Cork and Limerick unveil minor selections

April 05, 2006
Cork and Limerick have announced their teams for Thursday night's Munster minor hurling championship first round clash at the Gaelic Grounds. Reigning provincial champions Cork will field seven of the squad that beat Limerick in last year's Munster final. The team is notable for the inclusion of Adrian Mannix at centre back, with last year's number six, Paudie O'Sullivan, at left half back. The team will be captained by Pat Horgan, who is in his third and final year as a county minor. Ciaran Cronin, Paudie O'Sullivan and Robert White won Harty Cup medals with Midleton CBS recently. Two other players involved in last year's provincial final, Matthew Collins and Stephen White, are ruled out through injury. Limerick include four of the side beaten by Galway in last year's All-Ireland final. Brian Quinn is named at centre back, Denis O'Brien at midfield, Ger Collins at left half forward, while Michael Ryan, the only player to start the All-Ireland final, lines out at right corner forward. Cork: C Cronin; J O'Callaghan, J Moran, C O'Driscoll; S O'Riordan, A Mannix, P O'Sullivan; L Desmond, T Murray; D Stack, B Corry, R White; C O'Neill; D O'Callaghan, P Horgan. Limerick: B Hennessy; B Moloney, C Cagney, P Behan; J Mann, B Quinn, N Quaid; P O'Brien, D O'Connor; J Carroll, S O'Donnell, G Collins; M Ryan, T Ryan, T O'Brien.

Most Read Stories