100+ things culchies love!

Stayin in a parish wan's bedsit in NCR when up for match De county colours down side of face from de crepe caps at Munster fnl Whoopin at Siamsa Cois Laoi Boogyin to Big Tom @ de Sunday dance Marchin to church for de men's night @ de mission Wearin an Easter Lily John West salmon on Fridays Good Fri pub crawl A tint in Lisdoon Hearin de Corncrake Lampin hares for coursing De Biddy De Wren Playin taws Conkers in Oct Huntin grey crows & foxes for bounty Hitchin lift on cart 2 creamery Feedin mangles 2 cows at milkin Pullin buachalláns Cuttin out turnips at Hallowe'en Goin wd de ma to a whist drive Swingin boats at fair Hurdy Gurdy's coming to town Playin 'run-away-knock' Raidin orchards Pluckin de turkey Givin de quills to de auld wan next door Toppin & tailin goosgogs Sticky ball fights Geary's curny tops Buyin sticky rock on de school tour Washin de hair on Sat night Bein 4th n de bath wd de same water in Gettin candy frm a Yank cousin Pandy Smithwicks bein great @16 Floored by Pernod @18 De bed 4 snooze after de Sunday dinner De after Mass pint Sun De home altar 4 de Procession A kiss behind de ditch outside de dance = u shifted Sick from de smell of de Liffy & Guinness' on 1st trip 2 Dub Adorin de smell in Woolworths De leather @ school Listenin 2 soccer on BBC LW on Sat Lovin to watch Mtch of de Day n cousins house n Dub Teachers & Garda Club homes frm hme @ ftball wkend in Dub Thumbin lifts Smell of inscence @Mass Smell of bonamhs at pig fair Crubeens & salted ling De Oct horse fair Scared by de Pecker Dunne Scorin for 1st time @ Rose of Tralee Goin ape @ de Wolfe Tones Cryin wd family whn Dana won Eurov Cryin again (though much older) whn Ire beat Eng Euro 88 Havin tay frm bottle n de meadow Lovin Greenacres & The Virginian whn TV cme n Havin crush 4 Shirley Temple frm de Xmas films Burnin furze wd pkts of Friendly Matches Usin Net Nitrate bags 2 toboggan down hills in snow Bein envious of lad with Ford Capri @ 18 Goin 9 in old Escort to Puck Buildin a hut wd de gang Covetin magazines de older brother brought frm Eng Thinkin Mulligans & The Palace were dee pubs in Ire (still do) Gettin taken by surprise by de hands of a Dub lass in de Cricket Club in R'mines Knowin 'Dóchas Linn N. Pádraig' by heart Bobby Moore, Geoff Hurst etc. getting into sub-concious Empathisin wd Paul Brady singin 'The Island' Bloody Sun Yanks landin on de Moon & family in de neighbours hse who had TV at de time Rosary said in front of de wireless 4 Bobby Kennedy Rosary said most nights anyway Rolling Stones, Thin Lizzy, Van Morrison etc - how they spooked de rural lads De Dub cousins comin down for de summer & how sophisticated dey seemed early on Our own or neighbouring villages 'Pattern Day' Losing your 1st Half Crown to de '3 Card Trick' man or de 'Loop de Loop' man. Polishin all de shoes in de house of a Saturday night Findin a good jam-jar & sand for de Xmas candle Short pants (your brothers from de past two years) from May to October Mercurochrome on your knee - de more of it de better kudos 4 de wound Givin up sweets @ Lent (easy cause we rarely got any) Gallon Sweets de nuns gave out at Xmas Loose Biscuits' Smell of de paraffin primus heater in de kitchen & de turf fire in de room Shock of seein a lap club @ Barry's Munst can now beat the ***** out of Leinst n rugby Listenin 2 Dubs every yr dat dey wl win de All Ireland & watchin dem suffer Havin pass to Lillies on All Ire Sat nt & smirkin at buffoons at de door who question us Laughin all de way 2 de bank sellin holiday sites to Dubs 4 inflated prices Croke Pk Pride a real 'outside de Pale' thing as we gloat over de 'nouveau trendy' tryin to get tkts GAA now discussed n Lincoln Inn Missin de Pillar & bein too arthritic 2 c top of de Spire Still coming 2 Dublin by train No problem now wd tickets 4 Lansdowne Rd A Flake Biffo topplin Bertie

dingle1 (Clare) - Posts: 805 - 23/10/2008 04:32:50    124620

Well i'm a cluchie, and i just LOVE reading lists on the HS message board!

