Club finals thread

Garrycastle may well have lost their chance and I have little sympathy for them.They should be winning with a 5 point lead in the second half.Fair play to Crossmaglen for coming back all the same.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 17/03/2012 17:20:48    1131335

Gaa_lover
County: USA

Was it really a headbutt or did the Cross player make the most of it?? Cross doing alot of fouling Garrycastle much the better team should be leading by 8points.

It wasnt a headbutt really but he did put his head into the Cross players face but he did make the most of it. No one has said anything about the Cross player pushing thr Garycastle lad over the board now that was a red card surely. Also after the Cross goal chance the No 20 drew a kick at the Garycastle keeper

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 17/03/2012 17:25:50    1131337

That was not a head butt... and the Cross player went down all too easy/dramatically etc etc

It was a head push... you see that sort of thing in the soccer. Face to face, one uses his head to push back the other... the other goes down like a feckin Mary.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/03/2012 17:32:10    1131343

What was the crowd like, many at the games? Scottish people very friendly and welcoming on St. Patrick's Day.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 17/03/2012 17:33:01    1131344

About the same as last year UM... I'm only back from it

To be honest the game had drama and it went to the wire... but as in terms of quality.

Nah.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/03/2012 17:36:27    1131346

Jimbodub,that type of feigning injury is now part and parcel of the Gaa.People keep slagging off soccer but our players are just as bad.The Cross player was wrong if he was faking it but the Garrycastle fella shouldnt have got involved as these days a Gaa player will almost always exaggerate the injury to try and get another player sent off.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 17/03/2012 17:38:55    1131347

Id say a man pushing his head into you like that would be enough to put you down lads. Straight red. Thought the ref was poor throughout. No consistency and i was left scratching my head with some of his decisions.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 17/03/2012 18:13:17    1131365

Has a date been set for the replay?

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 17/03/2012 18:34:38    1131376

the ref was very inconsistent , fair play to cross coming back into it and thought they should have taken their chances at the end, fair play to garrycastle too they were good

cboyle92 (Down) - Posts: 184 - 17/03/2012 18:55:51    1131387

the ref was shocking! i m a neutral but to me garrycastle got away with a bit more. Jamie clarke had a blatant free for dragging and he gave nought! brutal.. the hurling was great. well done to loughiel. liam watson was excellent again. averaging 16pts in your last 2 games is not a bad sign!

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2625 - 17/03/2012 21:11:17    1131459

gaillimh_abu, the committee are meeting on tuesday to decide on venue and time, probaly 2 weeks in navan or parnell.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 17/03/2012 21:24:35    1131463

I thought the refereeing was very poor also thought a garrycastle defender touched the ball on the ground after Jamie clarkes goal attempt

argael (Donegal) - Posts: 132 - 18/03/2012 08:01:54    1131479

I would have no love for Crossmaglen but I have a lot of respect for them and I thought they were very hard done by. Firstly with Stephen Kernan failing with his appeal for a very harsh red card in the semi. Then the Garrycastle player gets a yellow for a headbutt? Some nonsense on here about the Cross lad "making the most of it". What a lot of rubbish! It is a red card every day of the week. Cross also should have had a penalty after the ball was touched in the small rectangle after Clarke's goal chance. Ref seemed out of his depth. Hope Cross do the job in the replay with Kernan back to lead them.

paddywack09 (Tyrone) - Posts: 150 - 18/03/2012 10:17:55    1131487

Congrats to Loughiel Shamrocks on a great display and a great win.Hopefully it will lead to an upsurge in Antrim hurling.While Liam Watson will deservedly get the plaudits I was very impressed with the Loughiel centre back, he had a massive game.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 18/03/2012 10:44:02    1131493

I felt that the refereeing was very poor in the football final. Basically it was a headbutt - straight red card - why give a yellow? If a Cross player did this it would have been a straight red, also felt jamie carke should have had a penalty.... some strange desisions in the final... the ref. blew it up possibly 45 secs early when Garrycastle had position - he wanted the game over

Well done Loughguile - massive support a well deserved victory - well on top - Liam Watson was brill.
Disappointing crowd with only 26,000 there. The GAA needs to do more to promote this......

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1673 - 18/03/2012 11:14:17    1131500

Will Kernan be back for replay? Was missed

Peace_On (Kerry) - Posts: 53 - 18/03/2012 11:17:49    1131502

He bloody well should be back.Shouldnt have been suspended in the first place.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 18/03/2012 11:41:33    1131508

Little disappointed that Cross didn't win it yesterday as I have a few quid on them and they kicked it away in the final 10 minutes. Did yez see the Cross boys surround the ref before the second half started. Not the most sporting thing to do but he sure got the message.

georgelee (Louth) - Posts: 523 - 18/03/2012 12:07:29    1131520

Ulsterman

Didn't see the games as in Scotland for League Cup Final but Loughiel seem to have won well while Cross got out of jail. I don't think Cross give teams a second chance usually and many of their players appear to have had an off day. Should Garrycastle have been more in front it off in the first half while what was the score with the alleged headbutt?

For such a proud Ulster GAA man why were you in Scotland at a soccer match and not at Croke Park?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 18/03/2012 12:24:19    1131524

look at the replay of the "headbutt"...cross player went down too easy, it was a yellow if anything

dottysocks (Westmeath) - Posts: 9 - 18/03/2012 13:24:07    1131535