Wicklow SHC final: four-in-a-row for Glenealy

October 21, 2013

Glenealy and Wicklow star Leighton Glynn. INPHO
Glenealy 0-17
Bray Emmets 0-14

Dual star Leighton Glynn scored 0-11 (0-9 from frees) as Glenealy completed an historic four-in-a-row of Wicklow SHC title successes at Bray Emmets' expense in Aughrim.

In emulating the achievement of arch rivals Carnew who won a four-in-a-row between 1978 and '81, Glenealy saw off a battling Bray outfit who were appearing in their first final in 61 years.

The winners led by 0-9 to 0-7 at the interval and Glynn kept them in front in a stormy start to the second half that saw five players yellow-carded. Scores from Mikey Lee and John Henderson kept the challengers in touch, but the goal they so desperately sought never materialised with goalkeeper Joe Diver's first half saves from Christy Moorehouse and Paul Cunningham ultimately proving decisive.

Glenealy - J Driver; W Kavanagh, M A O'Neill, R Byrne (0-1); G Byrne, S Nolan, M J O'Neill; J O'Neill (0-2), N Driver; L Glynn (0-11, 9f), W O'Gorman (0-1), T Doyle (0-1); J Manley, E Glynn, D Staunton. Subs: C O'Neill for W Kavanagh, G Weir for J Manley, G Byrne (0-1) for N Driver, N Driver for G Byrne.

Bray Emmets - P O'Reilly; R O'Brien, P Kiely, P Lee; M Lennon, J Henderson, K Lacey; G O Murchu, L Maloney (0-1); E Mason (0-1), P Cunningham, W Keane; M Lee (0-7, 4f), B Duggan, C Moorehouse (0-3). Subs: J Doyle (0-1) for M Lennon, M Browne (0-1) for K Lacey, N Sweeney for G O Murchu, A Murphy for B Duggan, L Kenny for R O'Brien.

Referee - J Keenan.

Most Read Stories