Seanie Johnston sitting on the Kildare bench

royaldunne

I'd presume it would be either cavanagh or smuth who would loose out?
Who will he replace? kildare lads. And please none of this he has to work to get into team guff. We all know he hasn't gone through all this to sit on the bench. If that was case he wouldn't have left cavan

Going on recent games it'd be Smith, although the problem there is that Smith is probably one of our better goal scorers. Then again Fogarty impressed against Tyrone, Dowling and Kelly are back fit too. All depends on who shows well enough in the challenge games really.

He's been training away with them anyways, and both himself and McGeeney have come out and said he'll need to earn his place.

Next year that is, no point rescheduling the whole club championship just to accommodate one player.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 24/05/2012 16:50:24    1179778

I know.. sure thats why we dont make a big deal out of it.. it's like watching a silent black and white movie their entire life and then all of a sudden its The Wizard of Oz on Blu Ray when they come to Dublin.

Sure they are responsible for a huge amount of anti-social behaviour in our capital... which incorporates many crimes and costs our economy hundreds of millions a year.

But sure...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/05/2012 16:51:48    1179782

royaldunne

I'd presume it would be either cavanagh or smuth who would loose out?
Who will he replace? kildare lads. And please none of this he has to work to get into team guff. We all know he hasn't gone through all this to sit on the bench. If that was case he wouldn't have left cavan

Of course he has to work to get into the team. If you think he's just going to be handed a jersey because of his name your way off the mark.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 24/05/2012 16:59:42    1179796

I know.. sure thats why we dont make a big deal out of it.. it's like watching a silent black and white movie their entire life and then all of a sudden its The Wizard of Oz on Blu Ray when they come to Dublin.

Sure they are responsible for a huge amount of anti-social behaviour in our capital... which incorporates many crimes and costs our economy hundreds of millions a year.

But sure...

It's amazing alright. Were you ever in or around Busáras when they get off the bus for the first time Jim? Their little faces just light up!

But they need to learn quickly that their anti-social criminality may be accepted back in the provinces but in Dublin, and especially on the Northside, a certain decorum must be kept.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 24/05/2012 17:06:03    1179803

But sure...

So your comparing Dublin to the Wizard of Oz? Three clicks of your heels culchies and your home.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 24/05/2012 17:09:04    1179809

MesAmis

It's amazing alright. Were you ever in or around Busáras when they get off the bus for the first time Jim? Their little faces just light up!

But they need to learn quickly that their anti-social criminality may be accepted back in the provinces but in Dublin, and especially on the Northside, a certain decorum must be kept.

It's only fair that colleges like DCU and St. Pat's start including 6 packs of Dutch Gold, 20 John Player blue and pyjamas bottoms in the bags they give out during freshers week.

That'd help them settle in no bother...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 24/05/2012 17:10:14    1179812

But sure...

So your comparing Dublin to the Wizard of Oz? Three clicks of your heels culchies and your home.

Yeah do us all a favour and save the state hundreds of millions. The A&E's will thank you for it...

Although... No college, no job, no women, boredom.... you'll be back in a click! well... 3.

To filth up the place once again.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/05/2012 17:15:31    1179823

if_in_doubt

It's only fair that colleges like DCU and St. Pat's start including 6 packs of Dutch Gold, 20 John Player blue and pyjamas bottoms in the bags they give out during freshers week.

That'd help them settle in no bother

Integration is key man.

The last thing we went is culchie ghettoisation.

Areas where no-one could walk the street in safety because of the flocks of rampaging cows that the culchies would bring with them. The disruption to the electricty, phone and water, as well as transport, would be chronic as the culchies dig up the road to plant potato trees and turnip bushes.

No-one wants that!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 24/05/2012 17:20:05    1179830

MesAmis

1179803 jimbodub

But sure...

Yeah... rubbing their little crossed eyes in amazment and tucking in their shirts into their wranglers.

It wont be long until they grow a pair of side burns, buy a wooden necklace, Stick the collars up, buy the shinest pair of shoes they can get their hands on, get their eye brow pierced and head straight for Flannery's.

Then it's the vomit, peeing, having *** on the street, fighting, smashing things up, getting arrested, terrorising A&E's etc etc

Bless their little butter wouldnt melt hearts.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/05/2012 17:20:10    1179831

Y
eah do us all a favour and save the state hundreds of millions. The A&E's will thank you for it...

Although... No college, no job, no women, boredom.... you'll be back in a click! well... 3.

To filth up the place once again.

Crazy talk.

Sure don't we all know the best place for the college lifestyle is NUI Maynooth.

