About the Opel Gaelic Players Awards programme and voting procedure

June 09, 2006
Each of the monthly and annual award winners (team and individuals) will be selected by GPA members from a shortlist nominated by two independent panels. Players will be invited to vote for the monthly award winners by text and in writing for the annual award winners. The football panel will be chaired by John O'Mahony, former All-Ireland winning Galway manager. Donal O'Grady, who guided the Cork hurling team to All-Ireland success, will chair the panel for the hurling awards.  Both chairs will be joined by three former players on each of the respective panels including Kevin O Brien, Martin McHugh and Tony Davis on the football panel and Cyril Farrell, Dominic McKinley and Michael Duignan on the hurling panel. As part of the sponsorship and awards programme: - The player of the year in each discipline will receive an Opel vehicle - Teams of the year will receive a payment on a collective basis for image rights - Opel brand ambassadors will receive the use of Opel vehicles - There will be a series of associated sponsorship activity with players and supporting marketing activity.

Most Read Stories