Tipp appoint Owens

September 20, 2006
At a meeting of Tipperary County Board in the Thurles Sarsfields Social Centre on Tuesday, September 19th, John Owens of the Moyle Rovers GAA club was ratified as the Tipperary Senior Football Manager for the 2007 season. John was a selector on the Tipperary Senior Football team for the last two seasons and moves up to manage the team following the decision of outgoing manager Seamus McCarthy to step down. John will be joined by outgoing selector Jim Healy (Loughmore-Castleiney), John Phelan (Ardfinnan), and John Quinn (Eire Og Annacarty). County Chairman John Costigan wished the new selectors well in their task and paid a warm tribute to the contribution of the outgoing selectors Seamus McCarthy and Colm O'Flaherty. In addition to the confirmation of the Senior Football selection team, the County Board also ratified the selectors for Junior Football, Under 21 Football and Minor Football. Conor O'Dwyer continues in his role as manager of the Junior Footballers. Outgoing Minor manager Peter Creedon moves up to take charge of the Under 21 Footballers. While long serving goalkeeper Philly Ryan takes charge of the Tipperary Minor Footballers. The selection teams in full are as follows - Senior Football - John Owens (Moyle Rovers-Manager), John Phelan (Ardfinnan), Jim Healy (Loughmore-Castleiney) and John Quinn (Eire Og Annacarty) Junior Football - Conor O'Dwyer (Thurles Sarsfields - Manager), Joe Hannigan (Shannon Rovers), Willie Tarrant (Galtee Rovers), Tom Guilfoyle (Moyne-Templetuohy), Jim Healy (Kilsheelan-Kilcash) Under 21. Football - Peter Creedon (Loughmore-Castleiney- Manager), Pat Cremin (Burgess), John Cummins (Cahir), Sean McManus (Emly), John Scully (JK Brackens) Minor Football - Philly Ryan (Commercials - Manager), Philip Quirke (Galtee Rovers), Brian Burke (Fethard), Niall Kelly (Kildangan), Anthony Shelly (JK Brackens) Finally, it has been confirmed that the Tipperary Senior Hurling Management team of Babs Keating (Manager), Tom Barry and John Leahy will continue in their role for 2007 as part of their two year term.

Most Read Stories