All Star Awards 2001

December 01, 2001
Along with the football and hurling All Stars for 2001, there was also a special presentation to the Supreme All Stars in both games, rewarding the best All Stars over the past 30 years. All-Ireland champions Galway lead the way with a total of six players receiving an award. Beaten finalists and Leinster Champions, Meath, received four awards. Other counties to be honoured included Dublin, Kerry, Roscommon, Westmeath and Tyrone. The winners received their 2001 Eircell Vodafone Awards from An Taoiseach, Bertie Ahern TD at the Eircell Vodafone All Star Gala banquet, in the Citywest Hotel, Dublin. The occasion was broadcast live on television. The 2001 Eircell Vodafone All Star Hurling winners, which were announced on Wednesday, 28th November, also received their awards. Speaking at the gala evening, Paul Donovan, Chief Executive, Eircell Vodafone said: "Tonight's ceremony is all about the recognition of excellence amongst many of the country's finest sporting heroes. The 2001 Eircell Vodafone Football All Stars, like their fellow award winners in Hurling have treated spectators and supporters to a feast of sporting excellence over the past year and it is great to have an opportunity to recognise this. I am delighted that Eircell Vodafone has a part to play in honouring such true sportsmen. "In particular, it is great to see players from new counties receiving awards and nominations. The changes in championship structures this year have created more opportunities than ever before for players, in both disciplines, to test themselves against their peers", he said. Sean McCague, Uachtarán, Cumann Lúthchleas Gael said: "I wish to congratulate the Eircell Vodafone Football All Stars announced here tonight. Both the winners and those players nominated this year contributed greatly to what has been another hugely successful and popular Football year". In total, the 2001 Eircell Vodafone Football All Star winners include players from seven different counties and are broken down as follows: Galway 6 winners Meath 4 winners Dublin 1 winner Kerry 1 winner Roscommon 1 winner Tyrone 1 winner Westmeath 1 winner The winners are: Player County No. of All Star Awards 1. Cormac Sullivan Meath (1st award) 2. Kieran Fitzgerald Galway (1) 3. Darren Fay Meath (3) 4. Coman Goggins Dublin (1) 5. Declan Meehan Galway (2) 6. Francie Grehan Roscommon (1) 7. Seán Óg de Paor Galway (2) 8. Kevin Walsh Galway (2) 9. Rory O'Connell Westmeath (1) (1st ever Westmeath Football All Star) 10. Evan Kelly Meath (1) 11. Stephen O'Neill Tyrone (1) 12. Michael Donnellan Galway (3) 13. Ollie Murphy Meath (2) 14. Padraic Joyce Galway (3) 15. John Crowley Kerry (1) Additional Awards In a separate part of the evening, some of the great players over the last thirty years were honoured as winners of the Eircell Vodafone / Irish Independent Supreme All Star Awards. Other awards on the night went to the Young Player of the Year and the Player's Player of the Year in both Football and Hurling. Those players nominated in Football and Hurling in 2001 voted to select the Player's Player of the Year. The Football Player's Player of the Year went to Galway's Declan Meehan. The Hurling Player's Player of the Year Award went to All-Ireland winning captain from Tipperary, Thomas Dunne. Young Football Player of the Year went to Tyrone's Cormac McAnallan while Young Hurler of the Year for 2001 was awarded to Tipperary corner forward and 2001 Eircell Vodafone All star, Eoin Kelly. The Supreme All Star Awards, jointly sponsored by Eircell Vodafone and the Irish Independent and voted by readers of the Irish Independent were awarded as follows: Football: 1. John O'Leary Dublin 2. Bobby O'Malley Meath 3. John O'Keefe Kerry 4. Robbie Kelleher Dublin 5. Paidí O Sé Kerry 6. Tim Kennelly Kerry 7. Martin O'Connell Meath 8. Jack O'Shea Kerry 9. Brian Mullins Dublin 10. Peter Canavan Tyrone 11. Matt Connor Offaly 12. Pat Spillane Kerry 13. Mike Sheehy Kerry 14. Eoin Liston Kerry 15. John Egan Kerry Hurling: 1. Noel Skehan Kilkenny 2. Phil 'Fan' Larkin Kilkenny 3. Pat Hartigan Limerick 4. John Horgan Cork 5. Brian Whelahan Offaly 6. Ger Henderson Kilkenny 7. Anthony Daly Clare 8. Frank Cummins Kilkenny 9. John Fenton Cork 10. Nicky English Tipperary 11. Joe Cooney Galway 12. DJ Carey Kilkenny 13. Charlie McCarthy Cork 14. Joe McKenna Limerick 15. Eddie Keher Kilkenny In total, the 2001 Eircell Vodafone Hurling All Star winners include players from six different counties and are broken down as follows: Tipperary 7 winners Galway 4 winners Clare 1 winner Kilkenny 1 winner Limerick 1 winner Wexford 1 winner The winners are: Player County (No. of All Star Awards) 1. Brendan Cummins Tipperary (2) 2. Darragh Ryan Wexford (1) 3. Philip Maher Tipperary (1) 4. Ollie Canning Galway (1) 5. Eamonn Corcoran Tipperary (1) 6. Liam Hodgins Galway (1) 7. Mark Foley Limerick (2) 8. Thomas Dunne Tipperary (2) 9. Eddie Enright Tipperary (1) 10. Mark O'Leary Tipperary (1) 11. James O'Connor Clare (4) 12. Kevin Broderick Galway (2) 13. Charlie Charter Kilkenny (3) 14. Eugene Cloonan Galway (1) 15. Eoin Kelly Tipperary (1)

Most Read Stories