Leinster club SFC: Merrigan strikes late for Rathnew

October 26, 2014

St Patrick's John Crowe with Mark Doyle of Rathnew during the Wicklow SFC final.
©INPHO/Ryan Byrne.

Rathnew (Wicklow) 1-13

Rathvilly (Carlow) 1-9

Brendan Murphy saw red as Rathnew got the better of Rathvilly at Aughrim.

The Wicklow champions, who were minus the injured Leighton Glynn, will meet Moorefield in the Leinster club SFC quarter-final after a hard-fought contest which was decided by Jody Merrigan's 57th minute goal.

Rathvilly's cause wasn't helped by the dismissal of their star player on a second yellow card with a quarter of an hour remaining.

JJ Smith found the net for the visitors in the first half, but they still trailed by 1-2 to 0-7 at the interval.

Rathvilly dominated after the break to edge ahead, 1-7 to 0-9, after 43 minutes, but they could only manage a further two points as Merrigan's goal restored Rathnew's lead before late points from Tommy Gill and James Stafford sealed the win.

Rathnew - P Dignam; P Merrigan, D Power, J Manley; D Jameson, R O'Brien, J Snell; J Stafford (0-1), A Merriman; E Doyle (0-4f), T Smith (0-1f), G Merrigan (0-1); T Gill (0-5f), J Merrigan (1-0), P Murphy (0-1). Subs: E Glynn for R O'Brien (BC), S Byrne for G Merrigan.

Rathvilly - R Molloy; BJ Molloy, A Sibbald, K Byrne; JB Leonard, Brendan Murphy, G O'Donoghue; K Doyle (1-0), Brian Murphy (0-1f); W O'Donoghue, E Finnegan, A Kelly (0-1); G Dempsey (0-5, 3f), D Cronin, JJ Smith (0-2). Subs: E Molloy for D Cronin, P Byrne for W O'Donoghue, C Byrne for G O'Donoghue.

Referee - B Cawley.

Most Read Stories