Wexford leave it late

April 25, 2007
Wexford came from behind to record a 1-12 to 2-4 victory over Carlow in an exciting Leinster minor hurling championship first round clash at Wexford Park on Tuesday, April 24. Last year's beaten provincial finalists Carlow led by 2-4 to 0-9 with a minute remaining, but then disaster struck for the visitors when goalkeeper Kevin Kehoe allowed Lee Murphy's speculative effort to slip from his grasp and into the net. Two late points from Jason Rackard and one from Edward Walsh ensured a flattering victory for the home side. Carlow got off to a great start when Paudie Kehoe fired home a semi-penalty after four minutes. Wexford replied with two Lee Murphy points before Jason Brennan swooped for the Barrowsiders' second major. Carlow led by 2-1 to 0-6 at the break and they looked set for victory when substitute Cian Clancy grabbed two second half points. But Murphy's fortuitous goal turned the tie in Wexford's favour. Wexford - J Byrne; C O'Shaughnessy, D Murphy, E Doyle, J Gahan, J Lacey, C Walsh, P Morris, E Kent, N Walsh, E Walsh 0-3, L Murphy 1-6, P O'Keeffe, S Tomkins, E Moore. Subs - J Kelly for Moore; S Murphy for D Murphy; S Murphy for N Walsh; J Rackard 0-3 for O'Keeffe. Carlow - K Kehoe, A Corcoran, M Ryan, D Byrne, B Doyle, D Kavanah, D English, M Mullins, D O'Brien, C Coughlan, E Byrne, P Kehoe 1-1, D Grennan, D Murphy, J Brennan 1-1. Subs - C Clancy 0-2 for Grennan; J O'Hara for D Byrne; T Nolan for E Byrne; E Kavanagh for Coughlan. Referee - D Connolly (Kilkenny).

Most Read Stories