Derry SHC final: Slaughtneil end 13-year wait

August 26, 2013
Slaughtneil 4-13
Ballinascreen 2-11

Slaughtneill captured their first Derry SHC title since 2000 with an eight-point victory over Ballinascreen at Owenbeg last night.

The winners conceded 1-1 inside the opening four minutes but recovered to go in at the break with a 3-6 to 1-8 lead thanks to goals from and Brendan Rodgers (2) and Frankie Kelly.

To their credit, Ballinascreen - who were searching for their first title success since 1939 - fought back to reduce the deficit to the minimum thanks in the main to Hugh Pat O'Kelly's deflected free.

However, Slaughtneil confirmed their superiority when Oisin O'Doherty got on the end of a cross by Eanna Cassidy to raise their fourth green flag.

Slaughtneil - E McGuigan; B Og Corbett, A Cassidy, C Kearney; F Kelly (1-1), C McKenna, J Mulholland; K McKaigue, S McGuigan (0-2); B Rodgers (2-3), D Kearney, G Bradley (0-1); O O'Doherty (1-2), C McKaigue (0-1), G O'Kane (0-4, 2f). Subs: M Doherty for Corbett, E Cassidy for D Kearney, C O'Doherty for O O'Doherty.

Ballinascreen - G Brunton; K Conway, C McSorley, C McKenna; P McGlade (0-1), N Bradley, H P Kelly (1-0); J McCloskey, S McBride (0-2, 1f); C O'Kane (0-3f), D Flanagan (1-0), C Moran (0-1); P Cleary (0-3), B Bradley, A Kelly (0-1). Subs: C Brunton for N Bradley, M McGuigan for H P Kelly, G Kelly for McSorley.

Referee - E Hasson.

Most Read Stories