Westmeath SHC final: Castletown Geoghegan upset the odds

October 01, 2017

The Castletown-Geoghegan team celebrate their win.

Castletown Geoghegan are back in the Westmeath SHC winners enclosure for the first time since 2013 after they outscored Raharney by 1-18 to 1-16 at TEG Cusack Park today.

With 'man of the match' Aonghus Clarke firing on all cylinders, Eamonn Gallagher's underdogs placed a large deposit on their victory during a first-half which saw them build up a 1-11 to 0-5 interval lead.

Cormac Deegan struck for their goal in the 29th minute and they subsequently coped with a strong second-half showing by the defending champions.

Lake County captain Clarke contributed 0-12 to his side's winning tally while Joey Boyle netted a late consolation goal for the Nick Weir managed Raharney.

Killian Doyle finished as their top scorer with a return of 0-9 which included six frees and one sideline.

Castletown Geoghegan - P Maloney; N McKenna, L Varley, E Og Clarke; C Kane, S Clavin (0-2), E Quinn; M Heeney (0-1), D Lynch; P Maxwell, A Clarke (0-12, 9f), D McCormack (0-1); J Clarke, N O'Brien (0-2), C Deegan (1-0). Subs: D McDermott for E Clarke, K Glennon for D McCormack, J Bermingham for P Maxwell.

Raharney - A Doyle; S Quinn, C Jordan, G Greville (0-1); D Giles, P Greville, T Doyle; N Flanagan, C Boyle; J Goonery, B Smyth (0-2), J Shaw (0-1); R Greville (0-1), K Doyle (0-9, 6f, 1sl), J Boyle (1-0). Subs: A Sheils for T Doyle, C Doyle (0-1) for C Boyle, E Keyes (0-1) for J Goonery, D Finn for N Flanagan, C Boyle for B Smyth.   

Referee - M Murtagh.

Most Read Stories