Ulster MFC: Well drilled Derry capture title in style

July 16, 2017

Cavan's Cian Madden and Derry's Simon McErlain.
©INPHO/Presseye/Philip Magowan.

Derry have been crowned Ulster minor football champions for 2017.

Despite conceding two goals, the Oak Leafers got the better of Cavan in today's decider at Clones on a scoreline of 1-22 to 2-12.

Ben McCarron's 52nd minute goal applied the gloss to a fine all round performance by Damian McErlain's charges.

Cavan won't care to be reminded about McCarron's goal as it came about following a mix up in their defence.

Four points from Lorcan McWilliams helped establish a 0-14 to 1-7 interval lead for the winners.

James Smith and Philip Rogers netted in either half for the Breffni County but they still finished seven points in arrears as Derry captured their 14th provincial title, and second in three years, at this level.

It's not all doom and gloom, however, for the John Brady managed Cavan as they can still progress in the All-Ireland series via the last eight.

McCarron and McWilliams shared top scorer honours for the winners with 1-3 and 0-6 (3 frees) respectively.

Derry - O Hartin; O McGill, C McCluskey, S McKeever; S McErlain, D Rafferty, C McShane (0-1); P McGrogan (0-1), O McWilliams (0-1f); P Quigg (0-4, 1f), R Mullan, D Cassidy (0-3); B McCarron (1-3), L McWilliams (0-6, 3f), M McGrogan. Subs: T McHugh (0-1) for M McGrogan, C Brown for R Mullan, A Doherty (0-1) for O McGill, M Bradley for D Cassidy, F Mortimer (0-1) for P Quigg, C Murphy for B McCarron.

Cavan - G O'Rourke; E Fortune, P Meade, K Brady; D Cusack, C Timoney, K Hendrick; R Patterson, J Smith (1-0); O Kiernan, C Madden (0-3), P Rogers (1-2); O Pierson (0-4, 2f), P Lynch (0-1), S Keogan. Subs: J Cooke (0-1) for P Meade, T Reilly (0-1) for J Smith (BC), P Nulty for K Hendrick, N McCabe for S Keogan, C Lynch for O Kiernan.

Referee - M McNally.

Most Read Stories