Kildare V Meath

I couldnt understand how people were tippin meath before the game. we beat them easy in the league and they havnt bet us underage in years. roll on the leinster final

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 365 - 17/06/2017 20:46:47    2000712

Kildare let them back in it but nothin doin. Meath-Mayo might get a rematch this Summer.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 17/06/2017 20:48:57    2000714

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "Dublin might finally get a game from decent opposition in the Leinster championship, Meath absolutely woeful,in spite of Royal Dunnes optimism and his belief in Andy Mc Entee I think Meath have actually regressed, worst Meath team I've ever seen!"
don't agree they've regressed as such .. but I agree in Rd.. his optimism is tragic in fairness

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 17/06/2017 20:49:38    2000715

Good stuff from Kildare, they'll give a good account of themselves in the Leinster final no doubt. Could be a short year for Meath.A lot of work to be done.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 17/06/2017 20:50:47    2000717

kildare were brilliant... meath were goosed from very early in the game.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 17/06/2017 20:53:58    2000720

That's a fine Kildare side, they'll give us a right game! Providing we beat Westmeath etc

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 17/06/2017 20:55:41    2000721

How come Biggy wasn't playing?

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 17/06/2017 21:00:14    2000722

RoyalDunne is a bit slow so give him some slack.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 17/06/2017 21:00:18    2000723

Genuinely didn't think it'd be that easy, managed to overcome the little Meath comeback and take back control as well. Subs did what was needed and as big a player Paul Cribbin is for us we didn't seem to miss him too much.

Wouldn't give us a chance against Dublin but compared to what expectations were at the start of the year we're definitely showing well and have good cause for optimism going forward.

Young team starting to come of age one hopes.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 17/06/2017 21:03:42    2000725

Congrats Kildare a win much deserved no doubt about that. Best of luck in the final!
Now for the tripe that we've regressed etc etc cool the jets, until we exit the championship. Kildare the team much more equipped for this game. Meath should have made those substitutes up front a lot sooner.
And as for the adrenaline pumping through a few fans as of now asking why anyone tipped us? Because just like Meath apart from getting promoted this year and beating us in the league .. Kildare have done even less in the last decade than us. So dont get too ahead of the game here. Best of luck to Kildare and the second finalist in a few weeks time... Hopefully its a great game

Beautiful.Meath (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 17/06/2017 21:04:35    2000726

Very well done to Kildare a brilliant performance. I thought it would be 50/50 and it was never close. Your midfield as I thought it is excellent, your forwards are much better than I thought and Doyle at 6 did a a seriously good defender. I really hope ye give the Dubs a rattle and we have been worse than you at underage for years and unless that changes ye will keep beating us handy

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 17/06/2017 21:07:48    2000730

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "How come Biggy wasn't playing?"
your number 2 had him wrapped up good and proper.. lol

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 17/06/2017 21:08:10    2000731

This was a Meath team that conceded 3 goals to a Louth team that's summer ended today with a whimper against Longford so it showed their defence was really suspect and an excellent Kildare team had to the forwards to expose them and duly did that this evening. Dublin should see off Westmeath next Sunday and Kildare, I think, will give us a good rattle and have some class forwards that could cause us problems.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 17/06/2017 21:09:21    2000733

Exactly.

So much for Andy the Messiah working his magic... As for...
Meath's Captain Marvel goes missing in every big inter county game.
Looks great v lowly opposition but yet again proves the level he is at..

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 17/06/2017 21:10:00    2000734

I watched this in the same watering hole as one Glen Ryan and boy was he happy, woohoo

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 17/06/2017 21:12:43    2000736

Well done Kildare. Got the job done early and kept Meath at arm's length for the remainder.

Flynn and Brophy as well as Feely look top class at times.

Meath were extremely poor. I thought McEntee would have them in good physical shape and organised but on the evidence of tonight he has done neither. You'd have to fear for Meath in the qualifiers.

I expected Meath to have closed the gap somewhat from the League game but it never materialised at all. They look as poor as they've looked over the past few years tonight.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 17/06/2017 21:14:00    2000737

Wonderful performance from Kikdare, only negative was that they did shoot a lot of wides. I thought Meath were poor enough at the back, no sweeper in the modern game and you are asking for trouble. Kildare were very good at midfield and their full forward line is really impressive. This could be the first time in years that Dublin get a tough game in Leinster.

It is really good to see teams outisde the so-called top 6 like Kildare and Galway making strides.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 17/06/2017 21:15:22    2000738

Sure he only plays against lowly opposition or didn't you already know that..

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 17/06/2017 21:17:55    2000741

Ah lads look Meath are

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 17/06/2017 21:20:28    2000742

Ah look lads Meath are shite but leave RD alone, he is a true supporter.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 17/06/2017 21:22:45    2000744