Connacht club SFC: Corofin thump Willies by 35 points

November 09, 2014

A job well done. Corofin's Joe Canney celebrates a point with Ciaran McGrath.
©INPHO/James Crombie.

Corofin 7-20
Aughawillan 0-6

They say the bookies rarely get it wrong and, unfortunately for Aughawillan, that was the case in Carrick-on-Shannon as they were annihilated by a ruthless Corofin side.

The Galway champions were a staggering 1/100 with one bookmaker to dispose of their Leitrim counterparts and this they did in emphatic fashion to set up a Connacht final showdown with first-time finalists Ballintubber.

Michael Lundy scored a hat-trick of goals, Martin Farragher grabbed two, while Ian Burke and substitute Joe Canney bagged one apiece in the rout, with all of the goals coming in the second half after Corofin's lead was a mere eight points, 0-11 to 0-3, at the interval.

Aughawillan actually registered the game's first score through Ciaran Gilheaney, but that was as good as it got for Sean Pierson's side as Corofin replied with points from Dylan Wall, Lundy and Gary Sice.

Gilheaney left the minimum in it again before a flurry of scores from Ronan Steede, Sice, Farragher and Greg Higgins eased the winners into a comfortable half-time lead.

The second half was a bloodbath as far as the locals were concerned with Farragher's first goal opening the floodgates. In a devastating spell midway through the half, Farragher, Burke and Lundy (twice) raised green flags to stretch Corofin's lead to 5-16 to 0-3.

Luddy completed his hat-trick before Canney added goal number seven with four minutes to go.

Corofin - T Healy; M Comer, K Fitzgerald, C Silke; C McGrath, A Burke, L Silke; D Burke, R Steede (0-3); G Sice (0-6, 2f), M Lundy (3-1), D Wall (0-3); M Farragher (2-1), G Higgins (0-1), I Burke (1-2). Subs: C Cunningham for M Comer, A O'Donovan (0-1) for D Burke, J Canney (1-1) for M Farragher, P Kelly for K Fitzgerald, B O'Donovan (0-1) for D Wall, A Lawless for C Silke.

Aughawillan - C Maguire; D McGovern, Michael Quinn, G McGovern; M Beirne, N Plunkett, S Quinn; S Fox, S Flanagan (0-1); R McTague, M Plunkett, P Dolan; C Gilheany (0-4, 2f), G Plunkett (0-1), M Quinn. Subs: S Gilheany for M Beirne, R Creamer for N Plunkett, K McTague for Morgan Quinn, F McTague for P Dolan, G Deane for G Plunkett.

Referee - J Henry.

Most Read Stories