Seanie Johnston sitting on the Kildare bench

sedico
Thats a very childish remark about throwing the ball in the net, that happened on the field of play and right or wrong
the referee gave it. I hate silly slagging matches and all im saying is the whole affair would leave a bad taste in your mouth.
Add in the fact there are plenty of lads who would die for Kildare who will be over looked because of his arrival.
If Kildare go on to win the all Ireland this year there will be a cavan imposter sitting in the hotel drinkng champagne and
collecting a medal.

atta (Meath) - Posts: 698 - 13/06/2012 15:38:04    1193597

To be honest I think the whole transfer issue within the GAA is a total farce, with decisions being made at club and inter county level regarding players transfer applications being made by people that want to enforce an idea that is long outdated.

The idea that a player is assigned to one club and one club only is madness. This is based largely on the decision that the player was living in a certain area or that their parents wanted them to play with that club. If a player wants to move, let them! What would be the point in having someone being a member of a club that is not playing for you because they do not want to. The idea that you have to go up in front of a committee as if you are in a court room being judged irks me.

When you are not paying your fees in the local golf club you are not allowed out on the course to play and are not a member any more. When you do not pay your GAA club fee's you are reminded about it every time that you turn around in the dressing room with the posters on the wall saying that you are not insured to play and threatening that you will not be allowed to play, well that's grand you might think, I wont play and I want to move to another club anyway......oh no you don't!! Your not going anywhere! Ya have to stay here and pay your money; the club has this all ruling veto on who you want to play with. The whole thing would make you think that there was professional contract signed at some stage along the way.

I have friends that play at a local level in club rugby and have moved clubs once or twice and there is not so much as a blink of an eye at it. Go and play the game and enjoy it. How is it that the GAA can not let go of the past and these old ways without it having to be a massive fight.

There is no doubt that a lot of people are afraid that of the possibility of a professional system developing in the GAA and players going to another county for no other reason than the financial gain of it. This is not going to happen. The game is played in too small a demographic for it to be a reality. There is simply not enough money for it to happen.

I understand as well that people are afraid that there is going to be situation where players are just going to go to the stronger counties to chase success. I don't think this is a real concern either as the basic premise of playing for your county is going to be an over riding factor. There is still an immense pride in players all over the country in this and it's something that would self regulate the whole thing in my opinion.

Personally I don't think that I would be able to play with a county other than my own if I was to make the grade, although I have played with clubs in the states during the summer, which people never seem to have issue with.

But at the end of the day I don't that it is my right to tell a player where and with what club/county they can play with. Just let them play ball.

yabogginotya (Kildare) - Posts: 7 - 13/06/2012 15:43:59    1193603

The traditions of the gaa are based on loyalty to your own people and pride in the place you are from
yet some thick self centred people see that as a backward way of living. the Utopia of some posters on these
forums is a world where everything is about self interest and to hell with everyone else. I just wonder if hugh
mcgrillen was poached to play for meath or dublin tommorow how these modern thinking kildare followers would react then.

atta (Meath) - Posts: 698 - 13/06/2012 15:58:27    1193619

My god meath posters give it a rest and kildare will let the football to the talking you seemed more worried about SJ atta than you do about carlow...

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 13/06/2012 16:09:29    1193632

This is probably the most repetitive thread in the history of HS.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 13/06/2012 16:14:47    1193640

How about that young Meath footballer recently poached by Navan O'Mahonys from a junior club where he's played all his football. You can dress it up anyway you like as on an ethical level it aint in any way dissimilar to the Johnston transfer. Your s*** in Meath doesn't stink eh? Dream on righteous self proclaimed saviors of the GAA.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 13/06/2012 16:25:53    1193652

Look they kildare supporters are blinded by a hope of winning something. A manager in position for 5 years and still no provincial or all ire success. It was easy to see last year kildare were in desperate need of a quality forward. In johnston they have that. That's why by all accounts he was tapped up. Now though the entire media and gaa hq attention is on kildare. Not for the right reasons either. If this ends in failure then I can see it been they end for a couple of people.
There is plenty of questions around about who is ACTUALLY running kildare co board and there decisions. And if this back fires then there maybe some decent gael who will face that person head on.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/06/2012 16:29:58    1193656

royaldunne

That's why by all accounts he was tapped up.

