Tipp legend entered in Hall of Fame

January 23, 2004
Former Tipperary hurler Phil Shanahan is the latest entry in the Hall of Fame of the Glanbia and District 6th Annual Sports Star awards that will be presented at a function on Saturday, February 7. Shanahan was part of the glory era of Tipperary hurling when they won the treble in 1949-51. The Toomevara clubman began his inter-county career with the minors in 1946, losing that year's All-Ireland final to Dublin. He then won three Railway Cup medals in-a-row with Munster in 1950, '51 and 52 while he also has won numerous titles at club level in a success laden career. The five previous recipients of the accolade were Michael Abbott (RIP) 1998, Kieran Carey (1999), Leo Dooley (2000), Christy O'Brien (2001) and Martin Loughrane (RIP) 2002.

Most Read Stories