Maye goals inspire Sligo

May 06, 2008
A brace of second half goals from centre forward David Maye helped propel Sligo to an eight-point victory over Leitrim in the ESB Connacht MFC at Tubbercurry on Bank Holiday Monday. Sligo 3-9 Leitrim 1-7 It was the second year-in-a-row that the Yeats County ended Leitrim's involvement in the championship, and they can now look forward to a semi-final date. Leitrim were the better team early on and it took a late first half goal from Padraig Clarke to edge the winners into a 1-2 to 0-4 interval lead. In the second half, scores from Maye, Vincent Frizzell and Barry O'Boyle put Sligo in the driving seat and not even a goal from Leitrim substitute Niall Clancy could prevent the home side from advancing. Scorers - Sligo: D Maye (2-2, 1f), P Clarke (1-2), V Frizzell (0-4, 1f), B O'Boyle (0-1); Leitrim: S Flanagan (0-4, 4f), N Clancy (1-0), M Beirne, E Ward, N O'Connor (0-1 each). SLIGO - B McGovern; J Kelly, C Davey, M Herrity; S Cawley, D Gilsenan, D McManus; J Clarke, N McDonagh; B O'Boyle, D Maye, S Maher; L McDonagh, P Clarke, V Frizzell. Subs: B Coleman for Cawley (20), D Reilly for Coleman (29), G Cawley for O'Reilly (57), B Harris for Frizzell (59). Leitrim - P Farrelly; J McTeague, N O'Connor, J O'Brien; C Egan, P McGourty, M Quinn; E Mahon, E Ward; S McWeeney, S McKeon, K Conlon; S McNabola, M Beirne, S Flanagan. Subs: N Clancy for McNabola (21), S Mulvihill for Conlon (ht), P Hackett for McKeon (52). Referee: P McGovern (Galway).

Most Read Stories