Except by his own account of course, and that of the county board it would seem.

They're probably the two that matter most to Kildare people anyways.

Shock, horror, we may not win anything.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 13/06/2012 16:40:22    1193673

royaldunne

Look they kildare supporters are blinded by a hope of winning something. A manager in position for 5 years and still no provincial or all ire success. It was easy to see last year kildare were in desperate need of a quality forward. In johnston they have that. That's why by all accounts he was tapped up. Now though the entire media and gaa hq attention is on kildare. Not for the right reasons either. If this ends in failure then I can see it been they end for a couple of people.
There is plenty of questions around about who is ACTUALLY running kildare co board and there decisions. And if this back fires then there maybe some decent gael who will face that person head on.

Does Bobjaffa and Joeblogs have the same say.

All the questions and worries about the Kildare board are from outside the county, mostly from you, joe and bob.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 13/06/2012 16:41:33    1193676

Seanie Johnston will not be playing on Sunday nor will he play in the semi-final should we win nor will he play in the Leinster final should we get there either as things stand.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2987 - 13/06/2012 16:44:59    1193682

Yeah conleth that's it everybody who says anything on this is me under different names. Of course when I point out that you said I was these people later you will say you didn't again.
Onto the adults. Is he not eligible now? Or does he still have to play a senior champ game?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/06/2012 16:54:24    1193699

I am not here to defend the actions of navan o mahonys, i am from a small club
i know about big clubs poaching players its wrong on all levels

atta (Meath) - Posts: 698 - 13/06/2012 17:03:48    1193711

atta

I am not here to defend the actions of navan o mahonys, i am from a small club
i know about big clubs poaching players its wrong on all levels

Ye've a bee in your bonnet about Seanie when one of your own senior clubs takes a player from a junior club! This transfers actually worse as the junior club weren't prepared to allow the transfer. Ye've a fair ould neck.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 13/06/2012 17:15:50    1193725

How Kildare try and defend the sj transfer il never know. Do they really think if it was Meath or Dublin involved in this transfer that Kildare posters would be backing us? Ye right they would.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/06/2012 21:05:46    1193891

For a change, I agree with you clondalkin. ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 13/06/2012 21:33:27    1193909

Derfil1 that player you claim was 'poached' is pure drivel.The chaps father played football & hurling with O'Mahonys.The chap is living in Navan,went to school in Navan and more than likely socialises in Navan.He also looked for the transfer himself.Seanie Johnston has no links to the club in Kildare,no links to Kildare at all. So next time you try to link a club player in Meath to this SJ farce,try get some facts first.You gave out all week at Ciaran Whelan not have his facts right on the sunday game so follow suit like a good lad!

boots96 (Meath) - Posts: 95 - 13/06/2012 21:51:11    1193927

This whole sage will do more harm than good for kildare I feel. The pressure on Johnston will be unreal he will get some stick from opposing teams fans that kildare play.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 14/06/2012 08:48:36    1193950

Clondalkindub. Ye your right we would. Sure we would be so concerned about what kind of message it would send to one of the younger Dublin/ Meath Players. We would be really worried about them as kildare fans...dont you know!
Please false concern more like!

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 14/06/2012 14:43:35    1194229

boots96

Derfil1 that player you claim was 'poached' is pure drivel.The chaps father played football & hurling with O'Mahonys.The chap is living in Navan,went to school in Navan and more than likely socialises in Navan.He also looked for the transfer himself.Seanie Johnston has no links to the club in Kildare,no links to Kildare at all. So next time you try to link a club player in Meath to this SJ farce,try get some facts first.You gave out all week at Ciaran Whelan not have his facts right on the sunday game so follow suit like a good lad!

Its pretty obvious the club he's going from don't see it like that.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 14/06/2012 14:55:31    1194240

its an awful shame kildare can't just transfer the cups into their trophy cabinet

CobraVengeance (Meath) - Posts: 46 - 14/06/2012 15:29:19    1194281