What with all the.. eh priests and communion wine and whatnot...

Great craic.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 24/05/2012 17:24:07    1179834

derfil1

hill16no1man

the differance is none of these guts are picked to play for dublin or dublin dont wany any of them to play where as kildare do want johnston for that reason

Ryan O'Dwyer?

we are talking about football here
people are suggesting the dublin club teams so i said quite rightly no dublin people want these country guys playing club football in dublin also has any of them been given a run for dublin no.
ryan o dwyer is ahurler and i dont agree with him maurice o brien or corcoran been on the panel i have always said that

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/05/2012 17:33:59    1179845

derfil1

you must be feeling your conscience with all these posts trying to defend kildare and slag dublin grow up would you

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/05/2012 17:38:09    1179847

Sergeant_Slash

Derry_ledd
County: Derry

Do you Cavan boys honestly think Seanie's Cavan days were over? Honest question!.

Players fall out with managers all the time, our own Bradley's a fine example, the whole bloody Cork hurlers also. But in this case Kildare came knocking and Seany seen a chance of glory something so of he went to junp ship and live in Kildare, when he should be fighting for his place back in HIS county's team.

Shame on Seany and Shame on Kildare

Finally someone speaks a bit of sense.

Its absolute nonsense to say he had to leave Cavan in search of county football. He wasn't selected this year, because the then manager decided to go with a new approach. That approach didn't work in the league, and the manager was replaced. What's to stop him being called into the Cavan panel under the new management next year? Nothing. If he stuck with his club, and kept the head down, he could have been selected again.

Shameful episode that a player can move counties because he takes the huff with the management in his own. A very dangerous precedent, all the more so, because people in Cavan are saying he still works here.

Well Terry Hyland is hardly hypocrite enough to pick Johnston after being Andrews's right-hand man when Seanie got that 10 second phonecall dropping him. That would be hypocrasy of the highest order now !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 24/05/2012 17:59:23    1179869

Nobody seems to want to talk about why he was dropped from the Cavan panel in the first place. I wonder will he take the huff if McGeeney drops him next year? Thing about Johnston is, he could do wonders against the likes of Wicklow and Antrim. But in last years championship, he didn't do a whole pile. Up against the likes of Keith Higgins, Eoin Cadogan, Micky Fitzsimons in Div1, he'll be out of his depth in my opinion. But good luck to him nonetheless, Kildare fans are ecstatic about this move, you never know, a few more years, a few more transfers and they might win a Leinster championship. But I doubt it.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 24/05/2012 18:07:10    1179874

MesAmis

Santry, Glasnevin, Drumcondra are disaster areas during Fresher week, DCU has a lot to answer for.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 24/05/2012 18:12:52    1179879

The vast majority of Cavan supporters, not the few usual suspects who purport to call themselves Cavan supporters, are glad it is all over and we can get back to supporting the young players who are proud to wear the BLUE jersey. Remember we have been in the last 3 Ulster U21 Finals winning 2 as well as winning an Ulster Minor title. So we do have a great stream of very talented players coming through. The recently departed "players" home club Cavan Gaels continue to produce great young players so he will not be missed. The future is indeed bright with so many talented and "loyal" players.
Also I hope all those brilliant young players from county champions ATHY wont be too upset if Mr. Mc Geeney still overlooks them. I hear there are murmurings in the air!!
You never know the Lillies and the Breffni boys could meet later on. A mouth watering thought.

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 24/05/2012 18:58:51    1179911

Hahahaha the same Dubs are still whinging like a bunch of women 11 hours after the decision was announced. Put the Keyboards down, come out of your bedrooms and tell your mother you are going out to enjoy the weather.

fixxer (Kildare) - Posts: 202 - 24/05/2012 19:16:40    1179922

fixxer

Hahahaha the same Dubs are still whinging like a bunch of women 11 hours after the decision was announced. Put the Keyboards down, come out of your bedrooms and tell your mother you are going out to enjoy the weather.

That old term sing when your winning is never more appropriate for the childish response above, it's going to be a long summer, let's hope that the fast becoming Ireland's version of man city don't have cause to be ridiculed.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 24/05/2012 19:24:43    1179926

have just texted a lot of my football friends here in south east, 4 counties, not one out of them had a good thing to say about kildare and johnson they def have lost a lot of support over this, not that it will bother them i know if they win "if" they win

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2842 - 24/05/2012 19:36:12    1179931

you would swear kildare were shoe ins for sam now that they got a player who was dropped by a division 3 county is he going to make that much of a differance?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 24/05/2012 19:41:04    1179935