Interprovincial Hurling Championship

October 02, 2006
Pearse Stadium in Galway will host this year's M Donnelly Interprovincial Hurling final under floodlights on Saturday, 28th October in a double bill with the first test of the International Rules Series. The hurling championship gets under way on Saturday 14th October 2005 under the lights of Parnell Park where last year's beaten finalists will take on the men of Ulster. The second semi-final will take place in Cusack Park, Ennis on Sunday, 15th October where Connacht meet reigning champions, Munster. Last year's final served up a nail biting finish in Boston when Munster defeated Leinster by 1-21 to 2-14, the win being secured by a last gasp goal from Limerick's Ollie Moran. Semi Finals Saturday, 14th October 2006, 7pm Parnell Park Leinster V Ulster Sunday, 15th October 2006, 2:30pm Cusack Park Connacht V Munster Final Saturday, 28th October 2006, 5:15pm Pearse Stadium, Galway Munster are well ahead on the M Donnelly Interprovincial honours list, having won the title 45 times. Leinster have won it 24 times while Connacht have picked up ten titles, nine of which have been won since 1980. Roll of Honour 44: Munster - 1928-29-30-31-34-35-37-38-39-40-42-43-44-45-46-48-49-50-51-52-53-55-57-58-59 -60-61-63-66-68-69-70-76-78-81-84-85-92-95-96-97-2000-2001-2005. 24: Leinster - 1927-32-33-36-41-54-56-62-64-65-67-71-72-73-74-75-77-79-88-93-99-2001-2002-2003. 11: Connacht - 1947-80-82-83-86-87-89-91-94-99-2004 The Managers Connacht - John Fahy Leinster - John Conran Ulster - Dominic McKinley Munster - Jerry O'Sullivan

Most Read Stories