SFC: Blacks shock Skryne

June 13, 2011

Skryne's Martin Mulvaney gets to grips with Walterstown's Charles McCarthy during the Meath SFC at Dunsany
Walterstown 0-12
Skryne 1-5

Walterstown scored a surprise win over holders and neighbours Skryne in this Meath Farm Machinery SFC Group C clash at wet and windy Dunsany on Sunday afternoon.

Six points in 12 second-half minutes earned Walterstown their first win of the campaign at the third attempt having lost earlier to St Patrick's and Dunboyne.

That scoring sequence started with Tom Walsh's second pointed 45 of the game and left it 0-7 to 1-3 with 42 minutes gone.

Four points in quick succession at the start of the final quarter enhanced Walterstown's position. Top scorer Alban Crosbie registered twice while Anwar Khan and Alan Reynolds also got off the mark.

When midfielder Charles McCarthy got in on the scoring act it was 0-12 to 1-3 with 54 minutes gone.

Paddy O'Rourke and Mark Battersby pulled back points for Skryne. However, Barney Rock's charges never looked like getting the goal required to stop them slipping to their second defeat in three outings.

Despite playing against the wind Skryne got off to a flying start with a Paddy O'Rourke point in the second minute.

Four minutes later the same player flicked a James Hegarty to the net and Barney Rock's men looked set for a stroll.

It took wind assisted Walterstown nearly 13 minutes to register their opening score through Alban Crosbie (free).

Three further scores from the Walterstown full-forward (one free) levelled matters by the 18th minute.

There were no further scores until first-half stoppage time when Walsh landed a 45 after Skryne 'keeper Felim O'Rourke saved well from Cathal Hennelly.

Walterstown led by 0-5 to 1-1 at half-time but Paddy O'Rourke levelled matters from a 45 within two minutes of the restart.

The champions never regained the lead and the sides were level for the third and final time when Bryan Davis became only the second Skryne player to score to leave it 1-3 to 0-6 in the 41st minute.

Walterstown - R. Barry; J. Geoghegan, D. Maguire, R. Reynolds; C. O'Sullivan, T. Walsh (0-2, 45s), P. Reynolds; C. McCarthy (0-2, 1 f), J. Farrelly; M. McCormack, C. Hennelly, A. Reynolds (0-1); A. Khan (0-1), A. Crosbie (0-6, 3 fs), M. Clarke.

Skryne - F. O'Rourke; J. Looby, M. Mulvaney, M. Jordan; C. Lenehan, A. Carty, J. Hegarty; A. Tuite, D. McGoldrick; I. Davis, K. Mulvaney, B. Byrne; B. Davis (0-1), P. O'Rourke (1-3, 0-1 45), M. Battersby (0-1). Sub - P. Fox for McGoldrick (39).

Referee - G. McGivney (Simonstown).

Most Read Stories