Offaly SHC final: Kilcormac-Killoughey reign supreme

October 01, 2017

Kilcormac/Killoughey's Ciaran Slevin and Niall Wynne of St. Rynagh's

St Rynagh's have been dethroned as Offaly senior hurling kingpins by Kilcormac-Killoughey in O'Connor Park today.

Stephen Byrne's side prevailed on a scoreline of 2-16 to 1-16 following an entertaining decider.

The holders were left to rue a poor first-half showing which saw them turn around for the second-half facing an 11 point deficit.

An attendance of 6,117 witnessed the Peter Healion captained Kilcormac-Killoughey race into a 2-10 to 0-5 advantage by the halfway stage.

Ciaran Slevin and Thomas Geraghty netted their goals but, to their credit, St Rynagh's didn't give up their title without a fight.

They upped the ante considerably after the resumption and were rewarded with Joseph O'Connor's 51st minute goal but they had left themselves with too big a mountain to climb and it's Kilcormac-Killoughey who are celebrating a fourth outright victory.

Kilcormac-Killoughey - Conor Slevin; K Leonard, G Healion, E Grogan (0-1); K Grogan, D Kilmartin, J Quinn; C Kiely (0-1f), Ciaran Slevin (1-7, 0-5f), J Gorman (0-1), C Mahon, P Geraghty; T Geraghty (1-1), P Healion (0-1), S Leonard (0-1). Subs: D Currams (0-3) for P Geraghty, B Leonard for P Healion, O Mahon for E Grogan.

St Rynagh's - C Clancy; D Maloney, D Shortt, N Wynne; C Hernon, A Treacy (0-4, 3f, 1'65), B Conneely; G Kelly, P Camon; S Dolan (0-3), S Wynne, G Conneely; M Maloney, S Quirke (0-7, 6f), G Scales (0-1). Subs: J O'Connor (1-0) for G Scales, R Hughes (0-1) for M Maloney.

Referee - R Fitzsimons.

Most Read Stories