Clare SHC final: Cratloe complete first leg of double

October 05, 2014

Crusheen's Ciaran O'Doherty and Enda Boyce of Cratloe.

Cratloe 0-14
Crusheen 0-6

An historic Clare SHC and SFC double is within touching distance for Cratloe after Conor McGrath fired them to a comfortable Canon Hamilton Cup final victory over Crusheen.

The county star hit 0-6 (0-4 from frees) as the Blues avenged their 2010 defeat to the same opposition before an attendance of 6,369 at Cusack Park. The success, which was Cratloe's first since 2009, is the first leg of a potential double with the Jack Daly Cup decider to come against Eire Og next Sunday.

Joe McGrath's charges laid the foundations for their win in the first half when they built up a 0-9 to 0-2 interval lead. They were helped by some poor shooting by their opponents, who racked up 11 wides in the opening 30 minutes.

Paddy Vaughan tried his best to rally Crusheen in the second half. The former Clare captain accounted for all but one of his side's scores, but Cratloe were the better balanced side and sealed victory with efforts from Cathal McInerney, Podge Collins and McGrath.

Cratloe - G Ryan; S O'Leary, M Hawes, D Ryan; S Chaplin, C Ryan, E Boyce; M Ogie Murphy, L Markham (0-1f); S Gleeson, P Collins (0-1), S Collins (0-2); C McInerney (0-2), G Considine (0-1), C McGrath (0-6, 4f). Subs: D Collins (0-1) for Gleeson, B Duggan for O'Leary, D Browne for Considine, J O'Gorman for D Ryan, P Gleeson for Chaplin.

Crusheen - D Tuohy; J Greene, C Dillon, A Brigdale; C O'Doherty, Cathal Dillon, S Dillon; P Vaughan (0-5, 3f), F Kennedy; G O'Donnell, J Meaney, A Tuohy; C O'Donnell, G O'Grady, C Vaughan (0-1). Subs: D O'Doherty for A Tuohy, J Fitzgibbon for J Meaney, Cronan Dillon for G O'Donnell, C O'Loughlin for A Brigdale.

Referee - S McMahon.

Most Read Stories