Bald Eagle (None) - Posts: 1009 - 23/10/2008 08:21:14    124632

Have you ever milked a cow or goat?

Could be worse, could be "have you ever milked a Bull?"

Bald Eagle (None) - Posts: 1009 - 23/10/2008 09:37:47    124665

Where can you get Duckeggs in Dublin ?
Where can you get a Wellington boot patched in Dublin?
Where can you listen to a "wireless" in Dublin?

Country people also like a good funeral or wake. I like going over to an old lad i know in the cemetery and if he is coughing i like to say to him "its hardly worth your while going home" just to see the look on his face. Great craic at a good funeral !!!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 23/10/2008 09:53:48    124688

i have an accumulated score of 56%

paudi (Meath) - Posts: 681 - 23/10/2008 09:56:11    124692

56 oh JAYSUS

redhandman (Tyrone) - Posts: 431 - 23/10/2008 10:08:56    124705

thats goin on bebo. im knockin 70 id say

joan_balantine (UK) - Posts: 824 - 23/10/2008 10:13:20    124709

Managed to get 72% and I from a small counrty "town".
Ahh tis grand to be a bogger...

Fat Boy

Fat Boy (Cavan) - Posts: 372 - 23/10/2008 10:29:45    124737

99% as i was half wrong in one, cant believe i'm not 100% culchie !!!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 23/10/2008 10:38:06    124745

42%, come from the country but wouldn't consider myself a culchie! But I live in "the big smoke" now so some of the answers(like lack of streetlights), would have to be changed to no!

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 23/10/2008 10:42:50    124748

38%, i can't believe that i failed the culchie test.
living in the big smoke way too long!!!

twinkle (Westmeath) - Posts: 27 - 23/10/2008 10:43:11    124749

Mid-mon-man, You could take classes to improve your percentage. If you slip any further you could be regarded as a Leinster man. What would you do then?

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 23/10/2008 10:53:31    124762

I haven't a clue what any of this is about! Is this a new Polish section of HS or what?

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 23/10/2008 11:02:22    124772

Great post bad.monkey I'm in stitches after reading it!

men_of_49 (Meath) - Posts: 1987 - 23/10/2008 11:24:29    124794

God Slasher, I just don't know what I'd do, I never thought it would come to this! The sheer thought of being regarded as a Leinster man or a city one makes me want to throw on a tweed cap, a pair of wellies and go to a ceili or a Big Tom concert! Will you take me under your wing so I can improve my score?

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 23/10/2008 11:45:22    124809

Will you take me under your wing so I can improve my score?
mid-mon man , 23/10/2008 at 11:45

Ah great to see this cross county co-operation! The counties that vote together, stick together! Aye MMM you have nothing to be ashamed of - the doyen of culchie music - as mentioned by you is a Monaghan man after all - take a bow Big Tom McBride!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 23/10/2008 11:58:03    124822

Mid-mon-man.

First lesson. Repeat 57 times. Faster each time.

"I'm not a turkey plucker, i'm a turkey plucker's son,
and i'm only plucking turkeys 'till the turkey plucker comes"

You will soon get the hang of it and be on the road to recovery !!! Cant have you becoming one of those city yuppies !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 23/10/2008 12:02:21    124829

Mid-mon-man.

First lesson. Repeat 57 times. Faster each time.

"I'm not a turkey plucker, i'm a turkey plucker's son,
and i'm only plucking turkeys 'till the turkey plucker comes"

You will soon get the hang of it and be on the road to recovery !!! Cant have you becoming one of those city yuppies !!

Which reminds me that I must add Vincent Pilkington to the Greatest Irish Sportsperson thread:

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12118 - 23/10/2008 12:10:03    124841

Class Breffni - Vinnie P would be the man for the Aussies - he is a very plucky character!!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 23/10/2008 12:17:35    124853

And another thing Mid-mon-man, Dont be hanging around with that rugby clique in the city or they'll be sending you somewhere to get your nose narrowed so you can talk like them. Listen to me and you'll be safe !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 23/10/2008 12:21:59    124858