Connacht JFC final: Sweeney seals win for Sligo

May 19, 2013
Sligo 0-15
Mayo 1-11

Sligo produced a strong finish to capture their third Connacht JFC title in four years at the expense of holders Mayo in Pearse Stadium.

With just two minutes remaining, the Yeats County took the lead for the first time in the contest when Kenneth Sweeney pointed and they held on for a memorable victory.

Ronan Doherty gave Mayo the perfect start when he goaled in the 9th minute and that score was the difference between the teams at the break - 1-7 to 0-7.

A Sligo point from the boot of Niall Murphy levelled the matched with nine minutes left on the clock before Sweeney edged Sligo's nose in front.

Both teams finished with 14 men after Mayo's Pat Lacken and Sligo's Kevin Cryan were shown two yellow cards.

Sligo - B McGovern; S Gorman, A McIntyre, K Cryan; K McDonnell, M Gormley, B Curran (0-1); C Byrne, K Byrne; N McDonagh, N Murphy (0-9), V Frizzell (0-2); B Egan (0-1), K Sweeney (0-2), C Brennan. Subs: A Brennan for S Gorman.

Mayo - P Mannion; B Leonard, P Lacken, G Loftus; J McDonagh, C Walsh, P Feerick; D Gavin (0-1), S Morris; A Gallagher (0-5), M Forde (0-2), R Doherty (1-0); E Tiernan (0-1), J Owens (0-1), K Newell. Subs: K Gibbons (0-1) for Doherty, M Moran for Newell, D Hughes for Tiernan, G O'Donnell for Feerick.

Referee - J Molloy.

Most Read Stories